$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
Vacation Trip

Very nice and enjoying. Service is superb. You will surely enjoy your time here. See full review

  • Renzman
  • Jul 15, 2015
Great Trip

Stayed here in November and had a great experience. Food and drinks were great and the service was... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Jan 19, 2015

Over one mile of expansive, private, beautiful, white sand beach.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 rooms with a Caribbean style decor.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, paddle board activity, paint ball activity, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, four restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Wedding Package:Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses*, Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, 10 Pictures and music, Wedding coordinator. Package is additional to the all-inclusive package.*Does not include legalization We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Viva La Pizza
Pasta and brick oven pizza a la carte -open for dinner only and reservations are required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 165
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cheryl.c
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

good for the price

first I want to say the staff was great! they put in LONG hours and work very hard. The locals we met were very nice and helpful. As far as the hotel itself it was run down and in need of a grounds keeper. There were a lot of activities. The food was o.k. in need of more options. Mediocre buffet food. we had to take a taxi everywhere which is $5 per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk down to clevelands on the beach. talk to the locals there great.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eilene H.
Business
Bend
Jan 15, 2015

Fantastic get away!

My sister and I did a girls get away. This vacation was perfect. The weather was great, I came home with a fan in January.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Perfect vacation for singles, couples or family with kids. Lots to d lots of food. Beautiful beach.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina S.
Business
Kansas City
Jan 12, 2015

great vacation

this was our second time here and we had a great time. It was very fun. We enjoyed our stay. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina S.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great

Second time here. Great place!! We love it. People are awesome and the beach is the best!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rjleite
Business
Houston
Dec 1, 2014

Very good!

Recommend it! Very good site, beautiful beach, nice people working there and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimmer mom2
Business
Middletown, DE
Jun 29, 2014

Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the pool or beach. Very clean! Only down side was lack of snorkeling equipment. Other than that it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angry Bahamian
Business
Nassau Bahamas
Jun 19, 2014

Upgrade the facilities please!!

This Place has potential but it needs better upkeep of the physical structure. There were too many mosquitoes in the room and the room smelled of cigarette smoke all day and night. The food and activities were the best things going for this place. The instructions given by the front desk upon arrival are not clear, therefor it takes you a while to find your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It was all inclusive and very good.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Scott
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 29, 2013

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive 7/18/2013

I was a little unsure how this property would be based upon some of the reviews read before the trip. Good stuff first: Overall we had a very good experience at this hotel and would stay there again if we go back to Freeport. Staff was very friendly, food was decent (buffet better than some of the other resorts we stayed at) beach was beautiful and drinks were plentiful. My son 17, said it was the best vacation ever. We rarely saw him and several nights I had to look for him at 3:00 am because he was having such a great time. Shows were OK but nothing special. They should have had some local talent (dancers, singers, etc.)instead of just the staff. They could dance well but everything was lypp-synced. Staff did have dancing until 2:00 each night so we weren't bored. The staff also tried to get everyone involved with various activities sports, dancing or bingo, etc. Rooms were clean, ours was right on the beach 1st floor and grounds were beautiful. Hotel could have used a little work (paint, complete on the beach message hut and additional palm leaves on palapas so rain didn't come through). Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach. Bad stuff - rained all day 4 out of 6 days. Activities like archery, trapeze, beach bar and beach snack bar were closed all day even though rain stopped earlier in the day - very disappointing because as we all know, it rains a little each day in the tropics! Also, 1 restaurant was closed so the Italian and Asian swapped nights leaving you with only 2 choices and not 3. Disco was closed so the bar was used for dancing in the evening. A variety of music would have been nice rather than the techno dance music for the older crowd. They should have had some island music being that we were in the islands! Last items that irked me a bit was the jacuzzi was off more than on so the water was same temp as the pool. Also, they reserved 1/2 the tables in the buffet for their vacation club yet you never saw more than 1/4 being used. This left people scrambling for tables during busy lunch times when there were a bunch opened in the club reserved area.And final criticism - our shower only had a hand held shower head which was a pain. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable casual resort and not a luxury resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the local Fish Fry held every Wednesday in Smith town. Any local can point the way. Also, hit the international bazaar and straw market on a day when the cruise ships are in because only about 1/2 the shops are open on off days.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubble S
Business
Dallas, tx
Jun 21, 2013

Way below average

This resort needs major attitude adjustment! Staff is slow, lazy and plain careless. It took forever for the smallest request, and when we said 'Thank you' for the towels that were brought to our room finally by 4:30 after 10am request time, the cleaning lady did not even acknowledged us, nor did restaurant staff that we asked for basic stuff that should already be on a table yet it was missing 85% of the restaurant (napkins, silverware, salt/pepper shakers). Entertainment was great nightly and always things to do on the beach daily, yet we left with a bad taste because of the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single Mom Of One
Business
Upstate, NY
Apr 6, 2013

Family friendly 2/3 star resort.

I was looking for a family friendly resort on the ocean. The location of this resort is to die for. It is perfect, crystal blue waters, white sand; everything I wanted in a resort location. The resort itself was small which was nice with kids along, very safe. The one pool is by the ocean which is also very nice. The staff was good except for one day (everyone was grumpy on Wednesday- not sure why - thinking maybe they all did something Tuesday night?) They try very hard to get the guests involved in all the activities they offer during the day like bingo, yoga, volleyball, darts, etc. The bars had very basic liquor and drinks. The food was not up to par. The buffet was decent for breakfast but lunch and dinner were pretty much the same thing everyday and none looked too appetizing. I literally ate salad, potatoes and rice every day so I was dying for a real meal when I got home. There are two restaurants on site, an Asian themed and an Italian themed. The Asian themed one was booked the entire time I was there but from what we heard from friends we made at the resort and just talking around it was inedible. The Italian restaurant we went to once and it was decent change of pace. Very small portions. Very selected menu. There was a burger and fry shack on the beach that we went to a few times because we were starving. Out of the 5 days we were there, 4 days we had to call house keeper MULTIPLE times because they forgot something with out room cleaning. Towels and/or toilet paper everytime - became quite annoying. Cabs very expensive but this island is very poor and under developed so there is not much to see. We left the resort twice; once to go to the Lucayan market which I highly recommend. It is a lot of local shops and you can deal with the shop owners. The other day we left we went horseback riding "on the beach" with PineTree Stables. I WOULD NOT recommend it. It was 130$ a person and a huge waste. First they told us to meet at 745am for pick up and when no one came and we called and found out it was 1045am so we wasted our morning waiting around. Then the ride was suppose to be 2 hours with 1 hour on the beach and 1 hour trails. It was 1 hour and 45 minutes trails and 5 minutes beach. Huge disappointment. All in all if you're looking just to relax on the beach with a picture perfect view and can deal with limited food options this is the place. I loved laying on the beach and doing the sports, we paddled boarded and paid to jet ski. Again, the view is to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Only show worth seeing is the Trapeze show. They staff is very talented and they do some amazing things! You can tell how hard they try it was great!

Back to menu Return to top