$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
171 reviews
Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Dec 3, 2014
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 171
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimmer mom2
Business
Middletown, DE
Jun 29, 2014

Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the pool or beach. Very clean! Only down side was lack of snorkeling equipment. Other than that it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angry Bahamian
Business
Nassau Bahamas
Jun 19, 2014

Upgrade the facilities please!!

This Place has potential but it needs better upkeep of the physical structure. There were too many mosquitoes in the room and the room smelled of cigarette smoke all day and night. The food and activities were the best things going for this place. The instructions given by the front desk upon arrival are not clear, therefor it takes you a while to find your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It was all inclusive and very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Scott
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 29, 2013

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive 7/18/2013

I was a little unsure how this property would be based upon some of the reviews read before the trip. Good stuff first: Overall we had a very good experience at this hotel and would stay there again if we go back to Freeport. Staff was very friendly, food was decent (buffet better than some of the other resorts we stayed at) beach was beautiful and drinks were plentiful. My son 17, said it was the best vacation ever. We rarely saw him and several nights I had to look for him at 3:00 am because he was having such a great time. Shows were OK but nothing special. They should have had some local talent (dancers, singers, etc.)instead of just the staff. They could dance well but everything was lypp-synced. Staff did have dancing until 2:00 each night so we weren't bored. The staff also tried to get everyone involved with various activities sports, dancing or bingo, etc. Rooms were clean, ours was right on the beach 1st floor and grounds were beautiful. Hotel could have used a little work (paint, complete on the beach message hut and additional palm leaves on palapas so rain didn't come through). Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach. Bad stuff - rained all day 4 out of 6 days. Activities like archery, trapeze, beach bar and beach snack bar were closed all day even though rain stopped earlier in the day - very disappointing because as we all know, it rains a little each day in the tropics! Also, 1 restaurant was closed so the Italian and Asian swapped nights leaving you with only 2 choices and not 3. Disco was closed so the bar was used for dancing in the evening. A variety of music would have been nice rather than the techno dance music for the older crowd. They should have had some island music being that we were in the islands! Last items that irked me a bit was the jacuzzi was off more than on so the water was same temp as the pool. Also, they reserved 1/2 the tables in the buffet for their vacation club yet you never saw more than 1/4 being used. This left people scrambling for tables during busy lunch times when there were a bunch opened in the club reserved area.And final criticism - our shower only had a hand held shower head which was a pain. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable casual resort and not a luxury resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the local Fish Fry held every Wednesday in Smith town. Any local can point the way. Also, hit the international bazaar and straw market on a day when the cruise ships are in because only about 1/2 the shops are open on off days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubble S
Business
Dallas, tx
Jun 21, 2013

Way below average

This resort needs major attitude adjustment! Staff is slow, lazy and plain careless. It took forever for the smallest request, and when we said 'Thank you' for the towels that were brought to our room finally by 4:30 after 10am request time, the cleaning lady did not even acknowledged us, nor did restaurant staff that we asked for basic stuff that should already be on a table yet it was missing 85% of the restaurant (napkins, silverware, salt/pepper shakers). Entertainment was great nightly and always things to do on the beach daily, yet we left with a bad taste because of the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single Mom Of One
Business
Upstate, NY
Apr 6, 2013

Family friendly 2/3 star resort.

I was looking for a family friendly resort on the ocean. The location of this resort is to die for. It is perfect, crystal blue waters, white sand; everything I wanted in a resort location. The resort itself was small which was nice with kids along, very safe. The one pool is by the ocean which is also very nice. The staff was good except for one day (everyone was grumpy on Wednesday- not sure why - thinking maybe they all did something Tuesday night?) They try very hard to get the guests involved in all the activities they offer during the day like bingo, yoga, volleyball, darts, etc. The bars had very basic liquor and drinks. The food was not up to par. The buffet was decent for breakfast but lunch and dinner were pretty much the same thing everyday and none looked too appetizing. I literally ate salad, potatoes and rice every day so I was dying for a real meal when I got home. There are two restaurants on site, an Asian themed and an Italian themed. The Asian themed one was booked the entire time I was there but from what we heard from friends we made at the resort and just talking around it was inedible. The Italian restaurant we went to once and it was decent change of pace. Very small portions. Very selected menu. There was a burger and fry shack on the beach that we went to a few times because we were starving. Out of the 5 days we were there, 4 days we had to call house keeper MULTIPLE times because they forgot something with out room cleaning. Towels and/or toilet paper everytime - became quite annoying. Cabs very expensive but this island is very poor and under developed so there is not much to see. We left the resort twice; once to go to the Lucayan market which I highly recommend. It is a lot of local shops and you can deal with the shop owners. The other day we left we went horseback riding "on the beach" with PineTree Stables. I WOULD NOT recommend it. It was 130$ a person and a huge waste. First they told us to meet at 745am for pick up and when no one came and we called and found out it was 1045am so we wasted our morning waiting around. Then the ride was suppose to be 2 hours with 1 hour on the beach and 1 hour trails. It was 1 hour and 45 minutes trails and 5 minutes beach. Huge disappointment. All in all if you're looking just to relax on the beach with a picture perfect view and can deal with limited food options this is the place. I loved laying on the beach and doing the sports, we paddled boarded and paid to jet ski. Again, the view is to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Only show worth seeing is the Trapeze show. They staff is very talented and they do some amazing things! You can tell how hard they try it was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bahama Drama
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 6, 2013

Stay away!

I have seen that the reviews about this particular resort range across the board. I believe this is due to people's inexperience with all-inclusive resorts. This is the fourth all-inclusive resort that my mom and I have gone to and was by far the worst. The rooms were filthy because the cleaning staff barely did the minimum. They didn't even wipe down tables or clean the shower. On top of it, many rooms that had things which were broken or malfunctioning, including our own. For example: flooding in rooms, tv's which didn't work, and even toilets that were broken! The worst part of the whole experience was the extreme passive aggressiveness exhibited by the staff. People who were there for just a weekend didn't seem to notice, but we were there for eleven days, and in these eleven day we were not only talked down to and ignored, but we were also verbally assaulted by two staff members. We were not the only ones to have these types of interactions. We saw many other people mistreated and many people unhappy by the staff's treatment. It was completely unprofessional. It made us feel like the staff was on vacation and we were bothering them. The staff was drunk most of the day, and there was a complete lack of management. One positive thing that I can say, is that the beach was beautiful (although the weather was so terrible that we could only enjoy it 4 out of the 11 days we were there). BUT there are many beautiful beaches in this world. If you want to have a relaxing all-inclusive vacation I suggest Mexico (Cancun or Cozumel). It's beautiful and the people are extremely nice. If the language is a concern, don't worry! Everyone knows English and is more than happy to use it with you. I hope many of you can learn from our experience and stay far far away from this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orbitz4Me
Business
CA Bay area
Jan 4, 2013

Go only if you are stuck with Wyndham timeshare

Go only if you are stuck with Viva Wyndham timeshare and you have to use it;' else get ready for the third class treatment. Bottom line: Go only if you are stuck with Viva Wyndham timeshare and you have to use it;' else get ready for the third class treatment. In our 8 days of stay, not a single day the phones worked. Trapeze was good, but once we went they said they are closed due to some tournaments. Another time they were giving only to the Cruise ship, finally after few tries, my kids got chance to go on trapeze. Don't worry about the swimming pool, it is not heated at all and you won't find anyone there ever. We paid for 4 people, but we got 4 towels only on one day when I paid her tip on Dec 26th; every other day she gave us 3 towels and we had to go to guest services and beg for towels. They sent some times, else again we had to go to the front desk and ask for towels--- every day (except one). BTW, soap dispensers are just for a show, they are always empty. Buffet lunch is mostly left over dinner from previous night. Don't even bother to go restrooms on the property, every restroom is surely dirty. If you book from bookit, you don't get VIP treatment and hard to find table for breakfast, lunch etc. Bamboo and Viva restaurants are OK, just ask your friends what to order, since some dishes were worth directly to send to the trash. But midnight pizza was surprisingly good. Some night shows are good, but really poor lip singing. Do you have to give liquor as a gift to all (even teens?) Don't bother to send email to the hotel, they never ever reply. Zumba timings keep on changing, people over poolside desk have no idea ever. Main bar is OK, just ask for Bahama special cocktails since they don't make good mai tai or margarita etc. Bahama Mama was OK, Mango punch was good, coffee at the bar is really good. Never bother to order coffee @ Bamboo or Viva, it will spoil your mouth. Never to go for Viva Wyndham even if we get it for free. BTW, what deal bookit has with the airline? We cannot confirm it and get the worst possible seats after check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

We paid extra for ocean front, the room we got where we had to search for ocean view, so I asked for real ocean view room, the room they gave didn't have hot water, toilet kept on running, yellow sink, not working shower; so we asked for refund or to give us their member special room; finally we got one working room. Still not to the standard of Hilton, Sheraton but just working. We got fed up of changing room, so we stayed there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Workaholic Vixster
Business
Belding, MI
Jan 2, 2013

Christmas vacation

Comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, great evening entertainment, EXCELLENT and plentiful food. Enjoyable visit. Excursions: Horseback riding and dolphins - 2 thumbs up; deep sea fishing - thumbs down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The International Bazaar is still on the maps, but has been closed for years (since huricanes 2005-6?). we went by taxi, who dropped us off in a no-mans land. Had trouble finding a taxi out of there. Very scary!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat K
Business
Pewaukee, WI
Dec 30, 2012

family fun

Great place for your entire family, lots of daily activities to involve any age. Best advise I got ahead of time.......bring your own cup with a lid! Being on the ocean, it is windy, and you don't want sand in your drink. Plus, the extra ounces meant less trips to the bar. The bartenders are awesome and will even wash your cup out if needed:# Only negative is the beds are not the most comfortable #quite firm)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akoye
Business
tulsa, ok
Dec 30, 2012

Please don't chance it

I read reviews on websites and thought this would be average. It was the worst resort we have ever stayed at. We even met with the manager, Claudia, and he did nothing to fix the problems. My kid got food poisoning, the glass door fell on our bed, the toilet leaked, then clogged the next day, the food was not great and we ended up watching cable in our room half the time. Please don't waste your money just to go somewhere inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lacayan Marketplace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top