$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
198 reviews
Great Trip

Stayed here in November and had a great experience. Food and drinks were great and the service was... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Jan 19, 2015
Fantastic get away!

My sister and I did a girls get away. This vacation was perfect. The weather was great, I came home... See full review

  • Eilene H.
  • Jan 15, 2015

Over one mile of expansive, private, beautiful, white sand beach.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 rooms with a Caribbean style decor.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, paddle board activity, paint ball activity, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, four restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Wedding Package:Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses*, Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, 10 Pictures and music, Wedding coordinator. Package is additional to the all-inclusive package.*Does not include legalization We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Viva La Pizza
Pasta and brick oven pizza a la carte -open for dinner only and reservations are required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MHGL
Business
Boston
Apr 17, 2014

Not What I Was Expecting

Food - Definitely could have been better. I'm a vegetarian and there was not a lot to offer. Not to mention this is a resort in the hot Caribbean and they do not serve ice cream!!! Very disappointing. The rooms were average. Could use some updating. The staff was pleasant and always helpful. I expected more from a hotel with the "Wyndham" name and being all inclusive. I would go back to the Bahamas, but probably not to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Bridgeport, CT
Jan 2, 2009

My review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Oceanview room had a great view of the rear of the water sports building. Room was still being cleaned on our arrival at 4 pm. Housekeeper said she would be right back with our towels. We then discovered that the room had no coffeemaker, no remote for the tv, and the minifridge could not be plugged in. After a number of calls to guest services we finally received towels and coffeemaker about 5:30. Minifridge was finally connected by maintenance sometime after 6:30 by modifying an extension cord. It appears that the entire resort is overdue for a major refurbishing, although other guests that I spoke with seemed to have rooms that were in much better shape than ours. In addition to the problems noted above there was no seating in our room, not even a chair at the desk, there was totally inadequate drawer space for clothing, and we had to request additional hangers as there were only 4 in the closet when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to visit the casino on the island its a $15 cab ride each way from this resort.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in PA
Business
Pa
Sep 27, 2009

RUN AND DON'T LOOK BACK!!

If you are considering the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach-All Inclusive, Freeport, Bahamas as a possible choice for vacation, all I can say is RUN AND I MEAN RUN…..AND DON'T LOOK BACK!! My husband and I went on a mini-vacation, 3 nights, to celebrate our 15th Anniversary but instead spent our time fighting ants which literally swarmed over us by the 100s in our room as we napped, having no air conditioner in the first room, took a downgrade in the room to a 2nd room, and then spent our time fighting for a telephone that actually worked only to have it replaced by one covered in mold, and just asking for the basic necessity of hot water in the shower. Only to find out from Maintenance, one of the two hot water heaters had been broken for weeks and nothing was done. There are two restaurants that serve you, but they were closed. Instead of spending an evening to celebrate our anniversary we were subjected to cafeteria style food what I would believe comparable to prison food. The Beach Hut for food was so horrifying that we are still not sure if we even had a hamburger or what it was?? The Hut was covered in filth and the food prepared in such an unsanitary manner that we never went near there again. For an all inclusive, the alcohol quality was the lowest brand names that could possibly be purchased and each drink was drowned in ice and served in a 6 ounce plastic cup; you take it from there. The beach was covered with ants, cups, and garbage; the staff seemed to have no interest in cleaning up. The pool area along with all sitting areas was in the same horrible state. We couldn't even put our feet down on the ground when trying to relax for fear of ants once again attacking us or being covered in something sticky or food crumbs. For a day and half we spent trying to hide from the sales staff who wanted us to buy into their vacation club; we didn't want to stay one more hour never mind return. She would not take no for an answer. The remaining staff was rude, inattentive and each time you asked a question or made a request; they responded as if you were bothering them. When we complained and demanded to see the General Manager we were first told he would be back in ½ hour. When we insisted the front desk clerk provide his name written down and have him call us all the sudden he was available. It was only at this point did we receive decent customer service. I say to the head of Wyndham Resorts, shame on you for allowing a resort with such potential to be ran into the ground. I say to anyone who wants to stay here; stay at a Hilton and run, run, run from this "resort".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No hints to offer except don't do it.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
theatreguy
Business
Washington, DC
May 17, 2010

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - The WORST!

The rooms were not ready upon checkin, and when they were, one was still dirty and the other was so clean that I had to open the windows and door to clear out the smell of the cleaning agent. The food was redundant, and you can only make three reservations for the restaurants the entire time you are there. The beach was dirty and the shows wer sub-standard. I expected alot more from Wyndham This is not a three star resort, but more like a one or two star - the residents of the island even agreed with me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville,FL
Jul 8, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. Food Was horrible, floors in rooms filthy, the doors in the bathroom looked like termites were eating it up, Rust all around fixtures, lamps shades broken NO TELEPHONE complained to front desk never did anything about it. For the amount of money I spent here it was horrible.Needs complete over hauling. I have been to many tropical resorts and I WILL NEVER RETURN TO VIVA WYNDHAM FORTUNA BEACH. Only great thing about this place was the friendly staff!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AC loves to vacation
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 30, 2012

On line pictures are very deceptive

This is a very old property and needs a lot of work. It definately is not like any Wyndham I have ever stayed at in the past. The pictures make it look like this nice resort but the rooms are old, musky smelling and outdated. Our room flooded when it rained, along with the shower and sink. One day they didn't even clean it and we had to call for towels. The gym - no air conditioning, old rusty machines....just nasty. The beach is full of glass so walking on it requires shoes and even when going into ocean. We changed hotels which was a blessing. The locals call this hotel a "dump" and I would agree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cammie Mckenzie
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Jun 22, 2012

Anything But Special...

Upon arrival we were asked to email a copy of our itinerary to Tonisha who is in charge of reservations, of which we did (this was 10AM). At 3pm we were allowed to check-in, at which point we were assigned a garden view room when we paid for an ocean view. I was then told that there were no ocean view rooms available, however after threatening the hotel with a one-star review they managed to find one to stick us in. All in all it was an hour-long headache that never should have happened. The hotel itself is old and outdated, and the rooms were ordinary or perhaps a little less... The grounds need better maintenance, the beach was a mess (other carribean countries clean their beaches daily), and the staff was not very friendly or helpful, even though Bahamians outside the property were the most friendly I had ever met. The food was ok, but lacked enough of an offering to where we would even consider eating every day at this hotel. This was my 4th time this year at an all-inclusive and this was by far the worst... I have no complaints of the other 3 I have been to, but this one I would never stay at again. If you're considering Grand Bahama then go to Grand Lucayan or one of the other hotels in Port Lucaya... Don't waste your money staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the FLYING FISH restaurant in Lucaya! It has the most amazing food on the island!

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
William E. P.
Business
IL.
Aug 5, 2012

Honeymoon Fail

The nicest part of the place is when you walk in the door to the front lobby which has the only wifi hot spot in the resort. Highly let down by a seaweed covered beach. All inclusive you would think you are going to have everything you need.... not true far from it. First day and we couldn't even find a water bottle. When we get to our room we are confronted with the reality that we didn't get what we thought we were going to get. From dirty pillows to dirty walls, think you can take a shower in a clean bath room? nope i'd adventure enough in my mind to what is on my (CLEAN)?? Towel.. or how about what the heck is on the wall?? poor patch work and tiled dirty floors. The staff is friendly but cant give a good answer for really anything. We were told we could upgrade when we got here and even though we were the first to arrive we couldn't. I picked what i thought would be an amazing trip for my new wife and I and I got stuck with focusing only on each other to remain happy. Please i beg dont waist your time or money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You get what you pay for.. and some times worse.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bahama Drama
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 6, 2013

Stay away!

I have seen that the reviews about this particular resort range across the board. I believe this is due to people's inexperience with all-inclusive resorts. This is the fourth all-inclusive resort that my mom and I have gone to and was by far the worst. The rooms were filthy because the cleaning staff barely did the minimum. They didn't even wipe down tables or clean the shower. On top of it, many rooms that had things which were broken or malfunctioning, including our own. For example: flooding in rooms, tv's which didn't work, and even toilets that were broken! The worst part of the whole experience was the extreme passive aggressiveness exhibited by the staff. People who were there for just a weekend didn't seem to notice, but we were there for eleven days, and in these eleven day we were not only talked down to and ignored, but we were also verbally assaulted by two staff members. We were not the only ones to have these types of interactions. We saw many other people mistreated and many people unhappy by the staff's treatment. It was completely unprofessional. It made us feel like the staff was on vacation and we were bothering them. The staff was drunk most of the day, and there was a complete lack of management. One positive thing that I can say, is that the beach was beautiful (although the weather was so terrible that we could only enjoy it 4 out of the 11 days we were there). BUT there are many beautiful beaches in this world. If you want to have a relaxing all-inclusive vacation I suggest Mexico (Cancun or Cozumel). It's beautiful and the people are extremely nice. If the language is a concern, don't worry! Everyone knows English and is more than happy to use it with you. I hope many of you can learn from our experience and stay far far away from this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akoye
Business
tulsa, ok
Dec 30, 2012

Please don't chance it

I read reviews on websites and thought this would be average. It was the worst resort we have ever stayed at. We even met with the manager, Claudia, and he did nothing to fix the problems. My kid got food poisoning, the glass door fell on our bed, the toilet leaked, then clogged the next day, the food was not great and we ended up watching cable in our room half the time. Please don't waste your money just to go somewhere inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lacayan Marketplace

Back to menu Return to top