Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
168 reviews
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014
getaway

Everything was very nice. Only the buffet was a bit disappointing. ..not slot of choices but had a... See full review

  • kbro12765
  • May 4, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 276 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Hotel Closure Notice: Please be advised that Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island will be closed from September 2nd, to October 14th, 2014, due to General Maintenance and improvements of our facilities. We will be re-opening on October 15th, 2014.

Hotel Map

26.5364 -78.5927
Area served
Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Nearby airports
Freeport, Bahamas (FPO), 13 miles.
Area description
On the south side of the Grand Bahama Island, directly on the beach, 4 miles from Port Lucaya Market Place, Casino at Grand Bahamia and International Bazaar (12 miles), Shops, Restaurants, 12 miles from Freeport downtown, 13 miles from Freeport International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jul 15, 2007

Wyndham Fortuna in Bahamas Complaint

My husband and I just returned from this resort. We were totally disappointed with the resort. First our airconditioner did not work for 3 days. The staff seemed totally unresponsive until my husband demanded another room which they did not give us. Instead they finally sent a maintenace person up who then replaced our airconditioner with another one that did not work. After that we had to wait the entire day befor someone could fix that. Not at all what I would expect from a Wyndham. In addition, the food was horrible. The rooms are totally sub par and not at all what I would expect from a Wyndham. We were very disappointed and will have to think twice before booking another vacation at another Wyndham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akoye
tulsa, ok
Dec 30, 2012

Please don't chance it

I read reviews on websites and thought this would be average. It was the worst resort we have ever stayed at. We even met with the manager, Claudia, and he did nothing to fix the problems. My kid got food poisoning, the glass door fell on our bed, the toilet leaked, then clogged the next day, the food was not great and we ended up watching cable in our room half the time. Please don't waste your money just to go somewhere inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lacayan Marketplace

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weagle
North Florida
Nov 22, 2013

Much less that expected

After experiencing other all inclusive resorts, this one leaves a LOT to be desired. Far away from other island activities, room maintenance marginal, food barely warm, loud music late at night and staff very unhelpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MHGL
Boston
Apr 17, 2014

Not What I Was Expecting

Food - Definitely could have been better. I'm a vegetarian and there was not a lot to offer. Not to mention this is a resort in the hot Caribbean and they do not serve ice cream!!! Very disappointing. The rooms were average. Could use some updating. The staff was pleasant and always helpful. I expected more from a hotel with the "Wyndham" name and being all inclusive. I would go back to the Bahamas, but probably not to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
William E. P.
IL.
Aug 5, 2012

Honeymoon Fail

The nicest part of the place is when you walk in the door to the front lobby which has the only wifi hot spot in the resort. Highly let down by a seaweed covered beach. All inclusive you would think you are going to have everything you need.... not true far from it. First day and we couldn't even find a water bottle. When we get to our room we are confronted with the reality that we didn't get what we thought we were going to get. From dirty pillows to dirty walls, think you can take a shower in a clean bath room? nope i'd adventure enough in my mind to what is on my (CLEAN)?? Towel.. or how about what the heck is on the wall?? poor patch work and tiled dirty floors. The staff is friendly but cant give a good answer for really anything. We were told we could upgrade when we got here and even though we were the first to arrive we couldn't. I picked what i thought would be an amazing trip for my new wife and I and I got stuck with focusing only on each other to remain happy. Please i beg dont waist your time or money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You get what you pay for.. and some times worse.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
April 2nd 2013
United States
Apr 8, 2013

Don't Waste Your Money

The beach view from the room was nice and the drinks were good. All Inclusive? Do not expect anything more! The rooms are old, the food was bland in the cafateria. (not a resturant) The resturants to say the least were not good. One is a long closet type room with black lights. If you can get a reservation? When it comes to activities, they are never open and the staff will make every excuse not to do their job. I don't blame them because they double as entertainment at night. Yes, the entertainment is not good and unprofessional. Orbiz should remove this from their site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay Somewhere Else!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Beach Traveler
Medina Ohio
Aug 16, 2009

Big Mistake

We are not the pickiest of travelers, but when a wyndham is rated a touch higher then a days inn on the side of a turnpike beware. The rooms and grounds were filthy. the service was terrible and the employees were rude. The food that was served was of the same selection every single day for lunch AND dinner even in the resturants in which you had to make reservations. The majority of the food was terrible and tasted like college dorm food sometimes worse. It was cold and tasteless. The resturants are not air conditioned nothing is..so you are sweating into your food...we went thinking how we would come home a couple pounds heavier from the all you can eat and actually lost weight on vacation. You could not eat because of the heat and the terrible food we will not eat spagetti now for months (they serve this consistently). The hotel itself is away from everything so you have to get a cab for everything and you do...if not you do end up becoming extremely bored. There are not enough chairs on the beach as the cruise ships drop off each day and good luck walking in the water with all the rocks. The only food we found to be outstanding was the pizza and it was served at 11pm to 2;30 am the beach bar was always crowded and the food was so so the employees there ignored us along with many others to play with a phone and talk to each other and when it is that hot people become very restless the island take it slow idea does not become easily adapted. The resort gives out tiny plastic cups for drinks which are so small even a child could drink it within a few seconds. In the high temps they could provide something bigger to keep the guest hydrated and something to prevent the wastefulness of these little cups (they are thrown all over). The rooms that say renovated are terrible and even the drive up is horrible. do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Port Lucaya is wonderful everything is within walking distance and there is plenty to do. The wyndham should be ashamed that they are even putting their name on this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lucaya has a wonderful open air market. You can easily talk down the prices on many handmade items. The casino, scuba, beaches,deep sea fishing, beaches, duty free shopping, resturants, marina and the dolphin swims are also within a short walk. There are also many hotels and resorts in this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in PA
Pa
Sep 27, 2009

RUN AND DON'T LOOK BACK!!

If you are considering the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach-All Inclusive, Freeport, Bahamas as a possible choice for vacation, all I can say is RUN AND I MEAN RUN…..AND DON'T LOOK BACK!! My husband and I went on a mini-vacation, 3 nights, to celebrate our 15th Anniversary but instead spent our time fighting ants which literally swarmed over us by the 100s in our room as we napped, having no air conditioner in the first room, took a downgrade in the room to a 2nd room, and then spent our time fighting for a telephone that actually worked only to have it replaced by one covered in mold, and just asking for the basic necessity of hot water in the shower. Only to find out from Maintenance, one of the two hot water heaters had been broken for weeks and nothing was done. There are two restaurants that serve you, but they were closed. Instead of spending an evening to celebrate our anniversary we were subjected to cafeteria style food what I would believe comparable to prison food. The Beach Hut for food was so horrifying that we are still not sure if we even had a hamburger or what it was?? The Hut was covered in filth and the food prepared in such an unsanitary manner that we never went near there again. For an all inclusive, the alcohol quality was the lowest brand names that could possibly be purchased and each drink was drowned in ice and served in a 6 ounce plastic cup; you take it from there. The beach was covered with ants, cups, and garbage; the staff seemed to have no interest in cleaning up. The pool area along with all sitting areas was in the same horrible state. We couldn't even put our feet down on the ground when trying to relax for fear of ants once again attacking us or being covered in something sticky or food crumbs. For a day and half we spent trying to hide from the sales staff who wanted us to buy into their vacation club; we didn't want to stay one more hour never mind return. She would not take no for an answer. The remaining staff was rude, inattentive and each time you asked a question or made a request; they responded as if you were bothering them. When we complained and demanded to see the General Manager we were first told he would be back in ½ hour. When we insisted the front desk clerk provide his name written down and have him call us all the sudden he was available. It was only at this point did we receive decent customer service. I say to the head of Wyndham Resorts, shame on you for allowing a resort with such potential to be ran into the ground. I say to anyone who wants to stay here; stay at a Hilton and run, run, run from this "resort".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No hints to offer except don't do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Bridgeport, CT
Jan 2, 2009

My review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Oceanview room had a great view of the rear of the water sports building. Room was still being cleaned on our arrival at 4 pm. Housekeeper said she would be right back with our towels. We then discovered that the room had no coffeemaker, no remote for the tv, and the minifridge could not be plugged in. After a number of calls to guest services we finally received towels and coffeemaker about 5:30. Minifridge was finally connected by maintenance sometime after 6:30 by modifying an extension cord. It appears that the entire resort is overdue for a major refurbishing, although other guests that I spoke with seemed to have rooms that were in much better shape than ours. In addition to the problems noted above there was no seating in our room, not even a chair at the desk, there was totally inadequate drawer space for clothing, and we had to request additional hangers as there were only 4 in the closet when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to visit the casino on the island its a $15 cab ride each way from this resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Dec 31, 2010

Disappointed

My husband and I visited Viva Fortuna Bahamas the week before Christmas. Good stuff: The water is fantastic and there are many activities included that are fun (Bocce ball, trapeze, snorkeling gear, bicycles, pool table, ping pong). Bad stuff: the restaurants were inconsistently open and food was average. I know they say this is an "all-inclusive" but you have to pay $3.00/day if you want to use the in-room safe and another guest pointed out that there wasn't even bottled water in the rooms. Additionally, your beach towel is provided to you with the caveat that if you exchange for a new one, then it will cost you $1.00! There were MANY peddlers on the beach and one asked me if I "liked to party" and then after I said, "no", offered to sell me a conch shell. The rooms weren't that great and the shower, converted from a bathtub, didn't drain properly because the gradient was wrong. Also, the worst part is that AS SOON AS YOU ARRIVE, they want to sell you their "vacation club" which requires 1.5 hours of your stay. They are VERY pushy about it. I would expect it if I had won the trip and the presentation was part of the deal but we paid in full and wanted to be left alone for a getaway - not a hard sell. Overall, I would try really hard to go anywhere else in the bahamas before I returned to this resort. And, in that event, I would probably visit another place entirely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Daddy's Conch Shack in the Port Lucaya Marketplace - excellent fresh conch salad!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top