$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
171 reviews
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014
getaway

Everything was very nice. Only the buffet was a bit disappointing. ..not slot of choices but had a... See full review

  • kbro12765
  • May 4, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 276 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Hotel Closure Notice: Please be advised that Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island will be closed from September 2nd, to October 14th, 2014, due to General Maintenance and improvements of our facilities. We will be re-opening on October 15th, 2014.

Hotel Map

26.5364 -78.5927
Area served
Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Nearby airports
Freeport, Bahamas (FPO), 13 miles.
Area description
On the south side of the Grand Bahama Island, directly on the beach, 4 miles from Port Lucaya Market Place, Casino at Grand Bahamia and International Bazaar (12 miles), Shops, Restaurants, 12 miles from Freeport downtown, 13 miles from Freeport International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CTSL
Connecticut, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Great Value for a family vacation on budget

This hotel is ideal for the budget concious travelers who do not want to spend much for additional services. They have pretty much all you need for a short vacation and if you need to do more activities they are available for a reasonable price and short drive. Food was OK in the buffet, but the Italian restaurent was great for no additional cost. Kids enjoyed free wind surfing lessons & trapeze. Alcohol seem to be a bit watered down, but you cannot expect high quality booze for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations early. Weekend nights fill up quickly.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rickbronze
virginia
Jan 2, 2012

Good for the active

This hotel has a wonderfull staff at every level. The trapeze was unique for us. Food was so-so as many say, but enough variety to find something. So many included things that we always had something to do from biking, kayacking, sailing, snorkeling, tennis, ping pong, and archery. Pool table and sticks could use some work. The biggest mistake that I would say that I made was to buy the ocean front room up front on orb1tz. I don't think that I got this room and would have been able to negotiate to "upgrade" to a better room if I hadn't already paid up front at the orb1tz site. I complained that it wasn't an ocean front foom, but they "assured" me that it was, so we were stuck. If it wasn't for this incident, our vacation was awesome. Anyway, to finish on a good note, be ready to be sore if you try everything available and included in this package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Grouper was good in the Italian resteraunt

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pen Pen
Richmond, Va
Dec 7, 2011

Needs that something special

Although nothing was really wrong with this hotel there also was nothing really great either. The bourbon ran out, the rooms have little lighting, the food was almost never hot, and the staff lacks the let us serve you attitude. There was no hussle and no timely taking care of requests. However it is a good location and they make a real effort to entertain their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SimonOfRaleigh
Raleigh, NC, USA
Dec 1, 2011

As expected

We realized that the Bahamanian economy is suffering too and didn't set our hopes too high. Chose this hotel because one of us is vegetarian and gluten free which makes eating out every day very difficult. The all-inclusive option meant these were always choices available at the buffet. Food was almost always good and many options. We had nice room with ocean view and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 3, 2011

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

With the exception of the check-in we had a great time. For some reason the check-in time is no earlier then 3pm. This creates a back log of guests, and the computer systems aren't able to keep up with the flow.We read the reviews regarding the food and packed all kinds of snacks (i.e. trail mix). We ended up not eating any of it, as the food was pretty good. The only suggestion, I would make it to have more local dishes and fruits.The staff throughout the resort and dive center were fantastic. I've never stayed anywhere that had employees who take time and get to know you. My whole family missed [...] and the little lady at the child care center. [...]is one of those special people that make the resort feel like home. We missed the first couple shows as the reviews weren't great. We finally went the 3rd day and every day there after. Our favorite show was the Moulin Rouge. My wife and daughter really enjoyed the shows. It's neat to see the same staff that works hard all day around the pool and trapeze put on shows and talk to them about it the next day.The housekeeping staff was also very friendly and kept our room clean. Our room wasn't the greatest as is hadn't been updated. That said other then the phone not working, we really had no complaints. I kinda enjoyed not being connected to the world for 7-days. Our room being clean and having a great conditioner was all me cared about. We'll definitely stay at the Viva again and feel if your looking for an awesome beech, good drinks, things to do for the family, decent food and modest accommodations this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk down the beach is a place called Bertha's Blue Dingy. [...] we wonderdul hosts and made feel like family. The conch and rice was incredible! Tell'em Justin sent ya, if you go down there :)

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nyew York, NY
Jul 18, 2011

Good getaway

the hotel was nice and was a good deal. Food was good, the room was nice right on the beach, we staid at the Bimimi section only 20 feet walk to the beach the only thing is once you go in the water there are rocks, other that that it was a good vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BOLE
NJ,USA
Jul 12, 2011

VACATION 2011

AVERAGE ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

STAFF SHOWS

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville,FL
Jul 8, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. Food Was horrible, floors in rooms filthy, the doors in the bathroom looked like termites were eating it up, Rust all around fixtures, lamps shades broken NO TELEPHONE complained to front desk never did anything about it. For the amount of money I spent here it was horrible.Needs complete over hauling. I have been to many tropical resorts and I WILL NEVER RETURN TO VIVA WYNDHAM FORTUNA BEACH. Only great thing about this place was the friendly staff!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NRY
Miami, FL
Jul 5, 2011

Weekend getaway

Good weekend getaway. Weather held up, lots of bars and restaurants available outside of the hotel. Water sports available on and off the premises. Staff complied with requests. i.e requested a room change and a better one was granted the following morning. Grounds clean, but hotel needs a bit upgrading. Down Side-annoying time-share sales people!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Agave Latin Fusion Restaurant, delicious food.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Willimantic CT
Jun 25, 2011

great family vacation

We throughly enjoyed our stay. We loved not having to take out money or think about pricing when eating. Our children enjoyed the freedom of eating anytime they wanted. We found a large variety in buffets but would get bored with the food if there much longer than 4-5 days. We had a simple lovely quiet room with a beautiful oceanview. All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The snorkeling right from your own beach is absolutely incredible. We paid for a snorkeling tour elsewhere and it did not compare to what we had for free right on our own beach. Endless activities that are free for those who choose. Very glad we choose this as our vacation spot. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search