$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
171 reviews
Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Dec 3, 2014
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sads
Business
florida
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas Trip

This hotel is run down and below average. We had mechanical problems, reported them and they were not fixed. Food very bland unless you went to special restaurants which then was good. Commode did not work, ac quit working, no towels, bar supplies non existent, entertainment ok but nothing to work with, safe was to be included but was charged and told to pay "cash" Will not go back or recommend to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weagle
Business
North Florida
Nov 22, 2013

Much less that expected

After experiencing other all inclusive resorts, this one leaves a LOT to be desired. Far away from other island activities, room maintenance marginal, food barely warm, loud music late at night and staff very unhelpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PIES2
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 15, 2013

Old and Damp

Very old property that's off the beaten path. Food in the buffet was average at best and the ala carte restaurants were not as good as the buffet. Not up to the standards associated with the Wyndham name. I wouldn't go back even if it were half price. Moldy n damp rooms, Very difficult to sleep comfortably due to the dampness. Wouldn't recommend to anyone at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Scott
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 29, 2013

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive 7/18/2013

I was a little unsure how this property would be based upon some of the reviews read before the trip. Good stuff first: Overall we had a very good experience at this hotel and would stay there again if we go back to Freeport. Staff was very friendly, food was decent (buffet better than some of the other resorts we stayed at) beach was beautiful and drinks were plentiful. My son 17, said it was the best vacation ever. We rarely saw him and several nights I had to look for him at 3:00 am because he was having such a great time. Shows were OK but nothing special. They should have had some local talent (dancers, singers, etc.)instead of just the staff. They could dance well but everything was lypp-synced. Staff did have dancing until 2:00 each night so we weren't bored. The staff also tried to get everyone involved with various activities sports, dancing or bingo, etc. Rooms were clean, ours was right on the beach 1st floor and grounds were beautiful. Hotel could have used a little work (paint, complete on the beach message hut and additional palm leaves on palapas so rain didn't come through). Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach. Bad stuff - rained all day 4 out of 6 days. Activities like archery, trapeze, beach bar and beach snack bar were closed all day even though rain stopped earlier in the day - very disappointing because as we all know, it rains a little each day in the tropics! Also, 1 restaurant was closed so the Italian and Asian swapped nights leaving you with only 2 choices and not 3. Disco was closed so the bar was used for dancing in the evening. A variety of music would have been nice rather than the techno dance music for the older crowd. They should have had some island music being that we were in the islands! Last items that irked me a bit was the jacuzzi was off more than on so the water was same temp as the pool. Also, they reserved 1/2 the tables in the buffet for their vacation club yet you never saw more than 1/4 being used. This left people scrambling for tables during busy lunch times when there were a bunch opened in the club reserved area.And final criticism - our shower only had a hand held shower head which was a pain. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable casual resort and not a luxury resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the local Fish Fry held every Wednesday in Smith town. Any local can point the way. Also, hit the international bazaar and straw market on a day when the cruise ships are in because only about 1/2 the shops are open on off days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
William E. P.
Business
IL.
Jul 26, 2013

Do not spend your money on this

The good part. the water was amazing and so was the sand. Ill keep it simple. It's like being trapped in a bad motel on a dirty beach. The rooms were rusty and looked like a truck stop motel room. The food we didn't eat because it sat out uncovered for hours. The trip should have been half of what it cost. To top it off it was our honey moon spot.. All inclusive? No. We spent all are time away from the hotel. We were told we could upgrade when we got there for our honey moon. Only to find out the beach front rooms were time shares. I would tell you please please please think twice before you buy this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi ride in town. That was the only thing that made our honey moon good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lolo Bond
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jul 9, 2013

Negative feedback

I am really angry because I read the negative feedback about this hotel and when my wife and me arrived we realized that all was true. They got to improve by far that they don't clean at all. When we ate we always has birds and flying insects all over my food and the smell in the place was badly all the time. They gave me two beds instead of a king size bed and the bed was awful. The sad part of all it was my honey moon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bubble S
Business
Dallas, tx
Jun 21, 2013

Way below average

This resort needs major attitude adjustment! Staff is slow, lazy and plain careless. It took forever for the smallest request, and when we said 'Thank you' for the towels that were brought to our room finally by 4:30 after 10am request time, the cleaning lady did not even acknowledged us, nor did restaurant staff that we asked for basic stuff that should already be on a table yet it was missing 85% of the restaurant (napkins, silverware, salt/pepper shakers). Entertainment was great nightly and always things to do on the beach daily, yet we left with a bad taste because of the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ratoncito
Business
Cape Coral, Florida
Jun 20, 2013

OK Trip

Defenetely needs improvement at Check-In. The Staff were very polite, but the process needs to be more efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stepho
Business
richmond, virginia
May 10, 2013

all in all good

loved the food and the staff was very friendly...the shower water would change cold to hot alot...didnt like that and the sink stayed clogged...the room was very inviting loved the balcony....the view was beautiful if you get rooms with the beach view...locals were always jumping your case out there but you have to just accept it its how they make there money....loved the all inclusive deal with free breakfast,lunch,and dinner,free drinks,but the pool ball fee was outrageous...50 dollar deposit on pool balls,seriously? really would have loved to play pool with my boyfriend before we left...but all in all guys the stay was nice dont listen to the negative comments about it,its really actually pretty awesome...love it in Bahamas and really would love to come back some day....prolly to live eventually...oh and hey always ask for charlie the taxi driver at front desk to call...say stephanie and josh referred you to him...great guy and will tell you helpful information about the areas....MISS YOU CHARLIE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

and guys this is a younger kinda group hotel...they have awesome partying in the bar area..so dont recommend to older couples

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DawnLou
Business
NY, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Long Weekend

The Food was horrible and the bar staff was not very friendly. There was no night life except for the show that was put on by the pool staff. The shows were always good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top