$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristine K.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Family Friendly

I wouldn't recommend staying there if you are a couple. There are lots of kids running around, screaming, crying, etc. It was very hard to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg Condike
Business
Boston Ma
Dec 3, 2014

Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We were met by a friendly and welcoming staff the moment we arrived. For the price point we found our vacation to be a great deal. The resort was still very much under renovation despite being told the renovation project would be completed by November 1, 2014. Not a big deal at all though. The food I will say is as expected for an all inclusive resort. Nothing special nothing bad though. The Italian and Asian restaurants were above average. One thing to note is the bar serves all drinks alcoholic or not out of cheesy plastic cups. No straws are offered on the resort either. Again, we didn't go in expecting luxury so we had no issue there. The beach is GORGEOUS. Easily the best part of the vacation and the primary purpose for us taking it in the first place. You can SAFELY walk miles along the beach to find little beach bars and fish restaurants like Cleveland's Beach Bar and Banana Bay Restaurants. Both great for local Conch and Mahi Mahi. Night life is a quick 5 minute cab ride from the resort into Port Lucaya. There you can find small little bars and restaurants as well as a Casino. There are Happy Hour specials everywhere you go here. Again, very safe and close proximity to the resort. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an inexpensive getaway. Due to the price we had no problem venturing off-site and spending some money to change up the meal and cocktail selection. I'd give this 4 out of 5 stars only because we were led to believe the construction was complete and it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Banana Bay. Facing the beach from the resort it's a 30 minute walk down an untouched plot of beach with crystal clear water the entire walk. Clevelands Beach Bar is a 5 minute walk to the right of the resort, facing the water. Fantastic local fish and cheap beers. Cleveland and his wife are super friendly! Port Lucaya is a 5 minute cab ride. Flat rate of $30 round trip but access to bars, nightclubs, shopping, and best of all the Happy Hour drink specials.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rjleite
Business
Houston
Dec 1, 2014

Very good!

Recommend it! Very good site, beautiful beach, nice people working there and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigcitybob1090
Business
freedom wis
Nov 25, 2014

3 night stay

Me and my wife stayed 3 nights and had an ok time. Two things i would change is the bar it needs to be more like a bar not a warehouse that has drinks.Hang some beer signs and make it look and feel like a bar. Take some tips from the cool bar down the beach. the next thing is put in some water bottle stations so we can refill water bottles without bothering the bartenders, same with the ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

sand bar down the beach is a cool place to hang out with the locals.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveluffy
Business
Louisiana
Nov 21, 2014

Great beach and excellent staff

Just returned from Viva Wyndham. The selling point of this resort is the beach. It's beautiful! Food is adequate and the Bamboo restaurant had delicious food. The Italian restaurant was not nearly as good. We had a room that was badly in need of an update. But the staff did a good job of keeping it clean. The staff was outstanding. Don't expect anything fancy and you will probably be happy. Wouldn't recommend this hotel until the rooms were updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is close if you have a car or you can ride bike. It's an easy bike ride about 5-6 miles.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Kentuckian
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 22, 2014

Nice getaway

I would recommend this hotel to other vistors. We had a wonderful time at this resort. The staff were very professional and helpful. The beach near the resort is pretty quiet and clean. The only issue with this resort is that it is somewhat secluded from the shopping centers in town. However, the resort has lots of options to pass your time (e.g., snorkeling, night time entertainment, dancing at night, and several boating options). A stroll on the beach at night is the perfect way to end the day. The location is great! We even saw a stingray and a dolphin/shark (not sure what it was but we did see a fin in the water very close to the sure right before sunset. Exciting!) The bartenders were awesome and the entertainment crew were amazing!!! The DJ played a great mix of songs and was open to taking song requests. The buffet food is somewhat cafeteria-like, but that's expected when cooking for that many people. I would return to this site if given the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swimmer mom2
Business
Middletown, DE
Jun 29, 2014

Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the pool or beach. Very clean! Only down side was lack of snorkeling equipment. Other than that it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angry Bahamian
Business
Nassau Bahamas
Jun 19, 2014

Upgrade the facilities please!!

This Place has potential but it needs better upkeep of the physical structure. There were too many mosquitoes in the room and the room smelled of cigarette smoke all day and night. The food and activities were the best things going for this place. The instructions given by the front desk upon arrival are not clear, therefor it takes you a while to find your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It was all inclusive and very good.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Discusted Traveler
Business
Fort Laderdale, FL
Jun 17, 2014

Camping except you have a room.

The staff at this resort were rude, they didn't seem like they wanted you to bother them. The room with an ocean view that I paid for was on the ground floor behind a huge bush that obscured the view. (They did change the room after complaining) The only place that has A/C is your room. Drinks were not good, plastic (re-useable) glasses that they offer were dirty. The food areas where full of flies, birds and bee's. I did not once see anybody with gloves on. Both staff and guests were all just picking up food with their hands. The building and the grounds need alot of work done. If you are looking for anything other than lying on the beach all day, you need not visit this resort. The entertainment was pretty much null and void, except for an hour a night at there shows. If we had booked anymore than the two nights we had, we would have left the resort. We did find a nice place called Margaritaville Sand Bar a short walk down the beach, and if it wasn't for this bar we would of had the most miserable trip yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk down the beach to Margaritaville Sand Bar.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rivieramaya
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jun 4, 2014

worse vacation

first day, we arrived early for check in, so our luggage was put in a storage room, and one of my wife perfume went missing, then they gave us the wrong room, we had booked for ocean view, instead we got garden view, it looked more like desert view, they gave us our room the next day, the hotel is an all inclusive resort, but the food was so bad that we were dining out all the time, you have to buy your own bottle water, i noticed at least two of the employees drinking beer while working. we hanged out by the beach, they have to improve the quality of food to make it more enjoyable stay, it has been the worse hotel that i have ever stayed, and i have being traveling for 14 years

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lucaya market place, conch salad if you eat raw sea food, it is the best, also smith point on wednesday, it is great on fry fish, but do not arrive before sun down, there are a lot of flies, they go away as the sun goes down

Back to menu Return to top