$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
168 reviews
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014
getaway

Everything was very nice. Only the buffet was a bit disappointing. ..not slot of choices but had a... See full review

  • kbro12765
  • May 4, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Hotel Map

26.5364 -78.5927
Area served
Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Nearby airports
Freeport, Bahamas (FPO), 13 miles.
Area description
On the south side of the Grand Bahama Island, directly on the beach, 4 miles from Port Lucaya Market Place, Casino at Grand Bahamia and International Bazaar (12 miles), Shops, Restaurants, 12 miles from Freeport downtown, 13 miles from Freeport International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooner Jaime
Business
Tampa, FL
May 12, 2009

Not awful, but not great

My husband and I visited Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach on our honeymoon. We aren't hard-to-please travelers, and we love the activity and laid-back feel of all-inclusive resorts. The staff definitely made this a fun vacation, and if you have children, there is a lot for them to do. Dining: There is one main dining area, Junkanoo, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner (but not all day, so be sure to see what time they're open). This place smelled AWFUL, and food was very average. There are two on-site restaurants, La Trattoria (Italian) and Bamboo (Asian), which you have to make reservations for, but we ate at one of these restaurants 4 of the 6 nights we were there. Late night pizza at the Cafe is VERY tasty! Drinks were served in tiny cups, but we brought our own mugs from ho Rooms: Pretty awful. Lots of bugs. Our A/C completely broke one night. Hair dryer from the 70s, and that didn't work either. Did have a refridgerator, but wasn't stocked with anything. Decor - about what you'd imagine. Like I said before, we are not high-maintainence travelers, and we were a little disappointed. Beach: UNBELIEVABLE! There is a snorkeling reef right off the hotel property, and they provide the equipment! We went on a snorkeling excursion, and it wasn't near as good as the one by the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The two on-site restaurants were average at best, but they did let you go more than once (contrary to other all-inclusives we've stayed at). Be sure each person orders each course (2 appetizers, 2 salads, etc), as one is definitely not enough to share.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlton, MN
May 10, 2009

Honeymoon location

The beach is beautiful. The nightly shows and trapeze were great. We enjoyed the activities on the resort and were easily guided with things to do off the resort. The rooms could use some minor touch ups, such as paint chipping. However, we had a great time and would consider visiting again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to plan for meal times as the buffet is not open 24/7. Plan to make reservations for specialty restauraunts on the resort in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationer Jan
Business
Boston, MA
May 9, 2009

Lacking Amenities

The beach was great, staff very personable, but the lack of amenities for an all inclusive was disappointing. Something simple; like a hairdryer in your room, bottled water, a hook on the bathroom door would be an asset. Then you can get into the bigger things like being able to charge the things from the stores on premises to your room, a shuttle to and from the airport, and more restaurant selection. This one is at the bottom of the list of an all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

shop around if you truly want an "all inclusive" that really is all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Mom
Business
Solon, Ohio
May 4, 2009

Nice family times

Staff was very responsive. At check in, which was quick, we were taken to our rooms. The door lock was broken. We noted this to bus boy. He called via walkie-talkie. Someone was to our room in literaly minutes, fixed it. When we asked for extra towels, room cleaning times to be adjusted, no problems. Desk staff was very helpful. Staff stated that the resort was gradually being upgraded, not fancy now, but priced well. Resort staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
Apr 23, 2009

Viva Wyndham Fortuna April 5 2009

Food was pretty good, particularly in the 2 restaurants available. Rooms were clean. Beach was great. Bartenders and Show staff very good. Security didn't keep college kids quiet...even @ 3 am! Check in was a disaster. Took 90 mins. They only had 1 room reserved even though we booked 2 rooms thru Orbitz. They finally found another room but the rooms they sent us to were occupied. The new rooms were ok but 1 of the key cards didn't work. They said they'd be back with a new card. They never came back. We went to the desk and they said they didn't get the request for a new card from their person. We were very frustrated at the ineptitude and subsequent lack of follow-up to all these issues. The hotel was actually pretty good. Too bad the mgmnt staff isn't running it properly. Every time we went by the desk we heard a host of people complaining about various issues so we weren't unique. Finally, the staff said they would comp us something for our trouble. After repeated requests they finally came through and paid for our wives transportation into Lucaya 1 day. The staff said we'd need to contact Orbitz for anything else. So..consider this the request to compensate us for the aggravation of a poorly managed trip. It was clear there was no coordination between Orbitz and the hotel. Apparently all the Orbitz ads regarding problem solving are not exactly accurate, or at least were not in place at the Wyndham

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Good shows for kids, then a show for adults. Very good. Pizza @ 10:30 was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 23, 2009

"I'll Be Back!"

I ate, dove and slept. It was the perfect relaxing vacation. My niece and I really enjoyed the Dolphin Experience. We all ate WAY too much because it is just so good. And such variety, everyone should be able to suit their diet preferences. The free evening entertainment was fabulous, and it is amazing the way they accommodate so many languages. It is a very international group of staff and guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can catch the public bus for a couple of bucks, rather than the taxi fare to and from town ($24 each way!!!) Just a short walk to the main road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdieball
Business
mass
Apr 22, 2009

excellent location

Very Relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raindrops
Business
College Station, TX
Apr 22, 2009

Never again on spring break

When we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately told that we were being relocated for the first night. We had no choice in this matter. There were several families that also had this problem. During our actual stay at the Wyndham, we had to dodge all of the Spring Break crowd and put up with all of the noise. Besides the chaos, and the fact that it rained for most of our stay, we actually had a good time. The rooms are really nice, and the view to the ocean is amazing. The restaurants were nearly impossible to make reservations for, as they were all occupied. The one that we did get into, the Italian restaurant, was very average food. Nothing impressive at all. I would reccomend this hotel if you are looking for an affordable stay in the Bahamaas. This hotel is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2009

Worth the money!

When we first got there we were placed in building C, it was okay but the next day asked to move to building B which was MUCH BETTER(renovated). I would recommend bringing your own beach towels it took a day to get one through the hotel and they tell you to keep the towel your entire stay. The food could have been better. The beach was the best part. We brought our own snorkel gear which we're glad we did. We actually preferred the Oriental Restaurant(need reservations) over the Italian Restaurant. I've stayed at other all-inclusives which were a lot nicer in other countries but this was definitely worth the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Bridgeport, CT
Jan 2, 2009

My review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Oceanview room had a great view of the rear of the water sports building. Room was still being cleaned on our arrival at 4 pm. Housekeeper said she would be right back with our towels. We then discovered that the room had no coffeemaker, no remote for the tv, and the minifridge could not be plugged in. After a number of calls to guest services we finally received towels and coffeemaker about 5:30. Minifridge was finally connected by maintenance sometime after 6:30 by modifying an extension cord. It appears that the entire resort is overdue for a major refurbishing, although other guests that I spoke with seemed to have rooms that were in much better shape than ours. In addition to the problems noted above there was no seating in our room, not even a chair at the desk, there was totally inadequate drawer space for clothing, and we had to request additional hangers as there were only 4 in the closet when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to visit the casino on the island its a $15 cab ride each way from this resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top