$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time to the bahamas
Business
Houston
Nov 10, 2009

Bahamas Vacation

This was my first trip to the Bahamas and it appeared like this was the only all inclusive resort in Freeport. I went not knowing what to expect. The hotel is right on the beach and the water is amazing. We did the snorkeling trip through the hotel on the first day for $35. It was a ten minute boat ride to the reefs and then we had an hour to snorkel, which was plenty. All of the equipment was provided. The rest of the trip we spent laying on the beach, which was perfect. There were always chairs to lay on and a bar on the beach. The drinks were not strong, but I guess that's typical for an AI resort. The meals were at the Junkanoo and we did dinner at the Italian restaurant two of the nights (it was closed on Sunday or else we would have done all dinners there). The beds in the room were very firm and took some getting used to. Overall, it was a great trip and the hotel met my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at the viva cafe (Italian food) for dinner. Minimal selections but it was much better than the Junkanoo. The oriental restaurant was closed while we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 30, 2009

Nothing Special

Beach and location were great, food including the restaurants were quite disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Oct 16, 2009

Ok Value

Great snorkeling from the beach, great staff,but horrible food. $30 taxi from airport. $15 taxi to Port Lucaya (Rum Runners, Agave)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1/2 mile west from the hotel (down the beach)is the Margaritavilla Sand Bar. Excellent local place with great food. http://www.thebahamasguide.com/sandbar/default.htm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Oct 13, 2009

Week with family

Family style resort. Evening entertainment, high school quality shows. Entertaining. Staff nice. Childrens programs and teacher were great for our 2&4 year old kids. Room air conditioners were noisy. No bulb in bedside lamp. Took 3 days to get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Need to rent a car or take taxi to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in PA
Business
Pa
Sep 27, 2009

RUN AND DON'T LOOK BACK!!

If you are considering the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach-All Inclusive, Freeport, Bahamas as a possible choice for vacation, all I can say is RUN AND I MEAN RUN…..AND DON'T LOOK BACK!! My husband and I went on a mini-vacation, 3 nights, to celebrate our 15th Anniversary but instead spent our time fighting ants which literally swarmed over us by the 100s in our room as we napped, having no air conditioner in the first room, took a downgrade in the room to a 2nd room, and then spent our time fighting for a telephone that actually worked only to have it replaced by one covered in mold, and just asking for the basic necessity of hot water in the shower. Only to find out from Maintenance, one of the two hot water heaters had been broken for weeks and nothing was done. There are two restaurants that serve you, but they were closed. Instead of spending an evening to celebrate our anniversary we were subjected to cafeteria style food what I would believe comparable to prison food. The Beach Hut for food was so horrifying that we are still not sure if we even had a hamburger or what it was?? The Hut was covered in filth and the food prepared in such an unsanitary manner that we never went near there again. For an all inclusive, the alcohol quality was the lowest brand names that could possibly be purchased and each drink was drowned in ice and served in a 6 ounce plastic cup; you take it from there. The beach was covered with ants, cups, and garbage; the staff seemed to have no interest in cleaning up. The pool area along with all sitting areas was in the same horrible state. We couldn't even put our feet down on the ground when trying to relax for fear of ants once again attacking us or being covered in something sticky or food crumbs. For a day and half we spent trying to hide from the sales staff who wanted us to buy into their vacation club; we didn't want to stay one more hour never mind return. She would not take no for an answer. The remaining staff was rude, inattentive and each time you asked a question or made a request; they responded as if you were bothering them. When we complained and demanded to see the General Manager we were first told he would be back in ½ hour. When we insisted the front desk clerk provide his name written down and have him call us all the sudden he was available. It was only at this point did we receive decent customer service. I say to the head of Wyndham Resorts, shame on you for allowing a resort with such potential to be ran into the ground. I say to anyone who wants to stay here; stay at a Hilton and run, run, run from this "resort".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No hints to offer except don't do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in PA
Business
Pa
Sep 27, 2009

RUN AND DON'T LOOK BACK!!

If you are considering the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach-All Inclusive, Freeport, Bahamas as a possible choice for vacation, all I can say is RUN AND I MEAN RUN…..AND DON'T LOOK BACK!! My husband and I went on a mini-vacation, 3 nights, to celebrate our 15th Anniversary but instead spent our time fighting ants which literally swarmed over us by the 100s in our room as we napped, having no air conditioner in the first room, took a downgrade in the room to a 2nd room, and then spent our time fighting for a telephone that actually worked only to have it replaced by one covered in mold, and just asking for the basic necessity of hot water in the shower. Only to find out from Maintenance, one of the two hot water heaters had been broken for weeks and nothing was done. There are two restaurants that serve you, but they were closed. Instead of spending an evening to celebrate our anniversary we were subjected to cafeteria style food what I would believe comparable to prison food. The Beach Hut for food was so horrifying that we are still not sure if we even had a hamburger or what it was?? The Hut was covered in filth and the food prepared in such an unsanitary manner that we never went near there again. For an all inclusive, the alcohol quality was the lowest brand names that could possibly be purchased and each drink was drowned in ice and served in a 6 ounce plastic cup; you take it from there. The beach was covered with ants, cups, and garbage; the staff seemed to have no interest in cleaning up. The pool area along with all sitting areas was in the same horrible state. We couldn't even put our feet down on the ground when trying to relax for fear of ants once again attacking us or being covered in something sticky or food crumbs. For a day and half we spent trying to hide from the sales staff who wanted us to buy into their vacation club; we didn't want to stay one more hour never mind return. She would not take no for an answer. The remaining staff was rude, inattentive and each time you asked a question or made a request; they responded as if you were bothering them. When we complained and demanded to see the General Manager we were first told he would be back in ½ hour. When we insisted the front desk clerk provide his name written down and have him call us all the sudden he was available. It was only at this point did we receive decent customer service. I say to the head of Wyndham Resorts, shame on you for allowing a resort with such potential to be ran into the ground. I say to anyone who wants to stay here; stay at a Hilton and run, run, run from this "resort".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No hints to offer except don't do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jamie World traveler
Business
Bayonne, NJ
Sep 11, 2009

Check the reviews...carefully

The hotel itself was pretty clean and the staff was usually responsive to requests for more pillows and towels( we only had a problem with towels the last night). The bartenders and staff were helpful and kept the drinks flowing. They werent very pushy with activities which we liked. The pool was very nice, jacuzzi left much to be desired and the beach was great, clean with plenty of chairs. Just a suggestion if your gonna beach it alot, bring water shoes cause there are some rocks at the entry of the beach getting into the water. Towels were very easily accesable but not the nicest things in the owrld. Plenty of snorkeling equipment and kayaks. The food there was horrible. no chicken or beef other than something they threw on top of a shephards pie(we didnt ask) They had run out of all Pepsi the entire time we were there. The sit down "reservation only" restaurant was nothing more than the POOR buffet served to you. Late night pizza was the best thing there. Also bring your own insulated large travel mugs to limit the number of bar trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doser
Business
New York
Sep 6, 2009

Missing the Entertainment

I never stayed at a resort before and was worried that staying on one would be boring. They had plenty of activities for me and the family. A plus on traveling on the off-season is that the beach was empty and I did not have to search for a good place to relax and it did not feel crowded. I did archery, the gym, sailboating, and kayaking. My kids enjoyed the kids center, especially the daily dance routine. I wish they did that more than once a day, though. I did take some tours and trips of the island, but just because I wanted to see things outside of the resort. Most of the time we spent laying on the beach and pool relaxing. Having the all-inclusive is great. I love that I can just walk out of my room and go somewhere and eat without having to get transportation to take me somewhere to eat. It saves a lot of time that you can spending doing other things. Here is where the food issue came up. They have a buffet and 2 restaurants, but one of the restaurants was closed. The buffet was usually just regular food that was nothing to rave about, but a couple of nights it was really excellent. I noticed that when it was a theme night, like Bahamian or Italian, the food was great. The Viva Italian restaurant though, was always excellent. We loved everything that came out of there. The people there are great and especially the animation crew. They liven up the place and really work hard at making sure you have a good time. The Viva dance seemed corny the first night, but after that, I couldn't get enough of it. I'm trained like Pavlov's dogs now; everytime I hear the beginning of the song, I start to samba. The nightly entertainment was always good, with the exception of comedy night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

While the Port Lucaya Marketplace is nice, Town Centre has more stores at only a slighter further distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Aug 19, 2009

Mostly good, some bad

The Hotel is located in an amazing place, the staff is generally nice and helpful, however several staff members and the manager of the Viva vacation club there where rude and disrespectful towards us. I would not recommend going through the club presentation, or putting up with the Viva Club staff, there are far better priced vacation club packages elsewhere. Putting aside the 3 hours we spent with that portion of the staff the experiance was worthwhile, and fun. We sat on the beach, enjoyed good food, had a good time, and left happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin encouter is a must, was a true enjoyment for all ages. ***** Ocean View Room is worth the charge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Beach Traveler
Business
Medina Ohio
Aug 16, 2009

Big Mistake

We are not the pickiest of travelers, but when a wyndham is rated a touch higher then a days inn on the side of a turnpike beware. The rooms and grounds were filthy. the service was terrible and the employees were rude. The food that was served was of the same selection every single day for lunch AND dinner even in the resturants in which you had to make reservations. The majority of the food was terrible and tasted like college dorm food sometimes worse. It was cold and tasteless. The resturants are not air conditioned nothing is..so you are sweating into your food...we went thinking how we would come home a couple pounds heavier from the all you can eat and actually lost weight on vacation. You could not eat because of the heat and the terrible food we will not eat spagetti now for months (they serve this consistently). The hotel itself is away from everything so you have to get a cab for everything and you do...if not you do end up becoming extremely bored. There are not enough chairs on the beach as the cruise ships drop off each day and good luck walking in the water with all the rocks. The only food we found to be outstanding was the pizza and it was served at 11pm to 2;30 am the beach bar was always crowded and the food was so so the employees there ignored us along with many others to play with a phone and talk to each other and when it is that hot people become very restless the island take it slow idea does not become easily adapted. The resort gives out tiny plastic cups for drinks which are so small even a child could drink it within a few seconds. In the high temps they could provide something bigger to keep the guest hydrated and something to prevent the wastefulness of these little cups (they are thrown all over). The rooms that say renovated are terrible and even the drive up is horrible. do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Port Lucaya is wonderful everything is within walking distance and there is plenty to do. The wyndham should be ashamed that they are even putting their name on this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lucaya has a wonderful open air market. You can easily talk down the prices on many handmade items. The casino, scuba, beaches,deep sea fishing, beaches, duty free shopping, resturants, marina and the dolphin swims are also within a short walk. There are also many hotels and resorts in this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top