$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
171 reviews
Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Dec 3, 2014
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pacevette
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 28, 2010

Nice for the price

Clean comfortable room, great beach, wonderful staff, excellent dive operation and can't beat the price especially for single occ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 27, 2010

Nice Family Vacation Spot

The hotel is not the most luxurious but offers pretty much everything you would need for a relaxing family vacation. The staff is very nice, friendly, and helpful. The nightly entertainment is great, but the entertainment staff is even better! They are fun, friendly, engaging, and very entertaining. Both we and our kids had a blast. The food wasn't the best but the variety made up for the lack of choices. Food quality was quite good. The staff made every effort to accomodate our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely visit Port Lucaya Marketplace. There is a variety of shops, stores, and restaurants. There is also a casino nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 8, 2010

Good value

Beautiful grounds,great beach,though very rock filled water. Rooms varied. Mine was fine, though obviously an older property. Though all inclusive, the food was buffet style and while edible, was not very good, except for breakfast, which is hard to damage. Specialty restaurants were a step up from buffet. Bar was just OK,local drinks only. Coffee Bar is excellent. A great value though for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxi was $25 each way. Less expensive than pre-arranged transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Surf City NJ
Oct 13, 2010

Beautiful spot, terrible food and more

Location was a tropical paradise, Gwen at Guest Services was very helpful. Too bad that's the only good things I can say about it. In June when I booked this for a "Girls' Weekend" with my three daughters, I had requested connecting rooms. The room next to mine connected to someone else's room , but not to my other daughters' room. Reservations basically said, "too bad we can't do anything." The room smelled terrible, needed cleaning, painting, and updating. The lamp shades were stained, broken tiles in bathroom, a shower which barely worked and chipped sink. One piece around the door was bare wood. It had been replaced and never painted. The food at the Bamboo Restaurant was not edible. Another couple who ate there the next night told us the same thing. The restaurant smelled like stale bleach. The food in the other two restaurants was so-so, except for the fresh grilled Tuna at the buffet on Sunday night, that was excellent. For the most part most of the staff, except Reservations, was friendly. I am extremely disappointed and intend to tell everyone not to go there, believe me it is not worth the money. I live in a resort area on an island in NJ, and I know how resorts are supposed to function. We could never get away with what we put up with at the Viva Wyndam. If this is how Wyndam Resorts run, I will never go to another one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Worst meal I had in my life was at the Bamboo Restaurant. The dining room smelled like old bleach and the food was not edible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, CT
Aug 24, 2010

Don't expect the Ritz

the other reviews had this place exactly right. The food was cruise ship buffet, but the Italian restaurant was good. The rooms are older decor, but servicable. The resort itself was nice, and the drinks did flow. The beach was incredible, and the staff was friendly and helpful, but not speedy. Don't expect the Ritz, this isn't even close. But a good value for the money in the off-season, and our first foray into the all-inclusive world. Makes me want to try a place that's a bit more modern and upscale next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 23, 2010

Good place for relaxation - good food

Good pool and great beach. The beach needed to have more umbrellas as did the pool. The room needed better lighting, only one small lamp. Otherwise okay room. The bathtub drained slowly. The tv remote did not work. The food at the buffet was good. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. If you want a place just to sit back and relax, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

take a taxi to the market place. Not too expensive, some great little shops and nice places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The space needing family
Business
New York
Aug 16, 2010

Excellent Resort for family with teens

We wanted a family vacation but also a place where our teens could have their own space. There was LOTS of space for them and lots of international people to make friends with. The staff were exceptionally child friendly and the food was always fresh and varied each day. We thorougly enjoyed our weeklong stay and wished we had done it for 10 days. Great family resort and SOOOOO safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Always ask the staff for tips. You get to see the place through the eyes of the locals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janaelle
Business
CT
Aug 12, 2010

"My most HORRIBLE vacation ever!!!!"

Please don't be fooled by the pictures that are up on the websites. This place was a horrible experience! We had things stolen out of our bags... It wasn't a pleasant vacation... I need a vacation from a vacation after staying at this "RESORT"... This hotel caters more to children with tons of children activities but we didn't travel with children.. The vacation was not worth it at all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kc0650[@]
Business
Brooklyn ,N.Y.
Jul 16, 2010

Unbeatable for the price

Had a great time!Staff was very helpful and polite.Pool activities were Great!Instructors:[...]made our stay so much fun.They made you want to take part in anything that they were in charge of.Shows were so much fun as well.These people would be one of the main reasons for my return.The only problem that I had was :they need to replace the mattress's,pillow's and sheet's.Everyone there that I spoke to complained of the same things.Mattress's would sink in the middle,pillows looked and felt that they re sewn together to make them harder.If the hotel would just fix some of those problems ,more people would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl
Jun 16, 2010

vacation

enjoyed my vacation, rated it noisy due to a high school party and a wedding party both being present, several members of both groups could only be discribed as loud and obnoxious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top