$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiny100
Business
New York
Feb 24, 2011

Viva - Fortuna Beach

The Good: Activities (ie Trapeze, Archery, Beach Volleyball, etc.) Evening Shows (they're fun & participatory) Beach: soft/white sand, plenty of chaise longues, umbrellas, palm trees The Bad: Food: the Buffet has a really small selection of foods. We were disappointed at the lack of fresh fruit and fish options. The Italian Restaurant: Skip it The Asian Restaurant: Best Bet Room: no dresser drawers (if you're only staying for a few night, this doesn't really matter) General No public transportation to town, you either bike (free) it or take a taxi ($15 each way). You are only allowed 1 towel per person in your room and on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It's fun to go into town to do some shopping - every price is negotiable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mdavids
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 23, 2011

Senior Spring Break in the Bahamas

This place is a great deal for the money, all you can eat, all you can drink. Very white trash, people bring their own 30oz cups and start pounding down drinks from 10 am till they drop. The food is dining hall quality at best, no flavor and mostly cold. Your best bet is to get the pizza rom 11pm-2am the the window. I would not recommend this for kids of any age as you have to navigate around drunk people all day long The scuba diving around the island was great and so was the Viva dive center, friendly dive staff and a great boat captain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Shark Dive with UNESCO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, Rhode Island
Jan 17, 2011

You get what you pay for.

My husband and I wanted to get away from the New England weather and booked a last minute trip to the Bahamas. When we got to The resort we were surprised by the amount of people waiting for their rooms. Check in is at three and everyone must wait until then. In most cases you can check in early if the room is available but this is not an option. No problem, we left our luggage and went to get a drink. To our surprise there were tip jars at the bar, this is an all inclusive??? Once we finally get to our room, the housekeeper was still cleaning the room. We told her not to hurry that we would wait but she still rushed and there was sand all over the floor and the toilet was filthy. The room was a good size but everything was out of date or broken. We even used the coffee machine one day and the housekeeper refilled the coffee supply but never cleaned the pot, there was still coffee in it. The resort had some fun stuff to do like the trapeze and entertainment staff is fun. The food was ok but I would have liked to see more local food. The snack shack makes great burgers and the late night pizza was yummy. The only thing is you have to wait until 10pm to get some because that's when it opens. The specialty restaurant are good. When we went to the Italian restaurant a fight broke out in the kitchen between the staff and went on for about 15 minutes, my husband and I thought it was going to get physical. The Asian restaurant had a small menu and the sushi was actually made with smoked fish not raw. Make sure not to get a room in the Cay building, you will not sleep. It's closest to the disco and you will hear the music until 2:30am. Beware of the sales pitch for the vacation club. They are pushy and we did not get any of the free stuff we were promised. We knew we were getting a cheap vacation so we basically got what we paid for but this resort barely met our low standards for this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 7, 2011

Average to slightly above average

Service was usually with a smile. Most of the hotel folks were very polite and nice. A couple of the room attendants were less so. For example, when my partner Michele returned one day to our room, an attendant said that we should have checked out that very day, 1/4. (We were in room A4204.) The attendant's information was in error (we were scheduled to check out two days after that, 1/6). However, that attendant and then two others insisted that they were right and that Michele had better get to the lobby to straighten things out. This was not good customer service. The attendants should always act as if the customer is right and they should have been the ones to confirm the check-out date, based on what Michele told them. Their behavior was shabby. In addition, there were at least two times when there was no hot water in the bathroom. And one day, when the attendant failed to leave a floor mat and face cloths and another towel, it took us a visit to the front desk, three phone calls, and over an hour to get all the items delivered. Also, it is impossible to read comfortably with the lighting in the rooms. The bulbs are not strong enough and the lamp by the bed is so low that it sheds virtually no light on one's reading matter. And finally, on the administration of the hotel, check out should be 12:00 noon, not 11:00 am. and check in should be immediate. It took us an hour and a half after arrival to get to our room. Not acceptable. One or two of the evening theatre programs were quite good, especially the Michael Jackson program. The employee-actors were not bad and a couple were very good. I must say, however, that the hotel was very good for families with children. Lots of kiddie stuff to do. The food was surprisingly good for an all inclusive. Loved the ribs and the barbecue chicken. The best thing about Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach was the beach itself--a wonderful place with plenty of beach chairs and easy access to the snack bar. The resort as a whole compares as average with other places I have stayed in the Caribbean. For example, I have stayed at an all-inclusive resort in Punta Cana (Domincan Republic), the Bahia Principe, which had an equally good beach and better service, though the food was no better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best thing was the beach itself and walking on the beach and/or swimming in the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BabyV
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 4, 2011

Dissapointed

Rooms were old and moldy. The dresser did not have any handles and was falling appart. Staff was generally friendly except for the front desk staff. They were very rude and seemed to be bothered by any questions. We paid the daily fee for the safe and the safe was never set up for us to use. At the end of the trip, they could not find any paperwork on the safe to give us a refund. Food was average (buffet style). Guest activities were very limited. Entertainment/shows were very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lucaya.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jan 3, 2011

Don't Do It!

Beautiful location - horrible facility. No hot water for the first three days - phone broken - safe broken. Staff attitude - varied between indifferent and surly. Need a clean towel - that's a dollar! Need assistance - want to change a room - too bad! And don't expect help at check in - you are on your own with your luggage to navigate the facility to find your room. We actually helped a senior couple haul their suitcases up the stairway. This was our 9th island excursion - we will not go back to the Bahamas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 3, 2011

This was a Fantastic family getaway

Everything was good Except some of the food chicken was undercook also the late night pizza snack shop need more cooks at night. Pizza was good tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mnahon
Business
Argentina
Jan 3, 2011

Disappointment showed on our face

It was a complete disaster!!!!! We arrived to celebrate New Year but first the hotel didn´t have a room with King Size bed (as our request) and gave us a ocean view room... this room never have hot water during our stay at the hotel. Additionally, the thelephone didn´t work too (to call to the room assistance), the water closet was broken too... I think it is to much expensive hotel to have to many issues during a short vacations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

--

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Dec 31, 2010

Disappointed

My husband and I visited Viva Fortuna Bahamas the week before Christmas. Good stuff: The water is fantastic and there are many activities included that are fun (Bocce ball, trapeze, snorkeling gear, bicycles, pool table, ping pong). Bad stuff: the restaurants were inconsistently open and food was average. I know they say this is an "all-inclusive" but you have to pay $3.00/day if you want to use the in-room safe and another guest pointed out that there wasn't even bottled water in the rooms. Additionally, your beach towel is provided to you with the caveat that if you exchange for a new one, then it will cost you $1.00! There were MANY peddlers on the beach and one asked me if I "liked to party" and then after I said, "no", offered to sell me a conch shell. The rooms weren't that great and the shower, converted from a bathtub, didn't drain properly because the gradient was wrong. Also, the worst part is that AS SOON AS YOU ARRIVE, they want to sell you their "vacation club" which requires 1.5 hours of your stay. They are VERY pushy about it. I would expect it if I had won the trip and the presentation was part of the deal but we paid in full and wanted to be left alone for a getaway - not a hard sell. Overall, I would try really hard to go anywhere else in the bahamas before I returned to this resort. And, in that event, I would probably visit another place entirely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Daddy's Conch Shack in the Port Lucaya Marketplace - excellent fresh conch salad!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bruce the diver
Business
Vienna, VA
Dec 31, 2010

A good place to relax

The hotel offers a lot of activities from scuba diving to kayaking to snorkeling and trapeze. The food is nothing special but it is all that you can eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top