$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Grand Lucayan Resort

4 stars
1 Royal Palm Way, Freeport, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
57 reviews
Beautiful comfortable hotel right on the beach

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Clean comfortable hotel. Located right on the beach. The food... See full review

  • Sri K.
  • Nov 18, 2014
Pleasant stay at Grand Lucayan

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Location can't be better! It is close to a local market where... See full review

  • Elto
  • Oct 20, 2014
Spectacular beachfront resort just 80 miles offshore from South Florida. Oceanfront and Ocean view suites and guestrooms with private balconies,wi fi, in room coffee and bottled water. Senses Spa and fitness center, par 72 golf course, casino, 3 swimming pools, kids club, 9 bars and restaurants from Starbucks coffee to fine dining at Churchills, pasta, steaks and hops. China Beach for exquisite Japanese and Chinese food. Try the Fish Fry or Bahamian Nite buffets with weekend Junkanoo Band! Stroll across the street for shopping, nightlife, swim with the dolphins, snorkel and dive excursions and more. State of the Art Conference Center, magnificent Weddings and Catered Affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Lucayan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Grand Lucayan Resort Rooms

Marina View Rooms
Features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King. These rooms with stylish Caribbean-inspired decor are 400 square feet of floor space and either a balcony or patio. Room features include tub-shower combo, work desk, chair with ottoman, TV with cable channels, coffee maker, in-room safe, Iron/Ironing Board, 24-hour room service, high-speed internet access and more. Fees may apply to certain amenities.
Ocean View Rooms
Features 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds and Ocean View. They have stylish, Caribbean-inspired decor, 400 square feet of floor space and either a balcony or patio. Room features include tub-shower combo, work desk, chair with ottoman, TV with cable channels, coffee maker, in-room safe, Iron/Ironing Board, 24-hour room service, high-speed internet access and more. Fees may apply to certain amenities.
Traditional Island View Rooms
These rooms have stylish, Caribbean-inspired decor, 400 square feet of floor space and either a balcony or patio. Room features include superior bedding and bath amenities, tub shower combo, working desk, chair with ottoman, and two phones with data port.
1 Bedroom Suite - Ocean View
Breathtaking Ocean Views await you in our 1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite. Separate living area with sofa sleeper, chair and ottoman. Efficiency kitchen complete with microwave and refrigerator. Superior bedding and bath amenities. Bathrobes. WIFI included! Flat screen TV, bottled water, work desk, iron/ironing board, coffee maker, dual line telephone and room service. Breathtaking ocean views greet you each morning as you immerse yourself in everything the Grand Lucayan and Grand Bahamas has to offer and you will return home with memories to last a lifetime.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 2 mi

Dining

China Beach Restaurant
Our chic China Beach restaurant offers a culinary tour of the Pacific Rim, with an appetizing menu inspired by the exotic flavors of Vietnam, Thailand, Korea, Indonesia and Malaysia. Specialties prepared by our talented chefs include mouth-watering sushi dishes and fresh Bahamian seafood. Imaginative and colorful Asian decor sees scarlet parasols doubling as chandeliers in a restaurant that seems to float above the resort's serpentine swimming pool. Cuisine: Pan-Pacific General Opening Hours: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm Dress Code: Smart-casual
Churchill's
Guests can enjoy a four-course dinner and live entertainment at Churchill's, a world-class restaurant featuring Mediterranean inspired cuisine, homemade pastas, succulent steaks and decadent desserts. House specialties include Lobster and Wild Mushroom Risotto, Veal Marsala and Veal Osso Bucco. Menu may vary. General Opening Hours: Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday: 7:00pm-11:00pm Grand Bar Opening Hours: Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday: 6:00pm - Midnight
Willy Broadleaf
Discover international cuisine that draws inspiration from India, Mexico, Africa, the Bahamas and the USA along with some other irresistible flavors. It's all served in inspiring surroundings that could find you seated in a Mexican courtyard or an African village. Enjoy a lavish buffet breakfast, with something for every taste. Plus don't miss our Champagne Brunch on Sundays and Bahamian Night on Fridays. General Opening Hours: Breakfast " 7:00am-10:30am Champagne Brunch Sundays " 12:00pm-4:00pm Bahamian Night Buffet - Fridays 6:00pm-10:00pm Dress Code: Casual Open for Lunch and Dinner on select nights.
Iries
The colonial-style restaurant that lets your taste buds experience various Caribbean cuisines with Bahamian influence. The restaurant is divided into rooms honoring the colors and character of Puerto Rico, Mexico, Cuba, Jamica, Trinidad & Tobago. General Opening Hours: Bar (only) Wednesday to Saturday from: 11:00am - 3:00pm Sunday to Tuesday from: 11:00am - 10:00pm
China Grill
Enjoy a quick snack or something more substantial at this outdoor grill. From an Asian chicken salad to a traditional hamburger or hot dog, there's sure to be something that'll hit the spot. This outlet is now cashless. You may easily sign all charges to your room. For day-pass holders, please visit the front desk or security check-point for additional information. General Opening Hours: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm Dinner: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday - from 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Havana Cay Lounge & Cigar Bar
Enjoy fine wines, ports and cigars in a setting like no other. A refined, mahogany entrance and dark wood tones welcome you inside, or you can take the air on the veranda overlooking the beach. A built-in humidor preserves a selection of the finest cigars from Cuba and the Dominican Republic. The perfect place to enjoy a nightcap and complete an unforgettable day. General Opening Hours: Daily: 5:00pm-12:00am
Plantation Cafe
The Plantation Caf offers a wide selection of freshly made pastries, sandwiches and luscious ice creams. With a relaxed atmosphere, it is the perfect place to enjoy a morning coffee. General Opening Hours: Daily: 6:00am-10:00pm
Hammerheads
Swim up or drop in. Hammerheads serves ice-cold beverages and snacks that you won't even have to leave the pool to enjoy. This outlet is now cashless. You may easily sign all charges to your room. For day-pass holders, please visit the front desk or security check-point for additional information. General Opening Hours: Daily 11:00am-6:00pm (Thursday & Friday - 11:00am-8:30pm for Movie Nights)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Lucayan Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 57
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elto
Business
West Palm Bch
Oct 20, 2014

Pleasant stay at Grand Lucayan

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Location can't be better! It is close to a local market where majority restaurants are there. The resort had everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eitankoren
Business
Israel
Oct 15, 2014

Great Stay!

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed this nice hotel, well located near the nicest beach on the island. The resort is beautiful and we defiantly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCP and BRP
Business
Manchester, NH
Sep 10, 2014

Great Place

If you like the beach...this is where you want to go. Friendly and very helpful staff....always looking to make things better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street to the market place and lots of dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mlewissr
Business
Knoxville TN
Aug 8, 2014

Island life close to home!

We were in need of some beach therapy & got that & more. The staff are amazingly kind & accommodating & always have time to visit. The room was very clean, bed was great & ocean view from the balcony healing. Huge infinity edge pools, great food, powder white beaches & emerald water. We took advantage of the all inclusive option & it was great-just be aware that room service is not included & there are surcharges at churchills & item dependent @ china beach-both are great tho. Love churchills piano bar & the quaint Havana cigar bar. I could live on the Coconut french toast @ willys & coconut cookies at plantation cafe. Best accommodations on the island as far as I can tell & 1 hr 15 min airtime fr ATL.......amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tetuaria
Business
Orlando, fl
Jul 15, 2014

greastest and safest location

Wonder place.nice that everything is right there that you need. Great view stayed on 7th floor and it was beautiful. check in and check out was a breeze no complaints there. when we checked in we asked if we could have a 6th floor or above and she definitely accommodated us with that. nice that the hotel has a storage for your luggage since we weren't leaving until 5 o'clock in the evening. the only thing that I would have like them to provide is transportation from the port taxis are very expensive cost of $35 each way. Weather was perfect even for july being hurricane season. Definitely recommend couples or family even with small children. Went with hubby next time we'll bring the kids. Hopethis.helps

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty pricey. No tax but a gratuity is 18%.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Allen
Business
Aiken, SC
Jul 2, 2014

Perfect birthday get-away

We have visited Port Lucaya and the Grand Lucayan many times over the years by boat, but this was our first stay at the hotel. This was to celebrate a mile-stone birthday for my wife. There were the typical "island challenges"...they put us in a room that was already occupied; next room was the wrong type (no view, two beds), but management rose to the occasion and upgraded us to a suite on one of the top floors. Outstanding room, spectacular view. We'll book a suite next trip because it was so much better than the premium room that we originally booked. One has to remember that these are the "islands", and you must be prepared to deal with island issues with a good sense of humor. They ran out of beach & pool towels by mid-day everyday. No worries, just remember to bring bath towels from your room. When the bar runs out of your favorite brew, they are just out of it; no effort to re-supply until the next delivery arrives, maybe today, maybe tomorrow, maybe never! All part of the island experience. We are used to it and we love it. Many good restaurants in the Port Lucaya Marketplace to experience. Churchill's at the Grand Lucayan is the best of them all; truely 5-Star and not to be missed. Beach is perfect. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Most will go out of their way to satisfy you. Taxi rides are "exciting"! We will be staying at the Grand Lucayan next trip. Book a suite on the ocean side on one of the top 3 floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all of the small local restaurants in the marketplace area, but do not miss Churchill's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jas bell
Business
boca ratón, fl
Jun 24, 2014

the trip was ehh

When we first got to the hotel we had to wait an extra 5 hours before we could check in. The hotel was very disorganized, gave us the wrong room as well then we had to go all the way back down stairs and get a new room. Also they told me i cannot get my 100$ back that they supposedly keep on hold while we are there for another 30 days..pretty ridiculous.. didn't hate the trip but didn't love it either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

do NOT rent anything they take money out of your acct and put it on hold for 30 days ridiculous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irishgirl3
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Jun 9, 2014

Summer Vacay

The resort was a nice distance from the airport, not too long, and the beach and resort itself was beautiful. Everything was clean and the people were all very polite and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take bus to local grocery store for food, snacks, drinks, suntan lotion, etc. It's much cheaper than buying on the resort since it was not all inclusive for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rmemedic
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
May 25, 2014

Grand Lucayan Resort

Beautiful location with lots of beach & swimming pools. Many restaurants to choose from as well. Can't wait to go back on our anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zorn as Restaurant, great food cheap prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michilam
Business
Michigan
May 4, 2014

Good couples retreat

Check in staff was under manned, took much longer than our normal experiences. Wait staff was mediocre, auto 15% gratuity was a disincentive for service levels.. Cleaning staff was friendly & did an excellent job. Excellent location, would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top