$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Grand Lucayan Resort

4 stars
1 Royal Palm Way, Freeport, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
great!!!!!!

I truly enjoyed my stay, the hotel is lovely and the staff very professional and accommodating. I... See full review

  • Sandi Bandi
  • Aug 13, 2014
Excellent stay in Lucaya

we had twelve nights in this fantastic hotel and enjoyed very much all its facilities. The infinity... See full review

  • PinaPisa
  • Aug 8, 2014
Spectacular beachfront resort just 80 miles offshore from South Florida. Oceanfront and Ocean view suites and guestrooms with private balconies,wi fi, in room coffee and bottled water. Senses Spa and fitness center, par 72 golf course, casino, 3 swimming pools, kids club, 9 bars and restaurants from Starbucks coffee to fine dining at Churchills, pasta, steaks and hops. China Beach for exquisite Japanese and Chinese food. Try the Fish Fry or Bahamian Nite buffets with weekend Junkanoo Band! Stroll across the street for shopping, nightlife, swim with the dolphins, snorkel and dive excursions and more. State of the Art Conference Center, magnificent Weddings and Catered Affairs.

Hotel Map

26.5114 -78.645
Area served
Freeport
Nearby airports
FPO Freeport International Airport (FPO)
Area description
80 miles offshore from South Florida - 20 minute flight - center location of the island in Lucaya

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Lucayan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Grand Lucayan Resort Rooms

Marina View Rooms
Features 2 Queen Beds or 1 King. These rooms with stylish Caribbean-inspired decor are 400 square feet of floor space and either a balcony or patio. Room features include tub-shower combo, work desk, chair with ottoman, TV with cable channels, coffee maker, in-room safe, Iron/Ironing Board, 24-hour room service, high-speed internet access and more. Fees may apply to certain amenities.
Ocean View Rooms
Features 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds and Ocean View. They have stylish, Caribbean-inspired decor, 400 square feet of floor space and either a balcony or patio. Room features include tub-shower combo, work desk, chair with ottoman, TV with cable channels, coffee maker, in-room safe, Iron/Ironing Board, 24-hour room service, high-speed internet access and more. Fees may apply to certain amenities.
Traditional Island View Rooms
These rooms have stylish, Caribbean-inspired decor, 400 square feet of floor space and either a balcony or patio. Room features include superior bedding and bath amenities, tub shower combo, working desk, chair with ottoman, and two phones with data port.
1 Bedroom Suite - Ocean View
Breathtaking Ocean Views await you in our 1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite. Separate living area with sofa sleeper, chair and ottoman. Efficiency kitchen complete with microwave and refrigerator. Superior bedding and bath amenities. Bathrobes. WIFI included! Flat screen TV, bottled water, work desk, iron/ironing board, coffee maker, dual line telephone and room service. Breathtaking ocean views greet you each morning as you immerse yourself in everything the Grand Lucayan and Grand Bahamas has to offer and you will return home with memories to last a lifetime.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 2 mi

Dining

China Beach Restaurant
Our chic China Beach restaurant offers a culinary tour of the Pacific Rim, with an appetizing menu inspired by the exotic flavors of Vietnam, Thailand, Korea, Indonesia and Malaysia. Specialties prepared by our talented chefs include mouth-watering sushi dishes and fresh Bahamian seafood. Imaginative and colorful Asian decor sees scarlet parasols doubling as chandeliers in a restaurant that seems to float above the resort's serpentine swimming pool. Cuisine: Pan-Pacific General Opening Hours: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm Dress Code: Smart-casual
Churchill's
Guests can enjoy a four-course dinner and live entertainment at Churchill's, a world-class restaurant featuring Mediterranean inspired cuisine, homemade pastas, succulent steaks and decadent desserts. House specialties include Lobster and Wild Mushroom Risotto, Veal Marsala and Veal Osso Bucco. Menu may vary. General Opening Hours: Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday: 7:00pm-11:00pm Grand Bar Opening Hours: Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday: 6:00pm - Midnight
Willy Broadleaf
Discover international cuisine that draws inspiration from India, Mexico, Africa, the Bahamas and the USA along with some other irresistible flavors. It's all served in inspiring surroundings that could find you seated in a Mexican courtyard or an African village. Enjoy a lavish buffet breakfast, with something for every taste. Plus don't miss our Champagne Brunch on Sundays and Bahamian Night on Fridays. General Opening Hours: Breakfast " 7:00am-10:30am Champagne Brunch Sundays " 12:00pm-4:00pm Bahamian Night Buffet - Fridays 6:00pm-10:00pm Dress Code: Casual Open for Lunch and Dinner on select nights.
Iries
The colonial-style restaurant that lets your taste buds experience various Caribbean cuisines with Bahamian influence. The restaurant is divided into rooms honoring the colors and character of Puerto Rico, Mexico, Cuba, Jamica, Trinidad & Tobago. General Opening Hours: Bar (only) Wednesday to Saturday from: 11:00am - 3:00pm Sunday to Tuesday from: 11:00am - 10:00pm
China Grill
Enjoy a quick snack or something more substantial at this outdoor grill. From an Asian chicken salad to a traditional hamburger or hot dog, there's sure to be something that'll hit the spot. This outlet is now cashless. You may easily sign all charges to your room. For day-pass holders, please visit the front desk or security check-point for additional information. General Opening Hours: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm Dinner: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday - from 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Havana Cay Lounge & Cigar Bar
Enjoy fine wines, ports and cigars in a setting like no other. A refined, mahogany entrance and dark wood tones welcome you inside, or you can take the air on the veranda overlooking the beach. A built-in humidor preserves a selection of the finest cigars from Cuba and the Dominican Republic. The perfect place to enjoy a nightcap and complete an unforgettable day. General Opening Hours: Daily: 5:00pm-12:00am
Plantation Cafe
The Plantation Caf offers a wide selection of freshly made pastries, sandwiches and luscious ice creams. With a relaxed atmosphere, it is the perfect place to enjoy a morning coffee. General Opening Hours: Daily: 6:00am-10:00pm
Hammerheads
Swim up or drop in. Hammerheads serves ice-cold beverages and snacks that you won't even have to leave the pool to enjoy. This outlet is now cashless. You may easily sign all charges to your room. For day-pass holders, please visit the front desk or security check-point for additional information. General Opening Hours: Daily 11:00am-6:00pm (Thursday & Friday - 11:00am-8:30pm for Movie Nights)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Lucayan Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tetuaria
Orlando, fl
Jul 15, 2014

greastest and safest location

Wonder place.nice that everything is right there that you need. Great view stayed on 7th floor and it was beautiful. check in and check out was a breeze no complaints there. when we checked in we asked if we could have a 6th floor or above and she definitely accommodated us with that. nice that the hotel has a storage for your luggage since we weren't leaving until 5 o'clock in the evening. the only thing that I would have like them to provide is transportation from the port taxis are very expensive cost of $35 each way. Weather was perfect even for july being hurricane season. Definitely recommend couples or family even with small children. Went with hubby next time we'll bring the kids. Hopethis.helps

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty pricey. No tax but a gratuity is 18%.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxin captain
Small town USA
Jul 12, 2014

Family vacation 2014

We took the express ferry from Fort Lauderdale to Freeport. The crossing was not bad to and from. The resort was Great! The staff and local people are very friendly. We had an ocean view(best view 3rd floor or higher.) The rooms were cleaned every day. Beware gratuity is included on almost every purchase. The market place has great restaurants. Overall, not the party all night kinda place... Family friendly, rest and relax by the pool or beach. I can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Small store by the pool has large bottle of water for $3. You will pay $2 for small bottle everywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernGirlChild
Dallas, TX
Jul 10, 2014

Pretty Good

I really like the Grand Lucayan I stayed in an Ocean view Suite on the 10th floor. The sunrises and sunsets were amazing! There were only a few draw backs for me. 1. Was the wait time. It is the Bahamas and no one is in a hurry for anything. At times it was ok. However waiting over 45 minutes for food is a bit much. 2. There are no microwaves in the room. In order to have a microwave you have to book a suite. 3. There wasn't a variety of food choices. There are a lot of American food items available but if you are looking for authentic Bahamian food you are limited. The Market Place is right across the street and have a variety of restaurants, shops, etc. There are a variety of activities. The beaches are clean. Everyone including the people in town are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be prepared to wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Allen
Aiken, SC
Jul 2, 2014

Perfect birthday get-away

We have visited Port Lucaya and the Grand Lucayan many times over the years by boat, but this was our first stay at the hotel. This was to celebrate a mile-stone birthday for my wife. There were the typical "island challenges"...they put us in a room that was already occupied; next room was the wrong type (no view, two beds), but management rose to the occasion and upgraded us to a suite on one of the top floors. Outstanding room, spectacular view. We'll book a suite next trip because it was so much better than the premium room that we originally booked. One has to remember that these are the "islands", and you must be prepared to deal with island issues with a good sense of humor. They ran out of beach & pool towels by mid-day everyday. No worries, just remember to bring bath towels from your room. When the bar runs out of your favorite brew, they are just out of it; no effort to re-supply until the next delivery arrives, maybe today, maybe tomorrow, maybe never! All part of the island experience. We are used to it and we love it. Many good restaurants in the Port Lucaya Marketplace to experience. Churchill's at the Grand Lucayan is the best of them all; truely 5-Star and not to be missed. Beach is perfect. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Most will go out of their way to satisfy you. Taxi rides are "exciting"! We will be staying at the Grand Lucayan next trip. Book a suite on the ocean side on one of the top 3 floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all of the small local restaurants in the marketplace area, but do not miss Churchill's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deerags
Grand Lucaya Hotel
Jul 1, 2014

Awesome Stay

I loved the in room dining. The bed was very comfortable & the pillows were awesome. I love the design of the headboard in the room. Also, the big human chest game was so interesting. Thanks for hooking me up with a great hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the long line to check in. It took about an hour. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the public bus to the international bazaar or anywhere, because it only cost $1.25 opposed to a $17 taxi cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cyndyg88
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 24, 2014

will definitely return!

Check in process was not efficient. Hotel is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

alot of nearby restaurants & entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jas bell
boca ratón, fl
Jun 24, 2014

the trip was ehh

When we first got to the hotel we had to wait an extra 5 hours before we could check in. The hotel was very disorganized, gave us the wrong room as well then we had to go all the way back down stairs and get a new room. Also they told me i cannot get my 100$ back that they supposedly keep on hold while we are there for another 30 days..pretty ridiculous.. didn't hate the trip but didn't love it either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

do NOT rent anything they take money out of your acct and put it on hold for 30 days ridiculous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HWBJ
St. Louis
Jun 23, 2014

Great Trip

This was our 4th stay at this hotel over the last 5 years and probably our best experience yet. It is an older hotel so everything isn't shiny and new but lots of stuff has been upgraded and the hotel has been well maintained. We received good service throughout the hotel and it seems this is an area that has improved a bit since our last visit. The location = Excellent Beach & Pools = Excellent Rooms = Very Good (clean, comfortable but not luxurious) Casino = Fair (The casino is pretty small and rarely ever crowded from my experience. Not many good machines, payouts not too good, only 1 craps table, 1 or 2 roulette and a few blackjack tables. Definitely needs improvement.) Service = Very Good ***Grand Bahama Island has always seemed to have a different attitude and service level from Nassau. On this trip it just seemed that there was a trend toward even better service everywhere we went on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irishgirl3
St. Louis, Missouri
Jun 9, 2014

Summer Vacay

The resort was a nice distance from the airport, not too long, and the beach and resort itself was beautiful. Everything was clean and the people were all very polite and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take bus to local grocery store for food, snacks, drinks, suntan lotion, etc. It's much cheaper than buying on the resort since it was not all inclusive for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Lucayan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rmemedic
Huntsville, Alabama
May 25, 2014

Grand Lucayan Resort

Beautiful location with lots of beach & swimming pools. Many restaurants to choose from as well. Can't wait to go back on our anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zorn as Restaurant, great food cheap prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search