$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Dundee Bay Villas

3 stars
20 Dundee Bay Drive, Freeport, F-42690
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
13 reviews
Quiet & Comfortable

Our stay was wonderful. The Villa is set just far away from Freeport to be almost secluded, but a... See full review

  • Norsefam
  • Mar 30, 2014
Awesome little vacation

Loved our stay and the staff was super nice. It's literally on the beach. The beach is beautiful... See full review

  • Endlessly Traveling
  • Jul 8, 2013
Centrally and conveniently located in Freeport, on the beautiful Grand Bahama Island, Dundee Bay Villas offers a modern taste of the Caribbean Island lifestyle with all the comforts of home.

Located just 100 yards from Xanadu/Princess Isles white sandy beach and backs onto the canal waterway, each 1-2 and 3 bedroom units have full kitchens as well as front and back porch/balcony. Each unit has its own Jacuzzi to relax and enjoy in after a fun filled day of island activities. Studio units are also available.

Take a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool while enjoying a pool side bar-b-que or try your hand at fishing right off the canal. For your comfort and convenience we offer fee High Speed Wireless Internet service and free parking. Front desk staff is always ready to assist with any questions. We are certain Dundee Bay Villas is the perfect place for your vacation in paradise

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dundee Bay Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Dundee Bay Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Unit
1 Bedroom Villas features a front and back porch for you to enjoy the crisp ocean breezes. Includes a cozy living room with a separate dining area and a Jacuzzi tub in bedroom. Kitchen is fully equipped. Bedding includes queen bed/queen sleeper sofa and sleeps up to 4 guests.
2 Bedroom Condo
2 Bedroom villa features gorgeous ocean views, a Jacuzzi tub in master bedroom, and two porches. It has a cozy living room with separate dining room and fully equipped kitchen. Bedding includes queen bed/queen sleeper sofa/twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 guests.
3 Bedroom Condo
3 bedroom villa has 4 balconies, 2 facing the ocean and 2 facing the canal. This villa also features fully equipped kitchen and a Jacuzzi in the master bedroom. Bedding includes king/queen/twins/queen sleeper sofa. It can sleep up to 8 guests.
Studio
The Studio villa features a private balcony, internet access, TV, DVD player and fully equipped kitchen. Bedding includes queen bed. It sleeps up to 2 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 3.6 mi

Dining

Restaurants
Wide array of local and fine dining restaurants within 1 to 5 miles of the property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Dundee Bay Villas

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clarkht
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great family getaway

The staff was very accommodating and very informative. The place is very quiet and only a few minutes from Port Lucaya the cab fare was there was very reasonable. I would reccommend this place to anyone and I am already scheduling my next trip back and I will be staying at the same place. The beach across the street is beautiful and the canal behind the hotel was just as beautiful. This hotel has a very homey feeling and ANYTHING you need the staff will do their best to accommodate. I cannot say enough about how nice they are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get snacks at the grocery store and eat at the local spots. It will save you a lot of money instead of eating at the tourist restaurants at the port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rose N
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 19, 2013

Highly Recommended

Clean, peaceful, terrific staff. Main disadvantage is no restaurants nearby, however, rooms have kitchens, you can order home cooked meals, and they had a barbeque for the guests while we were there. We will stay there again on future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
king867
Business
windsor, ontario
Mar 28, 2013

Perfect idea of relaxation

Our family lives a stressful life, of constant busyness and work. Taking time off for a couples of weeks was the perfect thing we needed. We chose Dundee Bay because of its great price, and we loved how the resort was so relaxing, that we forgot any of our worries as soon as we arrived. The pool area was great with a fantastic view of the canal, and some nice looking homes across from it. The kids were able to snorkel at the beach in front the resort, which seemed to be a very wide. We also had a great time trying out the authentic Bahamian food at some of the nearby restaurants. Our overall stay was great and would recommend it to any body.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Endlessly Traveling
Business
FL
Jul 8, 2013

Awesome little vacation

Loved our stay and the staff was super nice. It's literally on the beach. The beach is beautiful and one of the least crowded beaches on the island. The villas have a pool in case you don't like the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norsefam
Business
CA
Mar 30, 2014

Quiet & Comfortable

Our stay was wonderful. The Villa is set just far away from Freeport to be almost secluded, but a two minute drive brings you right back. The staff was very welcoming and helpfull. There is a great beach right across the street, and the staff had beach equipment for us to borrow. Our room was much more than we expected. It was essentially a two bedroom apartment with two patios. When we walked in we thought it was a mistake, I asked twice if it was really ours at the price we paid. Granted it was an upgrade, but that choice was made before we even arrived. The pool, while small, is just right for kids to splash about in while using the gas or charcoal grill provided. Bottom line, whenever we come back to the Grand Bahamas, this will be our first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 9, 2010

Best Place, Highly Recommend

This place was amazing, the location and closeness to the Xanadu beach.No complaints. Water was crystal clear and the beach is very private. if want to try cheap and local food.... try native way or beckys, located on right hand side on the way towards lucaya marketplace from international Bazaar. If want to cook sea food then get crabs, lobster tails and snappers for cheap on Queens highway. For groceries go to Saywers fresh market at longwood dr. Scooters cost $40 which you can ride 9am to 5pm. To keep overnight for few days, it cost me $180 for 4 days. Rent it at Lucaya Marketplace, the scooters are good there. International bazaar is no good but Lucaya marketplace seems to be interesting but personally I dint like that much. If you want relaxing private time at the beach and a good place to stay then this is perfect place. Highly recommand Dundee Bay Villas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Native Way and Becky

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belle Vivante
Business
New Orleans, LA
Apr 1, 2013

Home away From Home in Freeport :)

First thing to understand, this is not a hotel, it is a villa. A villa means a fully outfitted apartment, which makes it perfect for families, groups of friends, or self-sufficient couples. However, if you are expecting an all-inclusive hotel or even an on-site restaurant, you are wrong. I loved my 5 days here! My boyfriend and I stayed here and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment, which gave us tons of space. The staff were incredible and gave us a ride to the nearest grocery so we could stock up our kitchen. The villas are overlooking a gorgeous canal with turquoise water where you can actually fish. Fishing poles and bait are available to you for free. Then literally across the street (aka 45 second walk) is the gorgeous Xanadu beach. This beach is very secluded and you will only see other Dundee Bay Villa folks there. The villas have sun chairs, flippers, goggles, and umbrellas that you can borrow which makes the beach like your second home. The pool on Dundees property is beautiful but we didn't actually swim in it because the beach was so irresistible. Tips on Freeport, rent a car! You must be 25 to rent, which we were not, which meant we were stuck cabbing most everywhere. A cab from the airport to Dundee Bay Villas should only cost about $18, more and you're being ripped off. A cab from Dundee Bay to Port Lucaya Market should be around $14/$16. Port Lucaya is fun and super touristy so when you are sick of isolation, head over there. If you arrive late, most food places are closed. Luckily, we made friends with a guy who drove us to the Pepper Pot which is a fabulous little 24/7 food store off the main highway. It was only $2.25 for a heaping amount of mac n cheese. Overall, great place to stay if you are looking to save money, cook for yourself, and enjoy a peaceful beach. If you are looking for more nightlife/activities, stay here and use the money you save to cab to Lucaya and drink/dance, do watersports over there. Highly recommend, and will absolutely stay there when I come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The International Bazaar is a short little jot from Dundee Bay Villas, however, this bazaar is sadly a ghost town. I say, skip it all together, but do stop at the Perfume Factory which is behind the Bazaar. The factory has a short 10 minute tour of where the perfume is made and is a nice diversion from sunbathing and drinking all day. From Dundee Bay you could bike there (the villa has bikes you can borrow).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midlothian, VA
Jun 2, 2009

Second Home

These are nice units that are very nice and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. There is a nice beach across the street. It is also at a end so there is not a lot of traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville TN
Jun 17, 2010

Great spot

We swam with the dolphins, snorkeled, went to port lacaya to shop and eat. The fish Fry on Wednesday was fun. Drove to the port where the cruise ships come in, the resturante was expensive but good. You are never more than 10 - 15 minutes away from anything on the island at Dundee Bay Villa.The staff was warm and helpful. We watched the sunrise and set from the back patio. Fed the fish on the back patio everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The international market place is close and much cheaper than port Lacaya. Go there first for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whydo Ineedanickname
Business
Ohio
Jan 9, 2014

Adequate

I had a studio on the second floor, with a kitchenette and balcony facing toward the beach. Could've used a coat of paint, and the bathroom was disappointing. The refrigerator smelled terrible, in spite of a box of baking soda. Front door barely locked (no deadbolt), which is ok I guess given the remote location. A few positives: The beach is literally only 100 yards away. Very quiet, on a dead end street so no through traffic. Air conditioning worked well, which was useful because of the humidity more than the temperature. Only stay here if you have a car - there is nothing within walking distance except the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top