$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

3 stars
42629 East Mall Drive, Freeport, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
6 reviews
Had an enjoyable evening

Value for the money, great location, staff was very accommodating and helpful. Internet was a... See full review

  • Delvin
  • Mar 2, 2014
Thanksgiving trip

Family vacation Great place to spend the holiday. Lucayan marketplacewas a wonderful place to start... See full review

  • grandmother 01
  • Dec 1, 2013
Castaways Resort and Suites, a Magnuson hotels affiliate, offers guests a choice of 118 rooms and suites decorated in modern Caribbean flair. The hotel is located near Freeport Harbor and is the closest full service hotel to the Grand Bahamas Shipyard and Vopak Oil Storage Facility. Freeport Town center and the Rand Memorial Hospital are within 1 mile. The Grand Bahamas International Airport is also nearby.Guest enjoy comfortable accommodations in rooms with private balconies, cozy beds and all amenities that make a perfect stay: air-conditioning, cable TV, free high speed wireless Internet access, direct dial telephones, iron and board, blow dryer, clock radio with MP3 attachment, in room safe, coffee maker and refrigerator. Business guests will find a fully-equipped business center, and meeting space in the Poinciana Boardroom, which can accommodate groups up to 50 theater style, and 35 persons classroom style.Hotel amenities available for all guests include 24 hour front desk service and security, the Dolphin Gym with state of the art equipment, health club, large outdoor fresh water pool, free transportation to the beach, reading room, laundry service, babysitting service and cribs, mini childrens playground and free parking. A Tour Desk is conveniently located in the lobby, where guests can book tours of the area.Guests can dine at Flamingo Restaurant, which offers delicious Bahamian and American dishes. Sandwiches and drinks are served at The Flamingo Pool.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island Rooms

1 King Bed Nonsmoking
1 King Bed Nonsmoking Free internet, mini fridge, in room safe, clock radio with MP3 player, hair dryer, coffee maker, air conditioning, international direct dial phone, 25 inch television, iron and board.
2 Double Beds Nonsmoking
2 Double beds with Free internet, mini fridge, in room safe, clock radio with MP3 player, hair dryer, coffee maker, air conditioning, international direct dial phone, 25 inch television, iron and board.
King Suite with Sofa bed
King Suite with Sofa bed, Microwave and Mini Fridge, DVD and VCR player, Free internet, mini fridge, in room safe, clock radio with MP3 player, hair dryer, coffee maker, air conditioning, international direct dial phone, 25 inch television, iron and board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Small meeting room to accommodate up to 50 people comfortably.

Dining

Flamingo Restaurant
The Flamingo Restaurant offers mouth watering Bahamian and American dishes and sandwiches and drinks are served at the Flamingo Pool Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Commander112
Business
Clearwater, FL
May 7, 2012

Nice place to stay if you want to be near downtown Freeport.

Amenities were average, but the staff was excellent. If you have business in downtown Freeport, it would be a great place to stay. It would be nice if they had coffee available in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save some money on transportation,There are a few places to eat within walking didstance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grandmother 01
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 1, 2013

Thanksgiving trip

Family vacation Great place to spend the holiday. Lucayan marketplacewas a wonderful place to start our holiday shopping. While I noticed a lot of deferred maintenance,the people there were absolutely delightful. I will return as soon as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Rainier
May 27, 2008

My review of Best Western Castaways Resort & Suites

The Best Western Castaways in Freeport, was ok for my first trip to the Bahamas, however, I do not plan on staying there again. Although the hotel is only a short ride from the airport, it is not close to the only touristy area that the island offers-Port Lucaya. The hotel room had a wierd smell to it, which we noticed the first day we checked in and it never left throughout our 6 day stay there. The hotel unfortunately is also close to a nightclub of some sort, and although when we checked in we were told that we were to be given a room where we would not be able to hear the pulsating music, alas it was not so. Our first night there, we were awaken to loud music and laughter, from the nearby club. The hotel Restaurant, which is located on the property, does not offer enough local dishes, instead most items served are American in nature. If I wanted to eat an American breakfast, I would have stayed home! The staff at the Best Western as well as all Bahamians we met during our stay, were all very helpful and friendly, which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To the right of the hotel, there was a bar that served lunch all day and made the best Fish Burger. Also try the local beer Kalik.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alberta, Canada
Dec 7, 2009

Freeport Stay

A fine hotel on a layover,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Resh Hesitant Traveler
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 21, 2009

Relaxing Serenity

The staff was friendly and accommodating. I was there for a family funeral, so I didn't spend much time at the hotel, but the time I spent there was relaxing. Cable TV was available, but also local Island channels. There was a door man at all times (even late night). Very cool room (which is important in the summer). This was an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castaways Resort and Suites Grand Bahama Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delvin
Business
Nassau, The Bahamas
Mar 2, 2014

Had an enjoyable evening

Value for the money, great location, staff was very accommodating and helpful. Internet was a little slow. But overall a great experience. Will definitely be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to great fast food locations Wendy's, KFC,, Pollo Tropical, Burger king to name a few all within a 2 to 5 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top