$244 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Hotel Sacher Salzburg

5 stars
Schwarzstrasse 5-7, Salzburg, 5020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
13 reviews
Brilliant

Hotel was perfect. Great location, Staff treated you like royalty. Every staff member remembered my... See full review

  • Jamezz
  • Oct 9, 2013
Nice traditional furnished hotel

Was there on my anniversary. Hotel was nicely decorated with the more traditional feel of furniture... See full review

  • MCJ holiday
  • Oct 27, 2013
The Hotel Sacher Salzburg, opened in 1866,is a grand, historic hotel situated in the city centre on the banks of the Salzach River with magnificent views of the old town of Salzburg. The privately owned deluxe hotel combines elegant luxury and tradition with the highest standard of service. After a major refurbishment the entire hotel has been upgraded to the most up-to-date technological standards, all 113 rooms and suites are individually decorated with original paintings, antiques, precious rugs and silk wallpaper. The hotel amenities are: airport transfer (on request), baby sitting service, banquet facilities, bar, business center, concierge, conference facilities, currency exchange, disabled facilities, doctor on call, dry cleaning, gift shop, gym / fitness facilities, internet access high-speed, internet access wireless, laundry service, lift / elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities at cost, pets allowed (at cost), reception, restaurant, room service, room service 24 hrs, safe deposit box, secretarial services, spa services (massage, facial, steam room, etc.), solarium (at charge), tour desk. Free access to health club with sauna, steam bath and fitness area, chocolate pralines and Original Sacher-Cube as welcome gift in room upon arrival. Buffet breakfast: euro 31 per person and day. Pets allowed: euro 25 per day (including fodder). Extra bed: euro 69 per day

Hotel Map

47.8022 13.0431
Area served
Salzburg.
Nearby airports
SZG - W.A. Mozart Airport; MUC - Franz-Josef-Strauss International Airport; VIE - Vienna International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the heart of the city on the quiet banks of the river Salzach, the Hotel Sacher Salzburg is the city's Grand Hotel, offering an impressive view of the historic town and fortress.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Sacher Salzburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Sacher Salzburg Rooms

Standard Double Room
The Standard Double Room (20-25 sqm) offers one double or two twin beds with air conditioning (individually adjustable), alarm clock, balcony / terrace (partially), bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite tv, color TV, disabled facilities, dvd player (on request), ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access (wireless lan), laundry service, mini bar, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, valet service, voicemail.
Superior Double Room
The Superior Double Room (20-30 sqm) offers one double bed or one twin beds with air conditioning (individually adjustable), alarm clock, balcony / terrace (partially), bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite tv, color TV, disabled facilities, dvd player (on request), ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access (wireless lan), laundry service, mini bar, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, valet service, voicemail.
Deluxe Double Room
The Deluxe Double Room (30-35 sqm) offers one double bed or one twin beds with air conditioning (individually adjustable), alarm clock, balcony / terrace (partially), bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite tv, color TV, disabled facilities, dvd player (on request), ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access (wireless lan), laundry service, mini bar, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, valet service, voicemail.
Top Deluxe Double Room
The Top Deluxe Double Room (35-40 sqm) offers one double bed or one twin beds with air conditioning (individually adjustable), alarm clock, balcony / terrace (partially), bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite tv, color TV, disabled facilities, dvd player (on request), ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access (wireless lan), laundry service, mini bar, modem / data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone, valet service, voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Mozart Geburtshaus: 0.2 mi
  • Haus der Natur: 0.2 mi
  • Salzburg Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Peter's Abbey: 0.4 mi
  • New Town: 0.4 mi
  • Salzburg Old Town: 0.4 mi
  • Hohensalzburg Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Mirabell Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Salzburg Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Kapuzinerberg: 0.8 mi
  • Schloss Leopoldskron: 0.9 mi
  • Hangar-7: 1.8 mi
  • EUROPARK: 2 mi
  • Red Bull Arena: 2.4 mi
  • Hellbrunn Castle: 2.9 mi
  • Mozart Geburtshaus: 0.2 mi
  • Haus der Natur: 0.2 mi
  • Salzburg Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Peter's Abbey: 0.4 mi
  • New Town: 0.4 mi
  • Salzburg Old Town: 0.4 mi
  • Hohensalzburg Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Mirabell Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Salzburg Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Kapuzinerberg: 0.8 mi
  • Schloss Leopoldskron: 0.9 mi
  • Hangar-7: 1.8 mi
  • EUROPARK: 2 mi
  • Red Bull Arena: 2.4 mi
  • Hellbrunn Castle: 2.9 mi
  • Salzburg Zoo: 3.2 mi
  • Hellbrunn Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Untersberg: 7.7 mi

Dining

Salzachgrill
Restaurant "Salzachgrill": the popular Salzachgrill offers specialities from the charcoal grill, to be enjoyed in casual atmosphere. In the summer months the ideal place to have dinner or lunch "al fresco".
Roter Salon
Restaurant "Roter Salon": the Roter Salon, fashioned in the architecture of the Biedermeier epoche, is situated on the promenade of the Salzach river.
Sacher Bar
Sacher Bar: the ultimate bar with live piano music is the perfect place for a drink before or after dinner. Cafe Sacher Salzburg: enjoy the Original Sacher-Torte with a cup of Original Sacher coffee in a typical Austrian "coffee-house"atmosphere with an elegant touch.
Zirbelzimmer
Restaurant "Zirbelzimmer" with terrace: the wooden panelled Zirbelzimmer with its artistically carved ceiling is unique in Salzburg and a favourite meeting place for gourmets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 13
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
5
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCJ holiday
Malaysia
Oct 27, 2013

Nice traditional furnished hotel

Was there on my anniversary. Hotel was nicely decorated with the more traditional feel of furniture which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamezz
Sydney NSW, Australia
Oct 9, 2013

Brilliant

Hotel was perfect. Great location, Staff treated you like royalty. Every staff member remembered my name and my wife's name the whole visit, right from when we got out of the car till the time we departed. Greeted every time we came in. Made to feel important. Room was fantastic. Food perfect. easy walk to the old town across the bridge right at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abe Gi
Mex, Mx
Jul 4, 2013

Great time in Sacher Hotel.

The only thing the hotel needs is to upgrade their exercise equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DK Traveler
San Francisco, CA
Oct 5, 2012

Nice historic hotel

Room was very nice, staff friendly and responsive. Locations was very good next to the river, but do not expect a room with a view. They wanted an additional 700 euros per night to move to a room overlooking the old city. I think there are better options for the price so the value of this hotel is average at best even though the hotel is very nice, just overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are great hotels for less.

Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boleador
Ankara Province/Ankara, Turkey
Sep 22, 2012

Great Hotel

The location, staff, and service we're all great. The rooms are LARGE, even for their smallest room. The hotel has a pedestrian bridge at their back door that leads right into the old town - couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toxoman
New York City
Sep 24, 2011

A Classic Hotel for a Classic City

I got a good deal on this hotel through Orbitz and found the prices reasonable, especially after my stay in the ever-expensive city of Munich. This hotel is grand and part of the landscape of Salzburg, plus it shares its name with the grand-dame hotel of Vienna. I think that staying here enhanced my experience of Salzburg. It was a treat to check into a formal hotel like this one after two nights in a small hotel in down-town Munich. I very much appreciated the valet service, the bell men, and concierge service which I used to book two great tickets to an intimate Baroque music recital in the Mirabell Palace. Surprisingly, some of the desk staff were not very proficient in English, but almost everyone spoke enough to get by and they were patient and nice when I mangled their language. The room was quiet and well laid-out although the decor was a bit disappointing and the carpet a little worn. There was also a crack in the wall and I could occasionally hear children running in the room above me. But, these are the "charms" of older hotels and we found everything clean and comfortable. The closets were well designed and the room safe was larger than most. There was a nice plate of chocolate truffles and two mini Sacher Torts waiting upon arrival - a very sweet touch. Outside the room, the great atrium was very much what one expects to find in a hotel of this caliber, but the hallways and elevators were postered with corporate advertisements for other hotels in their chain. This was a bit tacky. The bathroom was the real joy here - large, modern and well-lit. There were large towels and even wash-rags (rare in Europe). The robes were plush and turn-down service included slippers and foot-mats beside the bed. The large windows opened to let in the fresh river air, but closed tightly enough at night so that no noise came in from outside. They even had air-conditioning! My only complaint was that the mattresses were just too hard for me and I could not sleep on my side without my back getting sore. I did not use any of the hotel amenities except for the parking service and the concierge desk. I understand that there area couple of restaurants and a health club on the premises. The hotel is literally right over the river from the old town - a 5 minute walk - and it felt great to walk back towards it over the river each night for a good night's sleep. I definitely recommend this hotel if you can get a good deal on the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Eagle's Nest and Lake Konigsee are a half hour or so away by car and it is a beautiful drive. Make a day-trip by driving to see both of them.

Review of Hotel Sacher Salzburg

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew R
Durham City, England
Aug 14, 2011

A perfect stay

While touring Europe we stayed in some of the best hotels but my wife and I agreed that this hotel was the best. It is perfect in every way! The location is excellent as are the rooms and the staff. Would we return to this hotel................you bet we will. A great experience that should be tried by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search