$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Hotel Goldenes Theater

4 stars
View map of Schallmoser Hauptstrasse 13, Salzburg, 5020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
10 reviews
A beautiful place to stay close to the old city

The staff were friendly and helpful, pointing out which parts of the city to see as well as giving... See full review

  • Canadian student
  • Oct 10, 2014
Comfortable and convenient but noisy

The rooms were clean and comfortable. But the hotel is on a very busy and noisy street. The lighted... See full review

  • Traveller 123
  • Sep 22, 2014
Welcome to Salzburg. The Comfortable Hotel in the heart of the & quot Mozart's town&quot, Salzburg. Hotel offer confortable and quiet rooms along with a rich breakfast buffet included in the room rate, served from 7.00 to 10.30 AM. Parking is available in the blue parking zones directly on the street of the hotel. The parking hours are Monday through Friday from 9.00 AM- 19.00 PM (1 Euro per hour /max. every 3 hours) Outside of these hours Parking is free ( from 19.00 PM-9.00 AM) Saturdays parking costs also stand but only between 4 PM- 9.00 AM Monday. Sundays and National Holidays Parking is for free. Another option for parking is in the Garage at 14.00 Euros per day (24hrs).

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Goldenes Theater also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Goldenes Theater Rooms

SINGLE - ROOM
All our rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower or bathtub, toilet, hair drier, radio, large mirror, cable television with remote control, desk, safe, direct-dial telephone, fully-stocked mini bar and free wireless internet connection, also available in the lobby along with use of hotel computers.
DOUBLE - ROOM
All our rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower or bathtub, toilet, hair drier, radio, large mirror, cable television with remote control, desk, safe, direct-dial telephone, fully-stocked mini bar and free wireless internet connection, also available in the lobby along with use of hotel computers.
TRIPPLE - ROOM
All our rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower or bathtub, toilet, hair drier, radio, large mirror, cable television with remote control, desk, safe, direct-dial telephone, fully-stocked mini bar and free wireless internet connection, also available in the lobby along with use of hotel computers.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Salzburg Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • New Town: 0.4 mi
  • St Peter's Abbey: 0.4 mi
  • Kapuzinerberg: 0.5 mi
  • Mozart Geburtshaus: 0.6 mi
  • Salzburg Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Mirabell Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Haus der Natur: 0.7 mi
  • Hohensalzburg Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Salzburg Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Schloss Leopoldskron: 1.2 mi
  • EUROPARK: 2.2 mi
  • Hangar-7: 2.2 mi
  • Red Bull Arena: 2.6 mi
  • Hellbrunn Castle: 3 mi
  • Salzburg Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • New Town: 0.4 mi
  • St Peter's Abbey: 0.4 mi
  • Kapuzinerberg: 0.5 mi
  • Mozart Geburtshaus: 0.6 mi
  • Salzburg Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Mirabell Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Haus der Natur: 0.7 mi
  • Hohensalzburg Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Salzburg Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Schloss Leopoldskron: 1.2 mi
  • EUROPARK: 2.2 mi
  • Hangar-7: 2.2 mi
  • Red Bull Arena: 2.6 mi
  • Hellbrunn Castle: 3 mi
  • Salzburg Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Hellbrunn Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Untersberg: 8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Goldenes Theater

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diane F.
Business
Carlisle
Jan 17, 2015

disappointed

The hotel itself is okay. Salzburg is a small city, basically you can walk anywhere. But the front desk staff in the hotel is very rude and not helpful at all. We checked in late around 6pm. Unfortunately we had a problem with our room lock. I asked the front desk staff if we can switch to another room. The answer I got was that I could find another hotel if I did not like it, which it was what we did the second day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian student
Business
Hamburg, Germany
Oct 10, 2014

A beautiful place to stay close to the old city

The staff were friendly and helpful, pointing out which parts of the city to see as well as giving us useful tips on where to park our rental car. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. You should just know that you have to use your room key to turn the power on in the room - so if you want to charge your phone while you're out you'll need another plan. The breakfast buffet was delicious with many different options - I definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 123
Business
San Leandro, California
Sep 22, 2014

Comfortable and convenient but noisy

The rooms were clean and comfortable. But the hotel is on a very busy and noisy street. The lighted hotel sign was just outside our window and was extremely bright, but they do turn it off around midnight and there are heavy curtains that can block the light. The breakfast was only average. The location is great. It is an easy walk to the old town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MGFL
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 1, 2014

Convenient but Hidden charges

We stayed in a Triple Room which was very spacious and bright. Beds were clean, but walls and shower needed cleaning. Hotel is easy to get to by car, however no long term parking outside. Parking garage is down the street at 14 Euro/day. Hotel is just outside pedestrian only area. Easy to walk to center. Convenient store across the street. Room price does not include A/C. They charge per day for A/C. You can leave window open for air, but very noisy due to heavy traffic. Mini fridge in room was nice, but didn't keep items very cold. Usual cold cut, cereal, bread and yogurt breakfast. Small bar/meeting area in lobby. Rushed service from most staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Center is easy to get to, but it does involve some walking. Funicular is discounted after 7:00pm. Beautiful views from the top.

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scilla
Business
London
Nov 12, 2013

Easy transport links

On a good bus route or easy to walk in to the centre of city. Staff helpful, spoke perfect English and facilitated trips out. I loved my room; simple unfussy and clean. Facilities were very good. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Provo Traveler
Business
Provo, Ut
Apr 1, 2013

Great place to stay in Salzburg

The room was fantastic, we were upgraded to an apartment with two bedrooms. The location was great with a short five to seven minute walk to the old town. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast couldn't be better, we will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scilla
Business
London
Aug 31, 2012

Very Impressed

Staff were always helpful, and spoke impeccable English. Breakfast was varied and very good quality; the freshly baked Rye bread could not be bettered. It is very close to a bus stop - cheap buses go straight to the centre, on a direct route to the old town. Could walk there if you did not use crutches as I do. Would certainly return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is so much to see and do; really varied possibilities. I went for the music, and it was excellent. I visited the amazing mountains, and unfortunately did not have time for the Natural History Museum. Saltzburg has the feel of a small market town. Lovely unhurried atmosphere.

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
An American in Salzburg
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2012

OK but will not use again

On a loud main street, we could either close the windows and suffer the heat or open the windows and hear the traffic. Breakfast was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Sep 29, 2010

Friendly and convenient

Sightseeing in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Goldenes Theater

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
60 years young
Business
Chicago USA
Jul 21, 2010

No airconditioner

It is relatively far from train station- more then 2km especially, if you have a suitcase. We were there on a hot day - 35c and there was no airconditioner in the hotel. Shower place is small eventhough the bethroom size is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top