$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

4 stars
View map of Kaigasse 33, Salzburg, 5010

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
19 reviews
Fantastic stay

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner during a visit to Salzburg and surrounding areas. The... See full review

  • Joshua J.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Great location, historic hotel.

Slightly difficult to find when I used the local bus system to get there, but the location is... See full review

  • caseyvee
  • Oct 23, 2014
Hotel Kasererbraeu is a 4* hotel full of tradition in the old city of Salzburg. House built in 1342, listed for preservation, carefully renovated. The rooms are partly furnished in a traditional way, partly in a modern style. Last renovation was in 2008. Antiques and design elements mark the atmosphere of the room. 45 rooms, apartments and suites. Lobby bar and breakfast restaurant, caf, Pizzeria, Bar. Private car parking and garages. Sauna, steam bath, massages and Cinema (Mozart Kino) are available. The hotel provides amenities like bar, business centre, concierge service, doctor on call, internet access-wireless, internet access- high speed, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities-at cost, pets allowed- 8-without food, reception, restaurant, safe deposit box, smoke free hotel, spa service, solarium and own cinema. Parking costs 15EUR p. day

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu Rooms

Double Room Superior
Room with one double bed includes bath / WC or shower/ WC, hair dryer, cosmetic mirror, telephone, cable TV, internet access available, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, ensuite / Private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, mini bar-party, modern/date power connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, safe in room -party, telephone and voicemail.
Single Room
Room with one double bed includes bath / WC or shower/ WC, hair dryer, cosmetic mirror, telephone, cable TV, internet access available, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, ensuite / Private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, non-smoking rooms, radio, telephone.
Double Room Standard
Room with one double bed includes bath / WC or shower/ WC, hair dryer, cosmetic mirror, telephone, cable TV, internet access available, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, ensuite / Private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access,non-smoking rooms, radio, telephone
Double Suite
The suite is a large room of approx. 40 m with separated living and bedroom on two floors. It features a balcony with a wonderful view of the fortress and of the city center of Salzburg. Amenities: Minibar Safety Deposit Box for free Telephone Hairdryer Balcony Radio Desk Seating Area Fan Toilet Bathroom Heating Satellite Channels Flat-screen TV Sofa Wake-up service Wardrobe/Closet Mountain view Hypoallergenic City view Towels for free

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Hohensalzburg Castle: 0.1 mi
  • Salzburg Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • St Peter's Abbey: 0.2 mi
  • Mozart Geburtshaus: 0.3 mi
  • Haus der Natur: 0.5 mi
  • Kapuzinerberg: 0.5 mi
  • Schloss Leopoldskron: 0.6 mi
  • Salzburg Old Town: 0.7 mi
  • New Town: 0.8 mi
  • Salzburg Central Station: 0.9 mi
  • Mirabell Palace: 1 mi
  • Hangar-7: 1.9 mi
  • EUROPARK: 2.4 mi
  • Hellbrunn Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Salzburg Zoo: 2.7 mi
  • Hohensalzburg Castle: 0.1 mi
  • Salzburg Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • St Peter's Abbey: 0.2 mi
  • Mozart Geburtshaus: 0.3 mi
  • Haus der Natur: 0.5 mi
  • Kapuzinerberg: 0.5 mi
  • Schloss Leopoldskron: 0.6 mi
  • Salzburg Old Town: 0.7 mi
  • New Town: 0.8 mi
  • Salzburg Central Station: 0.9 mi
  • Mirabell Palace: 1 mi
  • Hangar-7: 1.9 mi
  • EUROPARK: 2.4 mi
  • Hellbrunn Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Salzburg Zoo: 2.7 mi
  • Red Bull Arena: 2.8 mi
  • Hellbrunn Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Untersberg: 7.4 mi

Dining

Balthazar
The Trattoria Domani and the Cafe Sezession all in the same building invite you to stay and spend a pleasant evening. A direct access to the hotel is possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ianf
Business
London
May 10, 2012

5 night stay

Very friendly, helpful and good value' good breakfast excellent TV and room 104 very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

good service and food

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy Stanton
Business
Louisville, Ky
May 27, 2013

Loved it1

Extremely good location. No complaints about anything, except one. the bed was really a box spring with no mattress. But we solved the problem by asking for additional comforters. we sleep on top of one comforter and used the over as the blanket. Problem solved!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops and restaurants right around the corner and across the street. Perfect!

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grizzland
Business
Papa, Hungary
Jul 20, 2010

Downtown in Salzburg

We had a great time in Salzburg and what made it extra special was the location of our hotel! Everything was within walking distance from our room. And we didn't have to call a cab once in the 4 days we were there. The many tours that we did have, the hotel was on the pickup list for a major tour company. Even the walk from the drop off point was only a short 1km to the hotel. The mornings were a bit noisy because all the businesses were getting supplies in for the coming day. Also, if you don't like bells, this may not be the hotel room for you as there are at least 5 churches in the area that "do" bells every 15 mins. It was magical!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The most fun we had was the Augustine Monk's Brew House. From Old Town Salzburg walk through the shopping district, into the pedestrian passage to the left and another 1/2 km to the brew house on the right.( #33 on the Salzburg map ) It's a HUGE beer garden and this is were the town's people hang out. pay your 2.80 Euro, grab a 1/2 liter mug and have it filled by the kegsman. find a chair at any of the 4 halls or out on the grounds and have fun with the people around. There are all nationalities here. We meet up with a great Aussie couple and laughed the night away! What a great time!

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danters
Business
Waterford , Ireland
Sep 7, 2014

Salzburg getaway

Was overwhelmed but the 3 different staff members I met at the desk at different times . Ever smiling and always willing to help. I just loved this hotel and the restaurant staff were amazing too with top quality food. This hotel should be listed as a tourist attraction itself. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat in the hotel as it has some great food with great staff . Value for money too

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caseyvee
Business
tidewater, va
Oct 23, 2014

Great location, historic hotel.

Slightly difficult to find when I used the local bus system to get there, but the location is actually prime, once you get to know everything around it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joshua J.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Fantastic stay

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner during a visit to Salzburg and surrounding areas. The location is excellent, right in the old town, just a stones throw away from main square and cathedral, local shops just opposite. Room itself was great, clean, tidy, modern but was lacking a kettle, however just gave the reception a quick call and a kettle was brought to us within 1 minute! The staff here will go out of their way to do anything for you, I cannot rate them highly enough. The spa area was good also, however the steam room was 'not functioning' but we were not to bothered as we spent the majority of the time in the sauna. Another plus was that the hotel was pretty quiet, so it we always had the whole spa area to ourselves. Morning breakfast was delightful, a good selection of food and drinks which were all presented well. We definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to visit Salzburg.. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RICKY
Business
YORKSHIRE , ENGLAND
Apr 5, 2009

QUIRKY BUT FRIENDLY!

We made two one night stops here and the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful both times. Very well situated in the old part of Salzburg the hotel is a bit 'unusual/quirky' because it has a cinema on site and the Bar is part of/next to Reception (and Reception staff serve you). There is 24 hour cover on reception too which was impressive. If you want an evening meal in - house there is a nice Italian next door, also part of the hotel building and reachable from inside, handy when it was raining! The two rooms we stopped in were very different to each other - one (219) was big and modern with no window to speak of, but had a biggish modern bathroom and despite being next to the lift we never heard it. The second (215) was in the front of the hotel, much more traditionally Austrian, with two big windows onto the front (still quiet though!) but a much smaller bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean. We came in by car on the second visit and you have to go through a barrier to get in. I was impressed to see that they had my name at the barrier and there was no problem at all in parking in the hotel car park. The lady on Reception made an excellent recommendation for a restuarant on the river bank and when we needed taxis the hotel got them for us within minutes on both occasions. The Buffet Breakfast was very good, including well cooked bacon, German sausage and scrambled eggs. Although you take pot luck with what sort of room you get the hotel was excellent value for money and I would be happy to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Austrian restuarant we went to was the Zum Gulenspiegel next to the river. Although the wine was dear by English standards the beer was of course excellent. Excellent food - especially the fish soup!

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pol4959
Business
Kent
Mar 4, 2010

Lovely focal point for Salzburg.

A great hotel situated in the Old Town and near all the attractions. Sound of Music tour is a must if you are a fan of the film. Salzburg Card is worth purchasing if you want to visit a lot of attractions which is also valid for the local buses. Hotel did not have its own restaurant but a very good trattoria attached to it. Just ask reception who are a mine of information and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P an L from Montreal
Business
montreal, canada
Apr 12, 2011

Great location,once you find it

Very nice hotel,3 minutes away by foot from the Dom platz,in a charming old world setting.Very friendly and helpful staff.Good breakfast.easy and inexpensive hotel parking.only word of caution:dont try finding it by GPS,it wont get you there,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zipfer Brauhaus,on the platz where Mozart's birthplace is,is a typical,small brasserie,with very good food and beer and a warm atmosphere.

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington VA
Sep 13, 2010

Good hotel in Old Town Salzburg

The hotel is in a good location to all the Old Town Salzburg sites. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and breakfast was included in the price. There was no temperature control in the room was a down side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few restaurants right by the hotel, but very few restaurants in Salzburg seem to stay open past 10pm serving food

Back to menu Return to top