$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

4 stars
View map of Kaigasse 33, Salzburg, 5010

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grizzland
Business
Papa, Hungary
Jul 20, 2010

Downtown in Salzburg

We had a great time in Salzburg and what made it extra special was the location of our hotel! Everything was within walking distance from our room. And we didn't have to call a cab once in the 4 days we were there. The many tours that we did have, the hotel was on the pickup list for a major tour company. Even the walk from the drop off point was only a short 1km to the hotel. The mornings were a bit noisy because all the businesses were getting supplies in for the coming day. Also, if you don't like bells, this may not be the hotel room for you as there are at least 5 churches in the area that "do" bells every 15 mins. It was magical!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The most fun we had was the Augustine Monk's Brew House. From Old Town Salzburg walk through the shopping district, into the pedestrian passage to the left and another 1/2 km to the brew house on the right.( #33 on the Salzburg map ) It's a HUGE beer garden and this is were the town's people hang out. pay your 2.80 Euro, grab a 1/2 liter mug and have it filled by the kegsman. find a chair at any of the 4 halls or out on the grounds and have fun with the people around. There are all nationalities here. We meet up with a great Aussie couple and laughed the night away! What a great time!

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Purple Mommy
Business
Geneva Switzerland
Jul 9, 2010

Classy, Cozy

Wonderful location - stayed in Salzburg one other time. The walk from that hotel to Old Town was very long (45 min.)Hotel is decorated & furnished beautifully. Unfortunately, no air cond. in rooms so with the windows open it was very noisy (people walking by talking very loudly, delivery trucks at 5:45 am, etc) Beds were comfy, everything else about the room was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lunia
Business
washington DC
Jul 6, 2010

perfect location

Location was fantastic however our GPS could not get us to the hotel. You have to enter restricted area of the old town through the gate that should have your reservation on the list. Parking needs to be reserved directly through the hotel - do not depend on the Internet providers. Hotel was quiet however our room located next to the elevator was quite noisy. Very good breakfast, nice breakfast room with attached garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Mar 20, 2010

very nice location

Aparrantly the hotel has quite different rooms to offer. Due to the very old building, I guess about 4-500 years. The first room was rather small, with the wash basin right in the middle of the room. Very tidy though and quiet. My next stay few days after I had much nicer room, old furniture, cosy, kind of what you expect in an old hotel in an very old city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pol4959
Business
Kent
Mar 4, 2010

Lovely focal point for Salzburg.

A great hotel situated in the Old Town and near all the attractions. Sound of Music tour is a must if you are a fan of the film. Salzburg Card is worth purchasing if you want to visit a lot of attractions which is also valid for the local buses. Hotel did not have its own restaurant but a very good trattoria attached to it. Just ask reception who are a mine of information and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pol4959
Business
Kent
Mar 4, 2010

Lovely focal point for Salzburg.

A great hotel situated in the Old Town and near all the attractions. Sound of Music tour is a must if you are a fan of the film. Salzburg Card is worth purchasing if you want to visit a lot of attractions which is also valid for the local buses. Hotel did not have its own restaurant but a very good trattoria attached to it. Just ask reception who are a mine of information and help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eph03
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 2, 2009

Great location at a reasonable price

This hotel is ideally situated near the Old Town in Salzburg, so it's just a few minutes to the main squares. It looks like the hotel has been renovated and updated recently. There's a movie theater just off the lobby, so there are pictures of old Hollywood stars scattered around a sleek modern space. But upstairs, it's more traditional Austrian. So it's an odd mix. The bathrooms could use an update, though. Also, no internet terminals in the hotel, which is unfortunate since Internet cafes are hard to find in Salzburg. Great breakfast included as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RICKY
Business
YORKSHIRE , ENGLAND
Apr 5, 2009

QUIRKY BUT FRIENDLY!

We made two one night stops here and the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful both times. Very well situated in the old part of Salzburg the hotel is a bit 'unusual/quirky' because it has a cinema on site and the Bar is part of/next to Reception (and Reception staff serve you). There is 24 hour cover on reception too which was impressive. If you want an evening meal in - house there is a nice Italian next door, also part of the hotel building and reachable from inside, handy when it was raining! The two rooms we stopped in were very different to each other - one (219) was big and modern with no window to speak of, but had a biggish modern bathroom and despite being next to the lift we never heard it. The second (215) was in the front of the hotel, much more traditionally Austrian, with two big windows onto the front (still quiet though!) but a much smaller bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean. We came in by car on the second visit and you have to go through a barrier to get in. I was impressed to see that they had my name at the barrier and there was no problem at all in parking in the hotel car park. The lady on Reception made an excellent recommendation for a restuarant on the river bank and when we needed taxis the hotel got them for us within minutes on both occasions. The Buffet Breakfast was very good, including well cooked bacon, German sausage and scrambled eggs. Although you take pot luck with what sort of room you get the hotel was excellent value for money and I would be happy to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Austrian restuarant we went to was the Zum Gulenspiegel next to the river. Although the wine was dear by English standards the beer was of course excellent. Excellent food - especially the fish soup!

Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RICKY
Business
YORKSHIRE , ENGLAND
Apr 5, 2009

QUIRKY BUT FRIENDLY!

We made two one night stops here and the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful both times. Very well situated in the old part of Salzburg the hotel is a bit 'unusual/quirky' because it has a cinema on site and the Bar is part of/next to Reception (and Reception staff serve you). There is 24 hour cover on reception too which was impressive. If you want an evening meal in - house there is a nice Italian next door, also part of the hotel building and reachable from inside, handy when it was raining! The two rooms we stopped in were very different to each other - one (219) was big and modern with no window to speak of, but had a biggish modern bathroom and despite being next to the lift we never heard it. The second (215) was in the front of the hotel, much more traditionally Austrian, with two big windows onto the front (still quiet though!) but a much smaller bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean. We came in by car on the second visit and you have to go through a barrier to get in. I was impressed to see that they had my name at the barrier and there was no problem at all in parking in the hotel car park. The lady on Reception made an excellent recommendation for a restuarant on the river bank and when we needed taxis the hotel got them for us within minutes on both occasions. The Buffet Breakfast was very good, including well cooked bacon, German sausage and scrambled eggs. Although you take pot luck with what sort of room you get the hotel was excellent value for money and I would be happy to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Austrian restuarant we went to was the Zum Gulenspiegel next to the river. Although the wine was dear by English standards the beer was of course excellent. Excellent food - especially the fish soup!

Back to menu Return to top