$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Kings Perth Hotel

3 stars
View map of 525 Hay Street, Perth, WA 6000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
14 reviews
Excellent Location, Good Value

Have stayed with this hotel a few times. Great central location, spacious room, fairly clean and... See full review

  • North Lake
  • Nov 19, 2014
Spacious Room, Central Location

Great value with spacious room, ample work desk space. The facilities are old but the room is clean... See full review

  • North Lake
  • Jul 27, 2014

In the heart of Perth's Central Business District, Kings Perth Hotel offers leisure and business travelers convenience and an affordable, smoke-free stay. Hotel amenities include budget-to-presidential suite category rooms, a lounge bar and al fresco restaurant, a conference center and public car garage. Kings Perth is also fully equipped for large and small functions.

Location

Just a half-block from Adelaide Terrace, Kings Perth Hotel offers the best of Perth, including cultural attractions such as Perth Concert Hall and trendy restaurants and shopping at Hay Street Mall. 

Rooms

Kings Perth Hotel features more than 100 rooms and suites ranging from budget and standard categories to Penthouse, Presidential and Executive suites. Deluxe rooms have been refurbished. Select rooms include private balcony with partial river view, flat-screen TV and large desk area. All offer air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, telephone and a coffee/tea maker. 

Property features

Enjoy al fresco breakfast, lunch or dinner at Kings Perth Hotel's Kings Art Cafe. The restaurant also serves coffee and cakes all day on weekdays. Wrap up the night at the onsite Petty Sessions Lounge Bar. The hotel is also home to Chancery Bar, available for private functions only. Restaurants are plentiful in the surrounding area, including the popular Matsuri and Balthazar.

Highlights

  • Walk to nearby Hay Street Mall, one of Perth's best shopping and dining destinations
  • Request a deluxe room for a private balcony and partial view of Swan River
  • Park in the public car garage located onsite at the hotel (fees apply)

Nearby attractions

  • Perth Concert Hall (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Perth Cultural Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Kings Park (.7 miles/1.1 km)
  • Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre (0.8/1.3 km)
  • Cottesloe Beach (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Fremantle Markets (14.2 mi/22.8 km)

Business

  • Meeting and event space ranging from a boardroom for 15 to the William Ballroom, which can accommodate a dinner party of 300 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and wedding packages (fees apply)

Transportation

  • Barrack Street Jetty (for Rottnest Island) (0.6 mi/0.8 km)
  • Perth Train Station (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Perth Airport (10.5 mi/17 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kings Perth Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kings Perth Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
Superior rooms are either single, double or twin bedded plus ensuite bathroom. They overlook Hay Street, offering views of the surrounding area. Some double rooms interconnect with triple rooms making them idea for families. Superior rooms are all Smoke Free. Most superior rooms have a queen and single bed.
Deluxe Rooms
NEWLY REFURBISHED!Central Location. Excellent value. New LCD Flat Screen TV with complimentary movie channel. Rate includes full cooked buffet breakfast in the Kings Art Cafe'. Maximum number of guests per room cannot exceed 3.
Superior Room with Balcony
Queen size bed with doona, ensuite bathroom - plus hair dryer, iron, data point, balcony with partial river views. Room and balcony are Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Playhouse Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.1 mi
  • Law Courts: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum and Fire Safety Education Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Perth Concert Hall: 0.1 mi
  • London Court: 0.1 mi
  • St George's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Supreme Court Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Allan Green Conservatory: 0.3 mi
  • Swan Bells: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of Western Australia: 0.4 mi
  • Barrack Street Jetty: 0.4 mi
  • Perth Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Playhouse Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.1 mi
  • Law Courts: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum and Fire Safety Education Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Perth Concert Hall: 0.1 mi
  • London Court: 0.1 mi
  • St George's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Supreme Court Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Allan Green Conservatory: 0.3 mi
  • Swan Bells: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of Western Australia: 0.4 mi
  • Barrack Street Jetty: 0.4 mi
  • Perth Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Western Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Universal Bar: 0.5 mi
  • PerthChinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Bibbulmun Track: 0.6 mi
  • The Cloisters: 0.6 mi
  • St George's Terrace: 0.6 mi
  • Perth Convention Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cala Munnda Heritage Trail: 0.6 mi
  • Woodside Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Barracks Archway: 0.7 mi
  • Mosque: 0.8 mi
  • Barracks Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Cricket Grounds: 1 mi
  • WACA: 1.1 mi
  • Holmes a Court Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • SciTech Discovery Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Perth Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Beatty Park Leisure Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Kings Park: 1.9 mi
  • Burswood Casino: 2 mi
  • Subiaco Oval: 2 mi
  • Western Australian Medical Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Infants' Butterfly Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Childhood: 4.6 mi
  • Margaret River Regional Wine Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Aviation Heritage Museum: 6.5 mi
  • All Saints Anglican Church: 6.6 mi
  • Gallery East: 8.3 mi
  • Armadale History House Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Caversham House: 9.3 mi

Dining

The Kings Art Cafe
Guests can dine at the Kings ArtCafe that serves delicious food for you to feast on. The Petty Session Lounge Bar on lobby level lets you catch up with friends and colleagues at the end of a busy day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kings Perth Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Lake
Business
Bellaire, Texas
Nov 19, 2014

Excellent Location, Good Value

Have stayed with this hotel a few times. Great central location, spacious room, fairly clean and functional bathroom. For mid-priced hotels, this hotel provides more room and desk space than other nearby mid-priced hotels. The only shortcoming is in-room WiFi. The connection speed has improved during non-peak hours (~110 kb/sec) but still very slow (~40 kb/sec) during peak hours and was interrupted or dropped off every 20 minutes or so. Sometimes breakfast was included but it's just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Lake
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 27, 2014

Spacious Room, Central Location

Great value with spacious room, ample work desk space. The facilities are old but the room is clean and functional. Short walking distance to Hay Street Mall and Northbridge Restaurant District. Staff is friendly and helpful. The drawbacks are slow, unstable and unreliable WiFi connections. Web surfing controls have been removed. Downloads were always interrupted and never finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Barrack Street and take free Blue Cat bus to Northbridge Restaurant District during the daytime. No Cat Bus after 7 pm but a short 10 minutes walk would be the alternative.

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
North Lake
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 26, 2014

Good location

The hotel is located in a central location to shopping and restaurants. However, the hotel has aged and needs renovation. Wifi connection was very slow and censored to many websites. For heavy net users, this would be a huge drawback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to North Bridge restaurant area.

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancy and Jerry
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 4, 2014

Great Location - - Breakfast a real plus.

This hotel is a little over the hill but the staff make up for its lack of moderness. Breakfast is included free and is a great selection and at a savings of $35 a day per couple is a plus. The only downside is there is not a Restaurant on site for dinner but there are plenty in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Hop on Hop Off bus is one block away - - buy a 24 ticket or upgrade.

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bestos
Business
Perth, Australia
May 31, 2014

4 days

I found my stay there below average to say the least. Right from the start it was going to be uncomfortable to me. The original room it was to stay in was dark, not inviting at all to enter into and when I pulled to curtains back I was my view consisted of the bottom of car tyres and the concrete they rolled over. I asked if there was something a bit different and for $6 and that priced changed nights later when I extended my stay it was then $30 dollars for a much more nicer room which I must say was vastly different in terms of quality to the room described above. The room was well furnished and had a nice view. The most unpleasant experience took place on check out when I was accused of smoking in the room because of a ciggaret butt found in the rubbish. I basically had to say I would call the police if they did not return my cash bond, to which they did but was then advised I would not be welcome to stay there in the future. I was more then happy to take them up on that to which I said to them in those simple of terms then left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Hut and a buffet restaurant close by.

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ERex
Business
San Francisco CA
May 23, 2014

Hotel needs updating

Pretty bad experience at this hotel. Wireless was so bad I couldn't even check email-it was like 1995 dial up. The bathroom floor was sticky and horribly outdated - no lighting in the shower. The carpet and room decor was worn and old. I felt the need to sleep on top of the sheets. I was traveling with a work partner who had the room across the hall - there was construction and jack hammering every night until 8pm. When we called the front desk they were disinterested in solving it. I would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Lake
Business
Houston, TX
May 2, 2014

Great location with reasonable price

Walking disctance to grest restaurants and shopping area. Room is spacious with plenty of desk space and sturage drawers. The hotel has aged, not new but still in decent conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Northbridge area and shopping stores

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rebecca peng
Business
Syd
Apr 29, 2014

fantastic

Enjoyed to stay here. Good location and friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globe trotter 22
Business
Perth
Jan 12, 2014

Break away

The hotel room that we first had offered to us had the aircon hanging off the wall, It looked grubby and not as described. I said it to the lady at reception and she put us in a renovated room, it was going to cost an extra $15 dollars per night but she gave it as the same price. Everything about the room we were upgraded to was excellent apart from the connecting door into another room which had quite noisy people stay. They would come in and be really loud at 2am turn the telly on so loud it would wake you and not turn it off for the night. This happened all 3 nights that we stayed there which was annoying. I was off a very long flight overseas and am also 5 months pregnant so wanted a nice place to relax and chill out for those few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chop
Business
stourport
Jan 9, 2014

breafkast for our family daily s served between 7am and 11am + was excellent

Great fiendly staff and athough hotel is tired and in need of a refurb the rooms were huge, beds comfy and clean towels and bedding daily. Rooms have poor soundproofing and corridors can be noisy at night. The free breakfast we received daily was plentiful, full of choice and served for 5 hoiurs every am, which made our total stay excellentt value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Frasers restaurant in Kings Park is an excellent fine dining experience with amazing night views across Perth-a must do.

Back to menu Return to top