$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Rydges Hotel Melbourne

4 stars
186 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Melbourne, VI 3000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
155 reviews
Good location

The reception were happy to swap from Queen to a Twin room. The meal at the restaruant was very... See full review

  • Looking for convenience
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great weekend away

It was a fantastic room and the staff were extremely kind. We loved the complimentary breakfast... See full review

  • Abbe
  • Jan 7, 2014
Rydges is a dynamic hotel brand operating across Australia, New Zealand and London. Despite its streamlined tower block exterior, guests at Rydges Hotel Melbourne are greeted with rich upholstered walls, marble fireplaces and a bold color palette of reds and purples. Dangle your calves in the rooftop pool and enjoy the surrounding Melbourne skyline, or try the juicy platters - by head food aficionado Paul Griffiths - at Locanda Italian Steakhouse. Business-types in Melbourne can recreate their favorite Don Draper scenes in the intimate and vintage-class Madmen boardroom.

Kay Facts
  • 363 guestrooms
  • Restaurant and cocktail bar
  • Outdoor rooftop pool
  • 24-hour room service
  • Library
  • Conference center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Garden
  • Concierge services
  • Fitness suite
Neighborhood
A thespian's dream, the Rydges Hotel sits in the heart of Melbourne's 'theatreland', with many top-tier venues, like Athenaeum, within walking distance. Guests who love to shop will appreciate being close to the world-famous Bourke Street Mall, the upscale boutique stores of Collins Street, and the fragrant sights and sounds of Chinatown. Melbourne loves its sports, and the Rydges Hotel is the perfect base for Melbourne Cricket Ground (the MCG), Etihad Stadium, the Rod Laver Arena and Melbourne Park.
Hints and tips
Guests at the Rydges benefit from free entry to the extensive fitness studio - Platinum Fitness First - one block away, in addition to the small cardiovascular suite at the hotel.

For extra in-room treats, consider upgrading to a Premier Spa Suite - these have separate living areas and fascinating views over Exhibition Street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-37.8116 144.9706
Area served
Melbourne CBD, China Town.
Nearby airports
Melbourne International Airport & Avalon Domestic Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant theatre district on the door step of chinatown, and walking distance to sporting ground, Melbourne's exclusive Collins Street boutiques and the famous Bourke Street Mall.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Hotel Melbourne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Rydges Hotel Melbourne Rooms

Deluxe Queen City High
Includes one nights' accomodation in one of our Deluxe Queen room, two standard drinks at the bar, two course dinner for two in Locanda Cucina & Bar with bottle of house wine, Full Buffet Breakfast, late check out of 1pm & complimentary carparking.
Queen Spa Suite
These suites boast a separate bedroom & lounge area divided by a partition wall, queen bed and large marble ensuite with single spa bath.
Executive King Room
The Executive King Room features a king size Rydges Dream bed and spacious living area to relax and unwind. Also featuring workstation, HSIA and private ensuite.
Deluxe Queen Room
The Deluxe Queen rooms feature contemporary furnishings with a distinct Melbourne style. Indulge in the Queen size Rydges Dreambed finished in luxurious, pure white linen. Room rates based on 2 adults sharing, maximum occupancy of 2.
Deluxe Twin Room
Complete with contemporary furniture and offering great city views. These rooms comprise of two (2) Single beds, reading area, workstation with high-speed internet connection.
One Bedroom Apartment
Enjoy the added space of the King Spa Suite, including King size Rydges DreamBed, generous marble ensuite featuring double spa bath, separate lounge, full kitchenette and dining. Sleeping capacity of 2 guests in existing bedding, additional bedding available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinese Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Princess Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • St Michael`s Uniting Church: 0.2 mi
  • Old Treasury Building: 0.2 mi
  • City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown Melbourne: 0.2 mi
  • Scots Church: 0.2 mi
  • Post Master Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Bourke Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of Victoria: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Princess Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.1 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • St Michael`s Uniting Church: 0.2 mi
  • Old Treasury Building: 0.2 mi
  • City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown Melbourne: 0.2 mi
  • Scots Church: 0.2 mi
  • Post Master Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Bourke Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of Victoria: 0.3 mi
  • Treasury Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Old Melbourne Gaol: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade: 0.4 mi
  • Block Arcade: 0.4 mi
  • St Paul's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Federation Square: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester Unity Building: 0.4 mi
  • Victorian Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzroy Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Melbourne City Baths: 0.5 mi
  • Captain Cook's Cottage: 0.6 mi
  • Flinders Street Station: 0.6 mi
  • Sunday Market: 0.6 mi
  • ANZ Banking Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Southgate Arts and Leisure Precinct: 0.6 mi
  • Southgate Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Victoria: 0.8 mi
  • Immigration Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Giant Sky Wheel: 0.8 mi
  • Eureka Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Queen Victoria Market: 0.8 mi
  • Rialto Towers: 0.8 mi
  • Melbourne Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Observation Deck: 0.9 mi
  • Sidney Myer Music Bowl: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Animals Australia: 0.9 mi
  • Melbourne Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Australian Open Grounds: 1 mi
  • Southern Cross Station: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sue J
New Zealand
Jan 10, 2014

Just ok

Firstly the bed was very comfortable..but was unhappy with a number of things. We were only staying for three days, the pool and gym were only open on for One day, charges are not made clear, eg there is nothing to advise the charge for room service, the breakfast coupons were misleading, saying discounted $20, but was only discounted $9. We had no tv guide and when phoned reception to ask what channels were available they advised were inthe middle of changing providers and nothing was available.none of this was made clear to us when we booked in, most annoying! Bathroom was smaller than a shoe box!! Had trouble getting on the toilet!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice curry place and cheap! A short walk past the English pub

Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kat.W
Rye VIC 3941, Australia
Sep 27, 2012

Very dissapointed

My husband and I booked this hotel for a relaxing weekend away from the kids. We had booked one of the more expensive rooms we thought was a Queen Spa Suite including a Queen size Rydges Dream Bed. We had high expectations of the room as per advertised. When we walked into the room the first thing we notice was the stained carpets and the musty smell, which we thought was unusual. We were not impressed with the decor. The bed was only a very small double and the spa bath was so small I could barely fit in and I am a small woman size 8-10. As there was no ice machine so we could enjoy a cool drink in our room, we called room service to order some ice and per the hotel booklet instructions, to which we recieved no answer. We instead called reception to ask and they said they would pass the message on, an hour later we still had no ice and it never came. The bathroom had not been restocked with new shampoo and conditioner etc bottles, all of which were used or empty from the previous occupants. the hotel was very noisy so we found it difficult to sleep, noise from traffic outside which the hotel was unable to buffer, strange whirring noises througout the night from inside the hotel itself and curtians, which would nowhere near reach the edges so the light streamed through early in the morning. The universal remotes turned on both televisions simultaneously each time you pressed on even from a different room! For the price that we paid we expected so much more. We expected 'luxury' accommodation as advertised, it was anything but.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ginza Tempanyaki Japanese Restaurant on Little Bourke St. Best tempanyaki in Melbourne and amazing Green Tea Ice-cream for dessert.

Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jlea
Melbourne
Mar 10, 2014

not what we expected

Nothing like what we were expecting. We were expecting something really nice but although the room was nice enough but there was blood stains on the curtains And the staff were hardly accommodating. Everything was ridiculously overpriced and there were no movies to watch or pay t.v. The spa only fit one person which we didn't realize until it was too late. Overall unimpressed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
silverwings
Berwick, Victoria
Nov 19, 2012

Comfortable & spacious

Nice size Queen spa suite. Great location to Bourke St Mall & Southbank. Too much noise at night from the street. Pity the roadworks started so early on Sunday Morning & no hot water to boot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ImLing
Perth
Aug 4, 2013

Noisy air conditioner

If you are a light sleeper then don't ever stay in this hotel. The air conditioner is not central air con. It was very noisy for me even I am not a light sleeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cpt Lee
Sydney
Jun 11, 2012

Old and tired Hotel

My first impressions of the hotel were quite good; the foyer is quite big and has a nice open fireplace burning. Check-in was average they didn’t really smile or seem like they wanted to be there, but it was 11pm so maybe they were tired also. Once I went to the room, at first it look ok for what you paid. Once you turn on the lights you then see what really needs to be done. There was lots of dust on the top of the wooden headboard. They had also tried to update the rooms by putting in a flat screen TV on a fake the wall to hide the wires, but it wouldn’t stay closed it kept opening during the night. I went to use the TV remote and it was greasy and dirty, I’m not sure what the last guest was doing with the remote??? Next was the bathroom, very small with a half size bath. The shower unit needs to be re-sealed due to the amount of use the room must get, also the cleanliness of the bathroom was quite poor. There were water stains on the back of the door where water had been running down the door. The glasses in the bathroom had water marks all over them and they were not covered in plastic or paper. Overall the room was ok, you have to remember it’s only a 3 star I think. We also paid $20 each for breakfast, not really worth it as the food was cold and didn’t really taste that good, you’re better off going around the corner to a small café.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Dec 2, 2009

Carpet look very old and dirty,

Carpet look very old and dirty, Air condition very old and not clean..make me sick next day..furniture within the room very old doesnt feel I can relax in the room.. for what I expect from Rydges Hotel I very disappointed and if I have to pay a bit more than the price I get from club hotel and get better room, I prefer to pay more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jan 26, 2011

Cleanliness and general maintenance

Cleanliness and general maintenance of room was very poor. Furniture was scratched, chipped and looked dirty. Bathroom was not clean and the hotel needs a 'spruce up' Good breakfast was included and position of hotel is good-close to theatres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Derek
Not Provided
Aug 16, 2010

Charged for newspaper delivered

Charged for newspaper delivered to room. A first in my many years of travel around the world. Lifts irregular and an unacceptably long wait. Insufficient staff on reception desk, 25 minute wait to sort a defective room key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Rydges Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
idanda
Wellington
Mar 20, 2013

Melbourne GP weekend

Good overall experience. Good location for a few days in Melbourne including events like the Grand Prix. Nearby restaurants and bars are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One or two blocks away - several great restaurants. Good nearby cafes as well and bars. Locals will provide good advice.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search