$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

4 stars
328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Melbourne, VI 3000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
237 reviews
fantastic place to stay

It is a great location and convenient for everything See full review

  • X. Jin
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great Stay

Our stay at the hotel was marvellous. Staff and facilities were excellent with parking next door.... See full review

  • Farming Country Couple
  • Jun 30, 2014
Rendezvous Grand hotels range from contemporary to heritage-style accommodations, located across the Asia-Pacific region. At the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, the elegance of the 1913 building meets 21st century technology in a seamless and stylish mix. The Straits Cafe prides itself on local ingredients, including the best of Australian wines from the Victoria region of Yarra Valley. From the splendor of the Grand Vestibule, with its columns and colonnades, to the river panoramas outside the windows of select rooms, the hotel offers a decidedly 'boutique' experience, confirmed by a 2013 Golden Circle Award.
Key facts
  • 340 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurants: Straits Cafe and The Traveler's Bar
  • Cocktail bar
  • 24-hour room service
  • 24-hour business center
  • Concierge service
  • Fitness center
  • Exhibition space
  • Babysitting
  • Wedding services
Neighborhood
The Rendezvous Grand is in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District (CBD). Guests are within easy reach of the city's hip Southbank district and the continually-revolving arts program at Federation Square.
Hints and tips
The hotel was build in the early 1900s, so rooms are on the small side.
For a taste of Old World luxury, check out the Club Rooms, which feature original leadlight windows, dramatic ceilings and Edwardian Baroque design.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-37.8183 144.9636
Area served
Rialto Towers, Eureka Skydeck, Southgate, Crown Casino, Aquarium, Botanic Gardens, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Docklands, Telstra Dome, Victorian Arts Centre, Grand Prix, Como House, Concert Hall, shopping just minutes away.
Nearby airports
Melbourne International Airport & Avalon Domestic Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in the very heart of the CBD, within walking distance to world class shopping, famous theatres, major sporting venues, premier entertainment, spectacular dining, Crown Casino, Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Center, directly opposite the equally historic Flinders Street Railway Station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Luxurious, 48sqm one bedroom suites feature a large master bedroom, walk-in wardrobe, marble bathroom and King size bed. Suites offer a separate lounge area ideal for entertaining or business meetings. Free broadband, daily newspaper & chocolates.
Superior Room
Contemporary designed and defined by natural tones, rich fabrics and modern comforts, providing guests with a sense of comfort, intimacy and an experience of understated luxury. Every room features quality furnishings, LCD television, executive desk, high speed broadband, Foxtel, designer bathroom with indulgent overhead drenching showers, in-room movies, personal safe, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, voicemail, iron and ironing board, hairdryers, bathrobes, slippers and non smoking guestrooms. 1 queen bed or 2 single beds.
Deluxe Room
NEWLY refurbished!!! These rooms offer a luxurious experience with cozy & warm ambience. Comfortable bedding with lush linen, large executive desk featuring Media Hub, 40" LCD TV, FOXTEL, internet, plus thoughtful touches such as robes & slippers. 1 queen bed or 2 single beds.
Heritage Room
OLD WORLD CHARM!!! These magnificent Rooms located on the hotel's heritage floors featuring original Edwardian Baroque designed ornate 18 foot ceilings, columns & leadlight windows. King, Queen or Double bed. FREE BROADBAND, CHOCOLATES & NEWSPAPER

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Flinders Street Station: 0.1 mi
  • ANZ Banking Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Immigration Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Block Arcade: 0.2 mi
  • Southgate Arts and Leisure Precinct: 0.2 mi
  • St Paul's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Southgate Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Eureka Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade: 0.3 mi
  • Federation Square: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Sunday Market: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Unity Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Towers: 0.3 mi
  • Flinders Street Station: 0.1 mi
  • ANZ Banking Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Immigration Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Block Arcade: 0.2 mi
  • Southgate Arts and Leisure Precinct: 0.2 mi
  • St Paul's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Southgate Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Eureka Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Arcade: 0.3 mi
  • Federation Square: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Sunday Market: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Unity Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Towers: 0.3 mi
  • Bourke Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Observation Deck: 0.4 mi
  • Melbourne Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Scots Church: 0.4 mi
  • St Michael`s Uniting Church: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown Melbourne: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Victoria: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Southern Cross Station: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of Victoria: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Victoria Police Museum: 0.6 mi
  • City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Princess Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Old Treasury Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sidney Myer Music Bowl: 0.7 mi
  • Old Melbourne Gaol: 0.7 mi
  • Melbourne Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Post Master Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Treasury Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Melbourne City Baths: 0.8 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Giant Sky Wheel: 0.8 mi
  • Maritime Museum Polly Woodside: 0.8 mi
  • Queen Victoria Market: 0.9 mi
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Telstra Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzroy Gardens: 1 mi

Dining

The Grill Restaurant
The Grill Restaurant offers authentic international cuisine that showcases the finest local and organic produce. Enjoy a meal made with fresh seasonal ingredients, complemented by the restaurant's refined ambience. Our friendly staff will be happy to help you pair your food with a fine Australian or international wine from our extensive wine list.
The Travellers Bar
During the day, The Travellers Bar presents an extensive selection of freshly brewed teas, coffees and light meals. In the evening, enjoy tapas style bar snacks and sit back and let our experienced bartenders guide you through our wide selection of fine champagnes, wines and classic cocktails. Exquisite furnishings and stunning artwork complete the ambiance, making it truly one of Melbourne's best kept secrets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlos in Santiago
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jul 12, 2012

Rendezvous

It is a good hotel in Melbourne. Offers luxury at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michele
Not Provided
Mar 8, 2011

I was very pleased with Rendezvous

I was very pleased with Rendezvous Hotel, Melbourne location. My husband and I walked everywhere with ease and the times we needed a taxi, there was one standing out front of the hotel at our convenience. The staff were very helpful and both check-in and check-out were promt and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim
Not Provided
Feb 11, 2011

Situated on Flinders we were fairly

Situated on Flinders we were fairly centrally located. The room although clean looked dingy and was not that large. However it seems the hotel may be refurbishing as two weeks later we stayed at the same hotel and were put in a modern very well furnished room. It may be worth asking when checking in if you can have one of these rooms as they are much nicer. The front desk and concierge were all very friendly and exterely helpful. Must be a good hotel as the Sinagpore air crew stayed at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail
Not Provided
Jan 29, 2011

Lovely clean and modern rooms

Lovely clean and modern rooms right in the heart of Melbourne - will be staying there again - for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa
Not Provided
Jan 28, 2011

The room was a little bit small

The room was a little bit small but this is definitely overlooked when you consider the hotel's location. I would definitely stay here again. The bathroom was a little bit tired looking but overall this is a great hotel and I can confidently recommend it. I even accidentally left my sunglasses in my room upon checking out and the staff went and found them and sent them to me. Thank you again. The service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessica
Not Provided
Jan 21, 2011

unsatisfied with the service at

unsatisfied with the service at the front desk upon arrival. They were often rude, and difficult to talk to: we had been told upon booking our reservation 2 months prior to our stay that we DID NOT need to take my Mums credit card with me, as long as we had all the details when we arrived, which we did (we are both 19 and as yet do not own a credit card of our own, so we booked with Mums). When arriving, the lady was very rude in explaining that we NEEDED a credit card, and then took 200 cash off me as a bond, which i had never been told about, and had budgeted for two nights, therefor, being left $200 short. Also, we placed a 'do not disturb' sign on our door, as we had left multiple amounts of money in the room, only to come back and find our room had been cleaned- this would have normally been ok, if we hadnt purposly put the 'do not disturb' sign up. The rooms were nice, and we would stay there again, only if we were told all these things previous to booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jan 5, 2011

Everything was perfect. 1 very

Everything was perfect. 1 very important point for you to keep an eye on. I had my car in the vallet parking. I had 6 cd's in the stacker and the next day I only had 5. It was our favourite CD and its been in our stacker for the last 2months. I'm not angry. i can make another copy of the cd but you run a very professional business and it's a shame to give yourself a bad name over this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodie
Not Provided
Jan 3, 2011

Excellent location but very small

Excellent location but very small rooms for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy
Not Provided
Dec 8, 2010

Really central. The service was

Really central. The service was very prompt and friendly. i loved the old worl features that had been retained and the modern upgrades to the rooms for the comfort component. i was part of a function adn the lunch buffet offered an excellent variety. Was one of the best value form money stays I have had while on a business conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel
Not Provided
Nov 17, 2010

My daughters and I have stayed

My daughters and I have stayed yearly at this hotel for the last few years for a few days shopping. We love it. We are used to the rooms being smallish but we use them only to sleep. The lobby and bar are so beautiful looking out onto Flinders St you can spend spare time there comfortably. We have seen the rooms being tastefully renovated over the years. My only disappointment is that we do not score a room on the high floors overlooking Southbank as we did the first year and usually look out at walls or offices but as we get an excellent deal on the rates I imagine the "good" rooms go to full rate paying guests. Sometimes the concierge is busy with other guests, my only suggestion would be that a ramp up the stairs would be helpful for taking cases up and down if you wish to do it yourself. Another guest did kindly offer but I felt a bit embarrassed as it the bag was heavy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 15, 2010

Staff were friendly and helpful,

Staff were friendly and helpful, however the room & bathroom were very small , with a view of a wall. Fortunately I did not much spare and was not there much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search