Fraser Place Melbourne

4 stars
View map of 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Melbourne, VI 3000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
22 reviews
Fun, inexpensive place in a good spot for walking Melbourne

Nice stay, easy walk to lots of fun stuff. Try the avocado toast at the many nearby brunch places. See full review

  • Jesse9888777
  • May 27, 2015
Our Stay

My friend Gail and I had a very nice time at Frasers Place. We found it very clean and central to... See full review

  • Neecy.
  • Apr 29, 2015
The best of self-catering flexibility and hotel comforts at Fraser Place Hotel Melbourne extend from its worldwide parent-company, Frasers Hospitality. Lean back on your balcony and survey the citywide views, cook up a snack in your private kitchenette, or catch up on emails using the well-designed business facilities (fees may apply). Interiors are flooded with light and color thanks to huge windows, bright floral displays and abstract artworks. After a feast at one of the nearby Melbourne cafes, guests can keep trim in the hotel's fitness center.
Location
The Fraser Place hotel is situated in central Melbourne, just moments from the Paris end of Collins Street and perfectly placed for the Central Business District (CBD). Meander down this famous avenue, often called Australia's premier street, to find high-end designer boutiques, theaters and beautiful Victorian shops.
Highlights
  • 115 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Left luggage
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast restaurant
  • Tour desk
  • Laundry/dry-cleaning services
  • Local shuttle service
  • Fitness facilities
Policies
With only four apartments per floor, this Melbourne hotel is more peaceful than most. The roof terrace on the 14th floor offers an especially quiet haven, while corner apartments are slightly more spacious than others.

Old Melbourne Gaol is within walking distance of the hotel, and well worth a visit if you're interested in Melbourne's Victorian past it was once home to both Ned Kelly and notorious gangster Squizzy Taylor.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Place Melbourne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Fraser Place Melbourne Rooms

Studio Deluxe
Our Studio Deluxe rooms are decorated in a contemporary style and feature a luxurious King Bed and Twin available (on request only and must be requested at time of booking), modern kitchenette and ensuite bathroom. Rooms feature a 32" LCD TV, Foxtel and iPod dock. Movies on Demand(extra charges apply).
Studio Executive King
Featuring a genuine King bed with a Sealy Posturepedic Pillowtop mattress, fluffy duvet and cotton sheets, the Executive room promises a good night's sleep. Rooms are 30-33sqm in size, with a modern, fully-equipped kitchenette.
Studio Premier
At 48 sq m in size, our generously sized Studio Premier rooms are decorated in contemporary style. Each apartment features a luxurious King bed, modern kitchenette and laundry facilities. Rooms boast 32" LCD TVs, Foxtel, balcony and expansive city views.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Post Master Gallery: 0 mi
  • Chinese Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Princess Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Melbourne Gaol: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of Victoria: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown Melbourne: 0.3 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne City Baths: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • St Michael`s Uniting Church: 0.4 mi
  • Bourke Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Scots Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old Treasury Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Post Master Gallery: 0 mi
  • Chinese Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Princess Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Melbourne Gaol: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of Victoria: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown Melbourne: 0.3 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne City Baths: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • St Michael`s Uniting Church: 0.4 mi
  • Bourke Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Scots Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old Treasury Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • City Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Melbourne Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Arcade: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Unity Building: 0.5 mi
  • Block Arcade: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Treasury Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • St Paul's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Federation Square: 0.6 mi
  • Queen Victoria Market: 0.6 mi
  • ANZ Banking Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzroy Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Flinders Street Station: 0.7 mi
  • Animals Australia: 0.7 mi
  • Captain Cook's Cottage: 0.8 mi
  • Sunday Market: 0.8 mi
  • Southgate Arts and Leisure Precinct: 0.8 mi
  • Southgate Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Immigration Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rialto Towers: 0.9 mi
  • Observation Deck: 0.9 mi
  • Eureka Tower: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Victoria: 1 mi
  • Giant Sky Wheel: 1 mi
  • Melbourne Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Crown Casino: 1 mi
  • Southern Cross Station: 1 mi
  • Melbourne Cricket Ground: 1.1 mi
  • Sidney Myer Music Bowl: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Open Grounds: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Guests can prepare their own meals in their apartment or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee and gourmet breakfast in the Fraser Cafe downstairs

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Place Melbourne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 22
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jesse9888777
Business
SAN FRANCISCO
May 27, 2015

Fun, inexpensive place in a good spot for walking Melbourne

Nice stay, easy walk to lots of fun stuff. Try the avocado toast at the many nearby brunch places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iokepa
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jan 20, 2014

Clean and comfortable

Our king room was clean and large enough for us to move around comfortably. The bathroom shower was great with the usual amenities. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lalele
Business
Brasília, DF, Brazil
Aug 3, 2012

It's not a good place to stay!

It was a bad experience for us: it is not a hotel, it is a apartament service, that has a good room and bathroons but the airco make a lot of noisy all the time you use it! We can not sleep because it! If you put it "off" the cold at the room kills you!. The room cleanliness is not make on sundays, and at the weekdays, only after 13:00 PM; the breakfeast was good, nothing special, but good enough. The hotel staff and location, near the city circle, were the best things of Fraser Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrine Remembrace it's a good place to go!

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JetSetCitizen
Business
Japan
Apr 7, 2012

Great location but difficult to access

Very nice room with a new kitchen. It was great to have dishes, cutlery and a toaster in the room. The location is great, but the front entrance of the hotel was under construction so we had to walk around to the back door. That was a little inconvenient, but not a major obstacle. The hotel staff didn't change towels one day (even the ones on the floor) and didn't change sheets another day, but those are minor complaints for a very clean and modern hotel with a suite in the heart of the city. Free internet would have made it a perfect stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great jazz bar seconds from the back door of the hotel. Cover charges are about $15 but the bands are first rate. The best cafes and bars are in the Fitzroy area only about a 30 minute walk away.

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBeeee
Business
Langley, BC, Canada
Nov 27, 2011

Great Place

Great place to stay, good location. Short walk to many city sights, amenities and public transportation. Enjoyed the choices on the complimentary breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable. Would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surf Chaser
Business
Connecticut, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Just what we needed!

After spending nearly two months living out of a van and surfing we were looking for somewhere to relax in a little more classy sort of way while we explored Melbourne before ending the vacation. The staff at Fraser Place were very accommodating when we needed to drop off our bags prior to checking in. When we mentioned that we were headed to the Aquarium, the front desk staff promptly provided a coupon for the entry fee. When we returned to check in we received help with our bags and surf boards to get up to our room. Our room was modern and efficient, with a nice view of the city. There was a balcony that was perfect for drying out our wetsuits. The little kitchenette provided more than we needed, but it came in handy when we decided to bring back some treats from the Victoria market. The room also had some nice eco-type features...for example, to turn on the lights the door card needed to be inserted into the main light switch area. It was nice to know that they were conscious of saving power by ensuring that occupants were not leaving lights on as they went out to explore the city. One other nice surprise was the free breakfast. Their choices were certainly more than basic continental (which we were expecting), and were quite yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely do not miss the Victoria Market! You can find everything here, from great food and wine to typical tourist type souveniers.

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
malfoy_23
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 14, 2011

The Cube is amazing!

I love the Cube!! I've stayed twice and loved it both times. Once alone and once with my girlfriend. It's really nice and clean and cheap. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need a huge place but wants a great big comfy bed with tons of pillows, amazing shower, TV and DVD player, balcony, ipod/radio/alarm clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN.
Jan 25, 2011

Cube Serviced Apartments

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. Be sheets were not changed daily though. The elevator didn't work on several occasions..but we were on the 5th floor, so wasn't that big of a deal. Other than that, the room was sufficient for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hundreds of restaurants in the area...but be prepared to pay a fortune!! Food was extremely expensive in Melbourne. On top of that, lots of restaurants wouldn't even take credit card...and if they did, they would charge you a fee on top of the cost of the food.

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Eyeball Kid
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jan 18, 2011

Great locale and apartment with perks

We visited Melbourne in January 2011, which is summer in Australia. The Cube Serviced Apartments are fully decked with whatever you need, including modest cookware serviceware, and even a retractable clotheslines in the shower. They provided complimentary breakfast in the cafe downstairs--no wimpy little bagel and doughnut bar. My complimentary breakfast of choice was smoked salmon on toast with poached eggs and hollandaise paired with a latte. Lovely! Unbeatable location and amenities for this pricepoint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The 1806 cocktail bar is on Exhibition between Bourke and Little Bourke, an 8-10 minute walk away.

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hobart tasmania
Oct 9, 2010

really good location, good price.

Cube Apartments had everything we needed for our short stay in Melbourne. They were quiet, relatively clean (handmarks on wall under light switch, lot of dust on skirting boards) close to public transport with reception being very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top