$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Fraser Place Melbourne

4 stars
19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Melbourne, VI 3000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
30 reviews
Clean and comfortable

Our king room was clean and large enough for us to move around comfortably. The bathroom shower was... See full review

  • Iokepa
  • Jan 20, 2014
serviced apartments in the heart of Melbourne

stayed in a small studio apartment for a few nights. The building is close to downtown within... See full review

  • sid008
  • Aug 24, 2013
The best of self-catering flexibility and hotel comforts at Fraser Place Hotel Melbourne extend from its worldwide parent-company, Frasers Hospitality. Lean back on your balcony and survey the citywide views, cook up a snack in your private kitchenette, or catch up on emails using the well-designed business facilities (fees may apply). Interiors are flooded with light and color thanks to huge windows, bright floral displays and abstract artworks. After a feast at one of the nearby Melbourne cafes, guests can keep trim in the hotel's fitness center.
Key facts
  • 115 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Left luggage
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast restaurant
  • Tour desk
  • Laundry/dry-cleaning services
  • Local shuttle service
  • Fitness facilities
Neighborhood
The Fraser Place hotel is situated in central Melbourne, just moments from the Paris end of Collins Street and perfectly placed for the Central Business District (CBD). Meander down this famous avenue, often called Australia's premier street, to find high-end designer boutiques, theaters and beautiful Victorian shops.
Hints and tips
With only four apartments per floor, this Melbourne hotel is more peaceful than most. The roof terrace on the 14th floor offers an especially quiet haven, while corner apartments are slightly more spacious than others.

Old Melbourne Gaol is within walking distance of the hotel, and well worth a visit if you're interested in Melbourne's Victorian past it was once home to both Ned Kelly and notorious gangster Squizzy Taylor.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Fraser Place Melbourne Rooms

Studio Deluxe
Our Studio Deluxe rooms are decorated in a contemporary style and feature a luxurious King Bed and Twin available (on request only and must be requested at time of booking), modern kitchenette and ensuite bathroom. Rooms feature a 32" LCD TV, Foxtel and iPod dock. Movies on Demand(extra charges apply).
Studio Executive King
Featuring a genuine King bed with a Sealy Posturepedic Pillowtop mattress, fluffy duvet and cotton sheets, the Executive room promises a good night's sleep. Rooms are 30-33sqm in size, with a modern, fully-equipped kitchenette.
Studio Premier
At 48 sq m in size, our generously sized Studio Premier rooms are decorated in contemporary style. Each apartment features a luxurious King bed, modern kitchenette and laundry facilities. Rooms boast 32" LCD TVs, Foxtel, balcony and expansive city views.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fraser Place Melbourne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

-37.8088 144.9682
Area served
Melbourne CBD, just minutes from China Town, Shopping centres, the gleaming offices of the Melbourne CBD and the Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres.
Nearby airports
Melbourne International Airport & Avalon Domestic Airport.
Area description
Located in the the Theatre district, close to historic Chinatown, the vibrant Greek and Italian precincts as well as Melbourne's modern CBD.

Nearby points of interest

  • Post Master Gallery: 0 mi
  • Chinese Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Princess Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Melbourne Gaol: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of Victoria: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown Melbourne: 0.3 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne City Baths: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • St Michael`s Uniting Church: 0.4 mi
  • Bourke Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Scots Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old Treasury Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Post Master Gallery: 0 mi
  • Chinese Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Princess Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Melbourne Gaol: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of Victoria: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown Melbourne: 0.3 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Melbourne City Baths: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • St Michael`s Uniting Church: 0.4 mi
  • Bourke Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Scots Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old Treasury Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • City Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Melbourne Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Arcade: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Unity Building: 0.5 mi
  • Block Arcade: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Treasury Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • St Paul's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Federation Square: 0.6 mi
  • Queen Victoria Market: 0.6 mi
  • ANZ Banking Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzroy Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Flinders Street Station: 0.7 mi
  • Animals Australia: 0.7 mi
  • Captain Cook's Cottage: 0.8 mi
  • Sunday Market: 0.8 mi
  • Southgate Arts and Leisure Precinct: 0.8 mi
  • Southgate Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Immigration Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rialto Towers: 0.9 mi
  • Observation Deck: 0.9 mi
  • Eureka Tower: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Victoria: 1 mi
  • Giant Sky Wheel: 1 mi
  • Melbourne Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Crown Casino: 1 mi
  • Southern Cross Station: 1 mi
  • Melbourne Cricket Ground: 1.1 mi
  • Sidney Myer Music Bowl: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Open Grounds: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Guests can prepare their own meals in their apartment or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee and gourmet breakfast in the Fraser Cafe downstairs

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Fraser Place Melbourne

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
US Visitor
USA
Nov 11, 2011

Bad Hotel

Did not look at all as in pictures. Internet down for Two days, no room service and when ask to have the room cleaned it is a matter of luck, they may or may not clean your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surf Chaser
Connecticut, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Just what we needed!

After spending nearly two months living out of a van and surfing we were looking for somewhere to relax in a little more classy sort of way while we explored Melbourne before ending the vacation. The staff at Fraser Place were very accommodating when we needed to drop off our bags prior to checking in. When we mentioned that we were headed to the Aquarium, the front desk staff promptly provided a coupon for the entry fee. When we returned to check in we received help with our bags and surf boards to get up to our room. Our room was modern and efficient, with a nice view of the city. There was a balcony that was perfect for drying out our wetsuits. The little kitchenette provided more than we needed, but it came in handy when we decided to bring back some treats from the Victoria market. The room also had some nice eco-type features...for example, to turn on the lights the door card needed to be inserted into the main light switch area. It was nice to know that they were conscious of saving power by ensuring that occupants were not leaving lights on as they went out to explore the city. One other nice surprise was the free breakfast. Their choices were certainly more than basic continental (which we were expecting), and were quite yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely do not miss the Victoria Market! You can find everything here, from great food and wine to typical tourist type souveniers.

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surf Chaser
Connecticut, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Just what we needed!

After spending nearly two months living out of a van and surfing we were looking for somewhere to relax in a little more classy sort of way while we explored Melbourne before ending the vacation. The staff at Fraser Place were very accommodating when we needed to drop off our bags prior to checking in. When we mentioned that we were headed to the Aquarium, the front desk staff promptly provided a coupon for the entry fee. When we returned to check in we received help with our bags and surf boards to get up to our room. Our room was modern and efficient, with a nice view of the city. There was a balcony that was perfect for drying out our wetsuits. The little kitchenette provided more than we needed, but it came in handy when we decided to bring back some treats from the Victoria market. The room also had some nice eco-type features...for example, to turn on the lights the door card needed to be inserted into the main light switch area. It was nice to know that they were conscious of saving power by ensuring that occupants were not leaving lights on as they went out to explore the city. One other nice surprise was the free breakfast. Their choices were certainly more than basic continental (which we were expecting), and were quite yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely do not miss the Victoria Market! You can find everything here, from great food and wine to typical tourist type souveniers.

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
malfoy_23
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 14, 2011

The Cube is amazing!

I love the Cube!! I've stayed twice and loved it both times. Once alone and once with my girlfriend. It's really nice and clean and cheap. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need a huge place but wants a great big comfy bed with tons of pillows, amazing shower, TV and DVD player, balcony, ipod/radio/alarm clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
malfoy_23
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 14, 2011

The Cube is amazing!

I love the Cube!! I've stayed twice and loved it both times. Once alone and once with my girlfriend. It's really nice and clean and cheap. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need a huge place but wants a great big comfy bed with tons of pillows, amazing shower, TV and DVD player, balcony, ipod/radio/alarm clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria BC
Apr 18, 2011

"good hotel, good price"

Great! Good location, nice breakfasts, helpful staff, and clean spacious rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent road warrier for business
Business
Minneapolis, MN USA
Apr 15, 2011

Excellent hotel for my stay

excellent staff, great location, good amenities--great rate w/breakfast included. My fellow conference attendees who stayed at the overpriced conference venue were envious--and paid twice as much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent road warrier for business
Business
Minneapolis, MN USA
Apr 15, 2011

Excellent hotel for my stay

excellent staff, great location, good amenities--great rate w/breakfast included. My fellow conference attendees who stayed at the overpriced conference venue were envious--and paid twice as much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Perth WA
Apr 9, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The room was well appointed and the hotel is in a great location just minutes walk to Chinatown and buses and trams which can take you all over the city. Bennett Street is very close - a plus for jazz lovers. I would recommend this to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pulic transport is very convenient and useful, almost no need for taxis - but wear comfortable shoes.

Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Perth WA
Apr 9, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The room was well appointed and the hotel is in a great location just minutes walk to Chinatown and buses and trams which can take you all over the city. Bennett Street is very close - a plus for jazz lovers. I would recommend this to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pulic transport is very convenient and useful, almost no need for taxis - but wear comfortable shoes.

Back to menu Return to top