$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Travelodge Hobart

3 stars
167 Macquarie Street, Hobart, TS 7000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
9 reviews
Famili vacation

Stayed in this hotel during our trip to Tasmania. New and clean hotel. Good breakfast. Good location. See full review

  • Artur Kazakov
  • Jan 2, 2014
My Stay at the Travelodge in Hobart City

I was attending a music workshop at the Festival of Voices in July from Wednesday to Sunday and the... See full review

  • Joekool
  • Jul 16, 2014
Travelodge Hobart offers great value in the heart of Hobart. A short walk will take you to charming dining and shopping spots such as Battery Point, Salamanca Place, Constitution Dock and the waterfront.
The hotel is also a great base from which to explore attractions such as: the Royal Tasmanian Botanic Gardens, the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the Museum of Old and New Art.
Key businesses are located close by to the hotel as is the Royal Hobart Hospital. Guest rooms overlook the beautiful Mount Wellington or Hobart City.

Hotel Map

-42.8856 147.3261
Area served
Hobart.
Nearby airports
Hobart International Airport - 21km.
Area description
Conveniently located in the CBD, Travelodge Hobart is within walking distance to historic Battery Point, trendy Salamanca Place and Hobart's waterfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hobart also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Travelodge Hobart Rooms

Budget Queen
Room with queen bed, 17 square metres. Compact room with en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, individually controlled heating, flat screen LCD TV, Austar, alarm clock, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 2). Wi-fi available, surcharges apply.
Budget Twin
Room with 2 single beds, 17 square metres. Compact room with en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, individually controlled heating, flat screen LCD TV, Austar, alarm clock, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 2). Wi-fi available, surcharges apply.
Standard Queen
Room with 1 Queen Bed, 22 square metres. Kitchenette with microwave, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, individually controlled heating, LCD TV, Austar, alarm clock, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in extra bedding). Wi-Fi available, surcharges apply.
Standard Twin
Room with 1 queen bed and 1 single bed, 22 square metres. Kitchenette with microwave, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, individually controlled heating, flat screen LCD TV, Austar, alarm clock, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in extra bedding). Wi-Fi available, surcharges apply.
Executive Room.
Room with 1 Queen Bed, 28 square metres. Lounge area, en-suite bathroom with bath and separate shower. Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, individually controlled heating, flat screen LCD TV, Austar, alarm clock, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in extra bedding). Wi-fi available, surcharges apply.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Battery Point – Sandy Bay: 0.4 mi
  • South Hobart: 0.7 mi
  • Acton Park: 7.4 mi

Dining

Hotel Restaurant
Travelodge Hobart offers a full hot and cold breakfast buffet each morning.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hobart

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joekool
Gold Coast Qld
Jul 16, 2014

My Stay at the Travelodge in Hobart City

I was attending a music workshop at the Festival of Voices in July from Wednesday to Sunday and the hotel was only two blocks from the venue. It is very close to Salamanca Markets on Saturday which I visited. Parking is free which is a bonus although twice the hotel car park was full up in the evenings and I had to park on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rowrow
Melbourne
Jun 24, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Hobart

The ideal location and very friendly and efficient staff made for a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artur Kazakov
Moscow
Jan 2, 2014

Famili vacation

Stayed in this hotel during our trip to Tasmania. New and clean hotel. Good breakfast. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob Astbury
Business
Manchester, UK
Apr 18, 2013

Changed to Travel Lodge

Room okay, microwave and fridge in room. Breakfast average - cooked buffet (sausage,bacon,egg,etc) with toast/cereal and tea/juice. no continental selection even though they say it is. Internet was good as The Leisure Inn, fast and free, but now it is Travel Lodge. internet was awful, inconsistent and worse than dial up. and all for the expensive price of $50 for 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Anna
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2013

Fantastic Romantic getaway

I stayed in the hotel for 4 days 3 nights and it was lovely. The location was perfect, it was in the middle of the city so it was easy to walk to Salamanca Market and to get to the tourist center. We were fortunate enough to get a room on the 2nd floor which we were told were newly renovated. We have a TV in our room with a USB slot so we were able to watch our own movies and we have access to air conditioner control. The walls were a bit thin for a couple getaway if you know what I mean but the bed was comfortable. I read reviews on complains about the shower but I have no problem with it, the water pressure was great - probably because I had the 2nd floor that was newly renovated. I have no complaints and I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely rent a car - it's more worth the money than paying for the tours. We got a car and we went to Cadbury, Mt. Wellington, Port Arthur and Richmond in just a day. Definitely worth the money and I recommend going to Budget to rent - the cheapest car rental in the area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hongkonger in China
Hong Kong
Feb 11, 2013

Somewhat disappointing...

Official check-in time of the hotel is 2pm but check-out time is at 10am, which does not make any sense at all. For most hotels that I have stayed over the globe, the usual check-out time is 12 noon, which I think is acceptable. Moreover, the hotel is very mean in considering late check-out request - only 30 minutes! So disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try "The Mure" restaurant at the harbour. Good food and service at the Upper Deck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Vancouver, BC
May 8, 2011

An okay stay

Hotel was alright overall, but nothing special. For the price we paid I expected more. The washroom was poorly designed (weird toilet paper holder that frequently dropped rolls into the toilet, the shower dumped water all over the floor, there was no exhaust so the steam went all throughout the room). Someone nearby was smoking and our room stunk of cigarette smoke a few times throughout the stay. They did not have a secure place to store our luggage when we checked out (it was left in plain sight in the main lobby). When in the area, we did the Cascade Brewery tour, the Mt. Wellington tour, and played a lot of pool at the Strangers Welcome hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do the Cascade Brewery tour - a 40 minute walk, or short public transit ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYer down under
Central NY
Feb 20, 2011

Noisy but convenient location!

Very noisy since its on the corner of a major highway! But the location is excellent as far as its proximity to major attractions such as Battery Point, Salamanca Place, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants like Jackman & McRoss, Magic Curries Indian Restaurant at Battery Point and the many bar/restaurants st Salamanca .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Dec 15, 2009

Great value and location

The hotel is centrlly located in downtown Hobart and was a gret base to see both the city and the surrounding area. Staff was helpful and answered all questions quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car, try to leave a day to drive down to Port Arthur. The site is extensive and deserves time for the experience. Along the way, there is a private conservation park with ready access to Tasmanian devils.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top