$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

4 stars
1 Davey Street, Hobart, Hobart, TS 7000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
158 reviews
Comfortable, large rooms and central

I had a very comfortable stay. Staff are friendly, rooms are large and spacious. My only criticism... See full review

  • Stacey99
  • Jul 25, 2014
Amazing Hobart Stay

My husband and i booked Grand Chancellor Hobart for a little 4 day getaway on our 1st year... See full review

  • Chrissimoo
  • Feb 19, 2014
PERFECT WATERFRONT LOCATION In HOBART CBD. Enjoy the glorious, un-interrupted and simply spectacular views, superior accommodation as well as impeccable service at the Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart.
Located right on the waterfront in Hobart, this property is just a stone's throw from the central business district and all of Hobart's many tourist attractions.
The hotel is only few minutes walk away from famous destinations like the Salamanca Markets or cruising the Derwent River.

Hotel Map

-42.8807 147.3337
Area served
Hobart.
Nearby airports
Hobart International Airport - 17kms
Area description
Located on Hobart's historic waterfront, adjacent to Constitution Dock, the central business district, shopping and all of Hobart's many tourist attractions. Hotel Grand Chancellor offers the best location for your stay. Views from the rooms are over the Derwent River or Mount Wellington and the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Rooms

Green Stay
Overlooking the city & Mt Wellington, 32 Sqm in floor space & furnished with a king bed or two double beds (on request, not guaranteed). Completed with a contemporary dcor to suit all travellers alike. Spacious ensuite marble bathrooms.
Executive Suite
Enjoy the stunning views over the harbour. Indulge yourself in our 64 Sq m Executive Suite, featuring king bed and separate lounge area. Marbled bathroom includes a deep bath and separate shower. Lounge area includes a work desk and casual seating. Baby cots are available upon request at a cost of AUD $10.00
Superior Harbour View Room
*NEWLY REFURBISHED WATERFRONT ROOMS* All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary dcor to suit all traveller alike. Spacious ensuite marble bathrooms.
Superior Mountainside Room
*NEWLY REFURBISHED ROOMS* Overlooking the city all rooms are 32 Sqm in floor space with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary dcor to suit all travellers alike. Spacious ensuite marble bathrooms.
Mountainside Room
Overlooking the city and Mt Wellington all Mountain Side rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space. Furnished with a king bed or two double beds (on request, not guaranteed) and completed with a contemporary dcor to suit all travellers alike. Spacious ensuite marble bathrooms. Baby cots are available upon request at a cost of AUD $10.00
Harbour View Room
Sensational views over the waterfront make these rooms extremely popular. 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king bed or two double beds (on request, not guaranteed). Completed with a contemporary dcor to suit all travellers alike. Spacious ensuite marble bathrooms. Baby cots are available upon request at a cost of AUD $10.00
Mountainside with Breakfast
Overlooking the city and Mt Wellington all Mountain Side rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space. Furnished with a king bed or two double beds (on request, not guaranteed) and completed with a contemporary dcor to suit all travellers alike. Spacious ensuite marble bathrooms. Baby cots are available upon request at a cost of AUD $10.00
Harbour View with Breakfast
Sensational views over the waterfront make these rooms extremely popular. 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king bed or two double beds (on request, not guaranteed). Completed with a contemporary dcor to suit all travellers alike. Spacious ensuite marble bathrooms. Baby cots are available upon request at a cost of AUD $10.00

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Battery Point – Sandy Bay: 0.9 mi
  • South Hobart: 1.2 mi
  • Acton Park: 7 mi

Dining

Restaurant Tasman
At 'Restaurant Tasman' locally grown seasonal produce is the foundation for our menu choice. For those who appreciate quality, 'Restaurant Tasman' captures the very best this island state has to offer matching it with ingredients from the rest of Australia and indeed the world. Within a few kilometres from this very spot you can visit the farmers who are passionate about their merchandise and we aim to showcase their produce from traditional to modern savoured dishes at 'Restaurant Tasman'. Located on the lobby level of the hotel.
The Atrium Bar
A great venue to meet for a drink or afternoon tea. Located overlooking Sullivan's Cove waterfront, the glass curtain walls and ceiling provide for excellent views and a light and sunny atmosphere. The venue provide morning and after tea the old fashioned way and also light lunch's and drinks. This is also a great place to meet for a drink and take in the atmosphere of the water front. Located on the lobby level of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 31, 2011

Great place to stay, walking distance

Great place to stay, walking distance to almost everything. Very helpful staff and the rooms looked like they had been renovated within the past few years, nice and modern. All in all, a great stay. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruthia
Hobart, Tasmania
Aug 16, 2014

Good value and great position

Great central location, with beautiful outlook over harbour and mountain. Easy walk to docks for yummy seafood meals catering for all price ranges. Actually, easy scenic walk to Salamanca via historic buildings and wharves and to the museum too. Kids really enjoyed the pool. Parking upon arrival a bit short in supply and had to go around the block twice to be able to pull up to front entrance to check in and get carpark admission.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have a car, then take your luggage in to the foyer with you as you check in and have them take it up to your room. Much easier than lugging bags and paraphenallia and kids upstairs to the foyer from the basement carpark. You see the lift does not service the carpark, and only goes from ground level. Once checked in and you receive your parking swipecard and directions of where to go to park the car, it will be much easier to only drag yourself up the stairs. Of course it depends how much luggage you have, but we found it a bit cumbersome.

Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TCMelbourne
Melbourne
Aug 16, 2014

Still confused

I seemed to have a bad run with the reception at this hotel. Firstly they wanted to take 200 dollars bond because I used a debit card to prepay for my room rather than a credit card, I'm not a big hotel stayer and no where else I stayed during this trip asked for this. So I tried asking about it and was just fed absolute nonsense that was barely English and made no sense. I had a similar experience later when asking about parking and was left wondering if I was going to get double charged or have my car towed. Again on checkout they confused me when they had somehow forgotten they had taken an additional 200 bucks and wanted to charge me more for parking. I left with a receipt telling me they had taken 9 bucks for parking and then refunded it but gave me no paperwork on the 200 and just a load more confusing waffle. So at this point I don't know if I'll ever see that cash again. On top of the staff nightmares the room had no working aircon, and even though this was the middle of winter the room was an oven. We had to leave the windows open all night which left us listening to traffic. The windows seemed incredibly thin though as you heard the traffic if they were open or closed. Overall not a good stay and left us wanting to leave tasmania sooner rather than later unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela and Robin
Lake Macquarie NSW
Aug 4, 2014

Long weekend

Fantastic location, helpful friendly staff, lovely rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey99
Business
Sydney
Jul 25, 2014

Comfortable, large rooms and central

I had a very comfortable stay. Staff are friendly, rooms are large and spacious. My only criticism would be the in-room dining menu. I was ill during my stay and could not face going out for food. The menu is very limited with very few healthy options available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whale Pants
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 22, 2014

Great location, amazing views of the harbor

Stayed here in March of 2013. Was traveling on my own. King sized room with a mountain view, and room was just right. Pros: Location is absolutely perfect. Easy walk to just about anything. Nice sized room, and bed was very comfy. Very large bathroom, with modern fittings. Cons: Not a whole lot... This is a large hotel, so if you're going for small town charm, this might not be what you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelbel
Tas
Mar 13, 2014

Great service

We spent one night in this hotel- 2 adults, 2 toddlers. It was comfy, spacious and in a great location. The staff in reception were really friendly, proficient and professional. We really enjoyed our stay and they were very welcoming of our 2 young children :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mures is a great place to eat for yummy seafood, great for lunch or dinner and they have great ice cream!

Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissimoo
Berwick Melbourne
Feb 19, 2014

Amazing Hobart Stay

My husband and i booked Grand Chancellor Hobart for a little 4 day getaway on our 1st year anniversary. We had the mtn view room for 1 night and the sea view room for 2. Views from both were amazing and the Staff were always so helpful. We will be back, we loved it all the hotel and the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek Restaurant - Methezes in Samamanca Place, Hobart - a must

Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Micky mouse mouse
Brisbane
Dec 25, 2013

Fantastic

Its nice and clean with fantastic views. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback is there is no lift linking the hotel and the car park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oriana
Hobart
Dec 21, 2013

great place!

The room is nice and clean. Great location with harbor view just outside the hotel. Plenty restaurants in the surrounding area. Near CBD and bus stop. Overall great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allporj1
Brisbane, Australia
Oct 27, 2013

Great Location

1st time here. On entering the hotel the reception staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome. Our room was of a good size, very comfortable and very clean. Just across the road from the harbour and most convenient to restaurants and bars. Valet service for our car was prompt whenever we needed it. Overall a terrific place to stay in Hobart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Salamanca Markets about 5 minute walk. Also to the Hop On Hop Off bus stop.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search