$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

By The Sea Port Douglas

4 stars
72 Macrossan Street, Beach Side Port Douglas, Port Douglas, QL 4877
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
5 reviews
Love this place

Had a wonderful stay at By the Sea Port Douglas.. we were upgraded to a suite that had everything... See full review

  • airplanejockey
  • Nov 9, 2011
Gem of a stay

Everything you have read about this hotel is true - kudos to the staff. Without the girls, my stay... See full review

  • Russ547
  • Aug 30, 2011
Want the convenience of being in the main centre, but also want a quiet location right by the sea. You can have the best of both worlds if you stay at By the Sea Port Douglas. By the Sea Port Douglas is in the main centre of Port Douglas (Macrossan Street) and is very convenient with the restaurants, shops and cafes of Port Douglas just a one minute stroll, but it is in a quiet and idyllic spot right by the sea and most of their apartments have lovely sea views By the Sea Port Douglas has a wide range of accommodation to suit different budgets and requirements, ranging from small studios to large 2 floor apartments. All have full kitchen facilities, air conditioning, fast in room internet (adsl2 wired and wireless) , large flat screen TV, sky sports and movie channels and modern furnishings. They also have a range of other excellent facilities including complimentary laptops, free beach towels, chairs, ice, ice buckets, beach games & floaters, complimentary books, DVDs, DVD players, i pod docks , chargers, barbecues, free barbecue packs, heated pool, steam ironing system and free underground car parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed By The Sea Port Douglas also booked these hotels.

By The Sea Port Douglas Rooms

Beachside Balcony
1 - 3 people King bed or Twin singles. Full Kitchen with Full Fridge. Fast in room internet & Satellite TV. Same modern interiors and facilities as the above and they also have a private and pleasant outdoor balcony setting (overlooking tropical palms and foliage) but you save money by not having a view of the sea. Additional inner spring king single sofa bed available if requested.
Beachside Cosy
1 - 2 people. Queen Bed. Small kitchen but with full facilities. Fast in room internet & Satellite TV. Cheapest Option. Only called Cosy because they are smaller than the rest but still have same facilities and modern interiors as the rest. Private outside patio setting with sun lounger that overlooks our tropical rainforest garden. Ground floor
Seaside Seclusion 2 Bedroom
2-4 people. King bed (or two singles) plus Queen bed. Full Kitchen. Two TVs. Washer/Drier. Private barbecue. Two outdoor balconies... Well appointed Long Studio Apartment with additional bed room. Free cots and high chairs available upon request
Rainforest Indulgence 2 Bedroom
2- 6 people. 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom very large two level apartment, If your budget can stretch this far you will never regret it! Elegant, idyllic and very special . Huge outdoor balcony overlooking rainforest complete with large outdoor dining and lounge and partial views of the sea from the master bedroom. Includes full kitchen, washer drier, private barbecue. King bed plus two single beds. Sofa bed, free cots, and high chairs available upon request.
Rainforest Family Retreat 2 Bedroom
Sleeps up to seven! Very large 2 storey apartment in a tranquil environment surrounded by rainforest. First floor bedroom has Queen and single (plus another single bed if requested). Second floor bedroom has King bed (or two singles) plus a quality new sofa bed in the lounge. Full kitchen, lounge, dining, two TVs, washer drier, bathroom with bath. Free cots and high chairs available upon request.
Sea View Delight
1-3 people. King Bed. Full Kitchen with full fridge. Fast in room internet & Satellite TV. Treat yourself to a Sea View and go to sleep to the sound of the ocean. Superior well appointed superior studio apartments with rare and delightful views of the sea (which can be seen from most parts of the room, not just from the outside balcony). Outside balcony with five piece table setting. Additional sofa bed available.
Sea and Pool Views
1-3 people. King Bed. Full Kitchen with full fridge. Fast in room internet & Satellite TV. Still A good View. Superior well appointed studio apartment with lovely side views of the sea and overlooking the pool. Outside Balcony with five piece table setting. Additional sofa bed if requested.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Four mile beach: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for By The Sea Port Douglas

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of By The Sea Port Douglas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
airplanejockey
Business
Penn Valley, CA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Love this place

Had a wonderful stay at By the Sea Port Douglas.. we were upgraded to a suite that had everything we needed... kitchenette and laundry facilities in the room (although the washer/dryer was a challenge to operate).. great location 100 yards from the beach.. the hotel staff were delightful and very helpful.. They provided bicycles, beach towels, ice and excellent advice on dining and sightseeing. They have recently renovated the hotel so it had a new feel to it and was clean and pretty. Wifi in the room worked great. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Port Douglas are pricey so we were happy to find the Tin Shed down on the harbor. It's located neat the park and across the parking lot from St Mary's by the Sea. A 15 minute walk from the hotel, it's a joint services club that accepts the public. We had lunch there over the water and it was very good food and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of By The Sea Port Douglas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Russ547
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 30, 2011

Gem of a stay

Everything you have read about this hotel is true - kudos to the staff. Without the girls, my stay in Port Douglas would not have been as memorable. Sure there are fancier places but you cannot beat the service, location or value! If returning to this area I would stay here without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Salsa has the best food in the area. It's very hard to get a reservation so book a table after booking this hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of By The Sea Port Douglas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Nov 3, 2010

Great family vacation

The hotel was wonderful, the office staff was very helpful and the hotel was a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great shops all within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of By The Sea Port Douglas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Jun 9, 2010

Nice Place Close to Beach

Hotel is located within 2 min. walk from the famous 4-mile beach (this is a long beach!). Try to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd Floor, however. Balcony was nice, but has only view of adjacent hotel. Very Friendly staff! Located on quite part of the main road within walking distance of small shops and places to eat. Has small kitchen, but dining table is on the bacony. No shampoos/soaps in bath (hmmm), but kitchen is fully equipped with pots and pans as well as toaster and refrigerator (very nice!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Dainetree Rainforest. Go on to the reef! Bring your own cigs (they will cost you 16 AUD now a pack!), beer is not cheap either! Try Palm Cove...it seems to be more sunny there and a bit less "touristy" although the beach is not as good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of By The Sea Port Douglas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nice, France
May 9, 2010

We couldn't find fault!

Everything was perfect. By the Sea is one minute from the 4 mile beach and at the top of the main street of Port Douglas yet quiet and away from the shops and restaurants. Everything we asked for was provided by the owners who were in the reception office. They provided a high chair, cot and even a baby bath. One could help oneself to beach chairs, cool boxes, children's toys, floats and they even provided us with a laptop and an internet card which we could use at any time during our stay for a minimum sum. We booked very good excursions to the Daintree National Park and the reef trip through them and they also arranged our pick up and return to Cairns Airport. The apartment was small but very well appointed with a full kitchen, fridge with freezer and balcony with table and chairs. Our towels were changed on demand and beach towels were always available. We stayed 5 days and were sad to leave! May 2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top