$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't... See full review

  • Skylacer
  • Apr 23, 2012
Shangri-la paradise

I booked this last minute not really knowing what to expect and not knowing exactly how close it... See full review

  • shirlsails
  • Dec 3, 2011
Upscale Cairns hotel offers 5-star luxury where the city meets the sea
The Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns enjoys a premier location overlooking the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet, where the water meets rainforest-covered mountains. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Pier at the Marina, a popular mixed-use waterfront development that also serves as the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. Light, airy rooms and suites at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns combine chic style and at-home (or even-better-than-home) comforts such as free Internet access and super-soft towels and bathrobes.
Highlights
  • Waterfront dining at NORTH Food & Wine on the Marina Dining Promenade
  • Local hot spot Ba8 Lounge Bar
  • Outdoor swimming pool and children's pool
  • Fitness center and sauna
  • Complimentary Internet access
Location
Fantastic views, top-notch dining and on-site recreation provide lasting memories of any stay at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns -- but its location is what bubbles to the top of this hotel's packed amenities list. Directly adjacent to the Marlin Marina, the hotel is convenient for all types of water activities. The Great Barrier Reef is an absolute must-see -- the world's largest coral reef is an hour by boat from the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Rooms
Clean lines, fresh shades of white, champagne and green, and stunning views have earned the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns the Best Deluxe Accommodation award from the Queensland Hotels Association. All 255 guest rooms and suites feature private balconies where guests savor sea breezes while overlooking the city, tropical gardens, Trinity Inlet or Marlin Marina.
 
Free broadband Internet access, in-room movies and 200-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets are standard amenities. Horizon Club rooms include club lounge access with complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. For additional space and upgrades such as flat-panel TVs and marble bathrooms, select a suite at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Transportation
  • Cairns Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Cairns Railway Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Airport transportation available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Cairns Regional Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cairns Convention Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cairns Central shopping center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Cairns Civic Theatre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Skyrail Rainforest Cableway (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Videoconferencing facilities
  • Translation services
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 400 people
  • Boardrooms and meeting rooms available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. Rooms

Executive Suite
Shangri-La's Executive Suites overlook the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet. Executive Suite guests enjoy with our compliments breakfast and evening cocktails served in the exclusive Horizon Club.
Horizon Club Room
The more you travel, the more life's little luxuries become absolute necessities. Shangri-La has created an exclusive retreat, where you can experience a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of privileges and amenities. Free Broadband Internet Access
Supeiror Room
Comfort and elegance define Superior Rooms, which are decorated with modern touches and wood accents with Free Broadband Internet Access
Superior BayView Room
Breathtaking views of Trinity Bay and points beyond add to the room's exquisite comforts, making for a productive and peaceful stay. Free Broadband Internet Access
Deluxe Marina View
With commanding views of Marlin Marina, these rooms capture the ocean side lifestyle of Australia's Tropical North. Free Broadband Internet Access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens: 2.2 mi
  • Cazalys Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Trinity Inlet: 2.8 mi
  • Flying Doctor Service: 3.1 mi
  • Whitfield Conservation Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayview Heights Golf Course: 3.7 mi
  • Machans Beach: 5.2 mi
  • Undersea World: 5.9 mi
  • Holloways Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Tjapukai: 7.4 mi
  • Cairns Rainforest Cableway: 7.5 mi
  • Yorkeys Knob Beach: 8.6 mi
  • Aj Hackett Bungy: 9.3 mi
  • Kewarra Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Clifton Beach: 12.9 mi
  • Cairns Northern Beaches: 13 mi
  • Cairns Tropical Zoo: 13.6 mi
  • Ellis Beach: 15.4 mi
  • Hartleys Crocodile Adventures: 20.8 mi
  • Paronella Park: 52.2 mi

Dining

North Food & Wine
North Food & Wine is the welcoming point for diners and serves a generous selection of boutique wines, local and international beers and spirits, as will a long list of sensational cocktails, and a snack menu, From the bar, guests can move to the restaurant where the expertise of internationally accomplished chefs, fresh local produce and selection of affordable dining options are complemented by open kitchens and stylish decor. North is open for Breakfast and Dinner, every day. There are also vegetarian options on the menu, and special dietary requirements are catered for. Relax at North for the Sunday Family Brunch or select North as the venue for an upcoming event for function.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMgl
Business
Chicago
Sep 21, 2011

Disappointment

The room was small with a stained (in several places) rug and in need of paint. Room service needed to be called twice in order to get ice delivered on at least three occassions. We were "upgraded" to a city view which is meaningless from the fourth floor overlooking the parking lot. Very long walk from elevators to our room - no kidding it was probably 1/4 mile. Stubbed my toe and hit my hip on furniture trying to get to bathroom during the night. Extremely narrow walkway not only hard for an adult to walk thru but had to maneuver suitcase through too. Restaurants were good but noisy and crowded until late on Saturday night so too loud to leave windows open. Staff was pleasant but even that could not overcome the disadvantages. Definitely would not recomment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lotta Traveller
Business
California
Nov 4, 2013

A tired property

Good Location. The suite was laid out beautifully. But...the carpet was stained around the edges, the last paint job was sloppy, the furniture showed wear, and the toilet didn't work. All it needed was carefully done maintenance. Hope your stay will be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
inkystar
Business
australia
Apr 23, 2014

very disappointing

Staff were good, location great. Room had a strong damp smell, old & in need of an update, patched carpet and broken lamp. Not the usual Shangri-La standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newanda
Business
USA
Mar 19, 2010

It's ok for the price

The hotel is in a nice location and the room is large enough. However, it could use some updates. The first room I got was on the 1st floor and it's older but decent. Not as nice and clean as I would have thought for a 5 stars. I had a hard time getting my internet to work and have to have someone come to help me get it working. The person who came to help was nice and friendly. After I have unpacked and checked out the town, I came back to the room and turned on the TV but it wasn't working. I had someone from the staff came to check and still didn't work. It's an older TV and isn't the new modern flat/wide screen TV for a 5 star hotel. We ended up having to move room to another room that was on a floor upstairs. It wasn't much better but at least this time the TV worked. The bathroom has a large tub but I don't really need it b/c I don't take baths at hotels anyway. The shower has marble tiles but older and has a lot of calcium build-ups.. I did use the gym one time during my stay and they do have a nice workout facility but I think it's also a local gym for other locals to use as well. For the price I paid, it was in a great location and liveable, but it's in need of a renovation and some updates to be a 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Cairns is better to me than it was in Melbourne. I bought some souvenirs in Melbourne and found them for a lot cheaper in Cairns. There were a lot of backpackers in Cairns and they're pretty friendly people. The locals are pretty friendly as well. I love the night markets. There were restaurants everywhere so it was hard to choose which one to eat at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 16, 2009

Great, But Freezing and Noisy Room

The Shangri-La was an amazing hotel. We stayed on the Horizon Club level (i think that was the name) and checking in couldn't be easier. Staying on this floor gains you access to free breakfest and afternoon appitizers and drinks. this was definately worth the extra money for the room. the room was great and very modern. nice large and comfy bed with an amazing view of the marina and bay. I had 2 large complaints that mostly dinged my score of the place, especially since we paid extra horizon club floor. We were there in August and the rooms were freezing cold. AC is on full time, and there was no way to turn it off. the staffs only recommendation was to keep the doors open or use an extra blanket on the bed. This plays right into my second complaint. the room was right above a bar with live bands and blazing music til late. So while trying to stay warm we not only let a bunch of bugs in, but we also had to endure the really loud bar noises. These two things made it hard to relax in the room and get a good nights rest. Overall the staff was really friendly and helpful. the free breakfest was nice. the room looked amazing. but if you go in the winter time, dont expect ot relax in the room without being dressed in pants and sweaters. and if you need to get to sleep early make sure you've got a good set of ear plugs or tossed back a couple of VB's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tusa Dive boat was an amazing way to see some of the spectacular outter reefs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unsatisfied Honeymooners
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 13, 2009

Not a 5 star hotel.

I have stayed at plenty of Shangri-La Hotels in the past and this one does not even come close to the others. The service here is horrible, pool is dirty and overall not a great experience. I can't believe they could call themselves a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,Ma
Oct 4, 2009

shangrila

The hotel was OK- nothing great but it was clean with comfortable beds and a good location for catching boat out to the Great Barrier Reef. Palm Cove and Port Douglas seem like much nicer towns but Cairns is convenient to the airport and boats to the great Barrier Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Spirit cruises was a wonderful trip out to the great barrier reef.Rent a car for the drive up to Daintree.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kate Allison T.
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Shangri-La, Cairns - 5 Star?

Hotel is not a 5-star property; needs to be updated badly. I've stayed at the Hilton next door and it's much better, room decor, lobby reception, restaurant choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuta
Business
San Leandro, CA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Good Location!

very nice hotel! Staff very excellent! Good location the hotel is right next to reef terminal to purchase tours! Also free WiFi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tom houston10
Business
Houston
Feb 22, 2012

Great Location for Daily Excursions

Within minutes to docks so daily trip excursions to great barrier reef was just walking down the street. Also walking distance to esplanade lagoon and shops and restaurants. Staff was great and very friendly. Room was large but the condition of the bathroom was a little worn down from over the years. I was expecting a little more for a 4-5 stars hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top