$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
View map of 1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Getaway from work

Have stayed here before. Was disappointed with the initial room assigned but the staff sorted it... See full review

  • Lisa W.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't... See full review

  • Skylacer
  • Apr 23, 2012
Upscale Cairns hotel offers 5-star luxury where the city meets the sea
The Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns enjoys a premier location overlooking the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet, where the water meets rainforest-covered mountains. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Pier at the Marina, a popular mixed-use waterfront development that also serves as the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. Light, airy rooms and suites at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns combine chic style and at-home (or even-better-than-home) comforts such as free Internet access and super-soft towels and bathrobes.
Highlights
  • Waterfront dining at NORTH Food & Wine on the Marina Dining Promenade
  • Local hot spot Ba8 Lounge Bar
  • Outdoor swimming pool and children's pool
  • Fitness center and sauna
  • Complimentary Internet access
Location
Fantastic views, top-notch dining and on-site recreation provide lasting memories of any stay at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns -- but its location is what bubbles to the top of this hotel's packed amenities list. Directly adjacent to the Marlin Marina, the hotel is convenient for all types of water activities. The Great Barrier Reef is an absolute must-see -- the world's largest coral reef is an hour by boat from the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Rooms
Clean lines, fresh shades of white, champagne and green, and stunning views have earned the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns the Best Deluxe Accommodation award from the Queensland Hotels Association. All 255 guest rooms and suites feature private balconies where guests savor sea breezes while overlooking the city, tropical gardens, Trinity Inlet or Marlin Marina.
 
Free broadband Internet access, in-room movies and 200-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets are standard amenities. Horizon Club rooms include club lounge access with complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. For additional space and upgrades such as flat-panel TVs and marble bathrooms, select a suite at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Transportation
  • Cairns Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Cairns Railway Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Airport transportation available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Cairns Regional Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cairns Convention Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cairns Central shopping center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Cairns Civic Theatre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Skyrail Rainforest Cableway (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Videoconferencing facilities
  • Translation services
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 400 people
  • Boardrooms and meeting rooms available

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. Rooms

Executive Suite
Shangri-La's Executive Suites overlook the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet. Executive Suite guests enjoy with our compliments breakfast and evening cocktails served in the exclusive Horizon Club.
Horizon Club Room
The more you travel, the more life's little luxuries become absolute necessities. Shangri-La has created an exclusive retreat, where you can experience a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of privileges and amenities. Free Broadband Internet Access
Supeiror Room
Comfort and elegance define Superior Rooms, which are decorated with modern touches and wood accents with Free Broadband Internet Access
Superior BayView Room
Breathtaking views of Trinity Bay and points beyond add to the room's exquisite comforts, making for a productive and peaceful stay. Free Broadband Internet Access
Deluxe Marina View
With commanding views of Marlin Marina, these rooms capture the ocean side lifestyle of Australia's Tropical North. Free Broadband Internet Access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens: 2.2 mi
  • Cazalys Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Trinity Inlet: 2.8 mi
  • Flying Doctor Service: 3.1 mi
  • Whitfield Conservation Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayview Heights Golf Course: 3.7 mi
  • Machans Beach: 5.2 mi
  • Undersea World: 5.9 mi
  • Holloways Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Tjapukai: 7.4 mi
  • Cairns Rainforest Cableway: 7.5 mi
  • Yorkeys Knob Beach: 8.6 mi
  • Aj Hackett Bungy: 9.3 mi
  • Kewarra Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Clifton Beach: 12.9 mi
  • Cairns Northern Beaches: 13 mi
  • Cairns Tropical Zoo: 13.6 mi
  • Ellis Beach: 15.4 mi
  • Hartleys Crocodile Adventures: 20.8 mi
  • Paronella Park: 52.2 mi

Dining

North Food & Wine
North Food & Wine is the welcoming point for diners and serves a generous selection of boutique wines, local and international beers and spirits, as will a long list of sensational cocktails, and a snack menu, From the bar, guests can move to the restaurant where the expertise of internationally accomplished chefs, fresh local produce and selection of affordable dining options are complemented by open kitchens and stylish decor. North is open for Breakfast and Dinner, every day. There are also vegetarian options on the menu, and special dietary requirements are catered for. Relax at North for the Sunday Family Brunch or select North as the venue for an upcoming event for function.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 48
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa W.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Getaway from work

Have stayed here before. Was disappointed with the initial room assigned but the staff sorted it out quickly. Excellent staff, great rooms. It's just a shame the motel foes not have a guest laundry. And they should sell pure blonde beer,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In The Air
Business
Singapore
Jul 21, 2012

Excellent location!

Beautiful views and the perfect location for Cairns on the Marina. Older Hotel but decent condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor T
Business
Saratoga, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Shangri - La Cairns

Good hotel experience, helpful staff. Odd hotel floor plan. Had to take two elevators to reach 4th floor room. Elevators separated by long hallway. Room well configured and very nice for our needs. Very safe. Clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Woolworth's supermarket is 4 blocks away and a good way to avoid some of the high price of meals near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Jun 6, 2011

Great location

The location of this hotel was the best. Make sure to ask for a room with a view! The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Close proximity to all the cuise activities. Dinning was very easy. Stayed in 6 different hotels on my trip to Australia. This was our favorite for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Out side of room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 14, 2011

Shangri-La Cairns

Location was great. We walked to shop, its across the street. Two blocks down there is a McDonalds and 4 doors from that is a "night Market" which opens every day of the year at 4:30 pm til 11 pm. They have lots of Souveniers and opals and anything you would want. There is also a food court there. The hotel itself needed to have the carpet replaced, it is a rainforest there, so there is a moldy smell. Also, when walking to the pool it has lots of mold and is very slippery! This was a weak after the Cyclone hit there, but not really any damage in this particular area, but the pool and whirlpool really needed to have maintence done, as there was debris in the them the entire stay, so I'm not sure if they have a pool person! Overall it was a nice place, the bed was great, but it is dark with not a lot of lighting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just on the other end of the Pier, there are restaraunts that are more "inexpensive". They have daily specials, but the two on the far end have (example) a Steak Sandwich, Fries and a glass of beer, wine or pop for $10. Great deal, as the food in Australia was very expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Dec 22, 2010

WONDERUL SERVICE - BEAUTIFUL ROOMS

Great Location- fabulous staff and concierge was above and beyond. A strong 4 star hotel. Best hotel right in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To save lots of money ask a cab driver at the airport if he will take you touring on a private basis. You will save a tremendous amount of money and get to see Port Douglas as well as Daintree

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, Ohio
Oct 12, 2010

Great hotel in beautiful surroundings

Because I had a 5 a.m. flight out the next morning, my daughter, her 1-year-old and I booked the room to be close to the airport. It was a lovely room and good walking distance of the Esplanade in Cairns. I was sorry we didn't have time to enjoy all the amenities offered. The hotel staff picked up my luggage in the room, brought the car out of the garage for my trip to the airport, then my daughter returned to get some more rest before checkout time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to Cairns airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newanda
Business
USA
Mar 19, 2010

It's ok for the price

The hotel is in a nice location and the room is large enough. However, it could use some updates. The first room I got was on the 1st floor and it's older but decent. Not as nice and clean as I would have thought for a 5 stars. I had a hard time getting my internet to work and have to have someone come to help me get it working. The person who came to help was nice and friendly. After I have unpacked and checked out the town, I came back to the room and turned on the TV but it wasn't working. I had someone from the staff came to check and still didn't work. It's an older TV and isn't the new modern flat/wide screen TV for a 5 star hotel. We ended up having to move room to another room that was on a floor upstairs. It wasn't much better but at least this time the TV worked. The bathroom has a large tub but I don't really need it b/c I don't take baths at hotels anyway. The shower has marble tiles but older and has a lot of calcium build-ups.. I did use the gym one time during my stay and they do have a nice workout facility but I think it's also a local gym for other locals to use as well. For the price I paid, it was in a great location and liveable, but it's in need of a renovation and some updates to be a 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Cairns is better to me than it was in Melbourne. I bought some souvenirs in Melbourne and found them for a lot cheaper in Cairns. There were a lot of backpackers in Cairns and they're pretty friendly people. The locals are pretty friendly as well. I love the night markets. There were restaurants everywhere so it was hard to choose which one to eat at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kate Allison T.
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Shangri-La, Cairns - 5 Star?

Hotel is not a 5-star property; needs to be updated badly. I've stayed at the Hilton next door and it's much better, room decor, lobby reception, restaurant choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Jul 26, 2009

Cairns Hotel

The hotel overlooked the marina and was convenient to anyone taking a tour out of the marina building. There are lots of restaurants right below and the views are great. The staff was professional and helpful. The fans in the room should have been cleaned, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top