$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't... See full review

  • Skylacer
  • Apr 23, 2012
Shangri-la paradise

I booked this last minute not really knowing what to expect and not knowing exactly how close it... See full review

  • shirlsails
  • Dec 3, 2011
Upscale Cairns hotel offers 5-star luxury where the city meets the sea
The Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns enjoys a premier location overlooking the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet, where the water meets rainforest-covered mountains. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Pier at the Marina, a popular mixed-use waterfront development that also serves as the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. Light, airy rooms and suites at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns combine chic style and at-home (or even-better-than-home) comforts such as free Internet access and super-soft towels and bathrobes.
Highlights
  • Waterfront dining at NORTH Food & Wine on the Marina Dining Promenade
  • Local hot spot Ba8 Lounge Bar
  • Outdoor swimming pool and children's pool
  • Fitness center and sauna
  • Complimentary Internet access
Location
Fantastic views, top-notch dining and on-site recreation provide lasting memories of any stay at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns -- but its location is what bubbles to the top of this hotel's packed amenities list. Directly adjacent to the Marlin Marina, the hotel is convenient for all types of water activities. The Great Barrier Reef is an absolute must-see -- the world's largest coral reef is an hour by boat from the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Rooms
Clean lines, fresh shades of white, champagne and green, and stunning views have earned the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns the Best Deluxe Accommodation award from the Queensland Hotels Association. All 255 guest rooms and suites feature private balconies where guests savor sea breezes while overlooking the city, tropical gardens, Trinity Inlet or Marlin Marina.
 
Free broadband Internet access, in-room movies and 200-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets are standard amenities. Horizon Club rooms include club lounge access with complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. For additional space and upgrades such as flat-panel TVs and marble bathrooms, select a suite at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Transportation
  • Cairns Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Cairns Railway Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Airport transportation available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Cairns Regional Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cairns Convention Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cairns Central shopping center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Cairns Civic Theatre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Skyrail Rainforest Cableway (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Videoconferencing facilities
  • Translation services
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 400 people
  • Boardrooms and meeting rooms available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. Rooms

Horizon Club Room
The more you travel, the more life's little luxuries become absolute necessities. Shangri-La has created an exclusive retreat, where you can experience a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of privileges and amenities. Free Broadband Internet Access
Executive Suite
Shangri-La's Executive Suites overlook the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet. Executive Suite guests enjoy with our compliments breakfast and evening cocktails served in the exclusive Horizon Club.
Supeiror Room
Comfort and elegance define Superior Rooms, which are decorated with modern touches and wood accents with Free Broadband Internet Access
Superior BayView Room
Breathtaking views of Trinity Bay and points beyond add to the room's exquisite comforts, making for a productive and peaceful stay. Free Broadband Internet Access
Deluxe Marina View
With commanding views of Marlin Marina, these rooms capture the ocean side lifestyle of Australia's Tropical North. Free Broadband Internet Access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens: 2.2 mi
  • Cazalys Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Trinity Inlet: 2.8 mi
  • Flying Doctor Service: 3.1 mi
  • Whitfield Conservation Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayview Heights Golf Course: 3.7 mi
  • Machans Beach: 5.2 mi
  • Undersea World: 5.9 mi
  • Holloways Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Tjapukai: 7.4 mi
  • Cairns Rainforest Cableway: 7.5 mi
  • Yorkeys Knob Beach: 8.6 mi
  • Aj Hackett Bungy: 9.3 mi
  • Kewarra Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Clifton Beach: 12.9 mi
  • Cairns Northern Beaches: 13 mi
  • Cairns Tropical Zoo: 13.6 mi
  • Ellis Beach: 15.4 mi
  • Hartleys Crocodile Adventures: 20.8 mi
  • Paronella Park: 52.2 mi

Dining

North Food & Wine
North Food & Wine is the welcoming point for diners and serves a generous selection of boutique wines, local and international beers and spirits, as will a long list of sensational cocktails, and a snack menu, From the bar, guests can move to the restaurant where the expertise of internationally accomplished chefs, fresh local produce and selection of affordable dining options are complemented by open kitchens and stylish decor. North is open for Breakfast and Dinner, every day. There are also vegetarian options on the menu, and special dietary requirements are catered for. Relax at North for the Sunday Family Brunch or select North as the venue for an upcoming event for function.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 47
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lotta Traveller
Business
California
Nov 4, 2013

A tired property

Good Location. The suite was laid out beautifully. But...the carpet was stained around the edges, the last paint job was sloppy, the furniture showed wear, and the toilet didn't work. All it needed was carefully done maintenance. Hope your stay will be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skylacer
Business
Annapolis, MD, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't have been better placed, we simply dressed and walked 3 or 4 minutes to the dive boat on Pier E - the same on return to our room and hot shower. The staff was super friendly and probably the most helpful of anywhere we've stayed. I was also able to grab a last minute swim suit at the collocated shopping center. We had a balcony room which overlooked the ocean, the bath was large and clean, the bed super comfy, and the best restaurants in town all within a few minutes walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barnacle Bill's had great seafood, and the Asian markets nearby offered souvenirs at reduced prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turtlelover
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 4, 2012

Brief stop in Cairns

The hotel was beautiful and in a fantastic location....right on the coast, and within steps of the ferry building. We had taken the ferry to Green Island for a couple of days, so this was very convenient. The only problem with the Shangri-La was the guy at the concierge/local travel desk. He told us it was not possible to rent a car on Sunday, that all the car rental places were closed. This was not true....we wanted to drive north, and so DID find a car rental place that was open. We had a great day and enjoyed the cool weather and great sights north of Cairns, instead of the hot steamy weather in Cairns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get outta town! We rented a car and drove an hour or so north to Palm Cove, Port Douglas and the southern part of the Daintree rainforest. Cool! Have lunch at Vivo in Palm Cove, and a sunset view dinner at On the Inlet in Port Douglas. We enjoyed an Australian chardonnay and ate a big bowl of fresh boiled prawns while watching the sun set -Wow!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Average Jane
Business
United States
Mar 30, 2012

Worth every penny

Great experience - paid for the Horizon Club upgrade and had free breakfast, snacks and free drinks at night for happy hour with other hotel guests. Location couldn't have been better within walking distance of everything in town. The hotel staff was so wonderful that when we departed at 0430 on our last day - they offered and made take-away breakfast for our trip to the airport! I wouldn't stay in any other place in Cains - well worth the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Highly recommend Horizon Club. Drinks and apps from 1700-1900; great pre-game prior to hitting town or just a slow night in talking with other travelers about great sites to see in Cairns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tom houston10
Business
Houston
Feb 22, 2012

Great Location for Daily Excursions

Within minutes to docks so daily trip excursions to great barrier reef was just walking down the street. Also walking distance to esplanade lagoon and shops and restaurants. Staff was great and very friendly. Room was large but the condition of the bathroom was a little worn down from over the years. I was expecting a little more for a 4-5 stars hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMgl
Business
Chicago
Sep 21, 2011

Disappointment

The room was small with a stained (in several places) rug and in need of paint. Room service needed to be called twice in order to get ice delivered on at least three occassions. We were "upgraded" to a city view which is meaningless from the fourth floor overlooking the parking lot. Very long walk from elevators to our room - no kidding it was probably 1/4 mile. Stubbed my toe and hit my hip on furniture trying to get to bathroom during the night. Extremely narrow walkway not only hard for an adult to walk thru but had to maneuver suitcase through too. Restaurants were good but noisy and crowded until late on Saturday night so too loud to leave windows open. Staff was pleasant but even that could not overcome the disadvantages. Definitely would not recomment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sawadee Kup
Business
Hong Kong
Sep 12, 2011

Memorable moment

The hotel is definitely situated in the best location in Cairns, and I spend the most happiest moment there with the one I love, with never forget this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 9, 2011

Shangra-La

Hotel is well situated in Cairns. It is within walking distance to all the resturants and shops in the central area. Rooms are a bit plain for my taste. Lots of hard surfaces and white paint. Overall it is a nice hotel. The only complaint is that the corridors are way too long and the decor is a bit tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjtoncc
Business
S.E. Massachusetts
Feb 27, 2011

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

There are a lot of nice hotels in Cairns and Shagri-La is certainly one of the better ones. Situated right on the harbor where there is direct access to a dozen restaurants. Rooms were spacious and the hotel had an upscale boutique feel. We usually stay at Marriotts and this hotel was certainly on par. Staff was superb. One morning they opened the bar just for me so I could watch a football game back in the States on the satellite TV. We got reliable information on restaurants and tours from both the bell captain and concierge. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from just about anywhere you would want to go including restaurants, shopping and the train to Kuranda. They also stored our luggage while we spent a couple of nights out on the reef.[...]Bad news is that they don't have hotels in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk. I don't remember the name, but just outside the hotel on the other side of the marina entrance there's a great Moroccan restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gazza, Dad-in-law
Business
Greensborough, Victoria
Nov 14, 2010

It was fantastic

It was excellant. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just relax and enjoy it, because it is a fabulous place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top