$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
83 reviews
Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't... See full review

  • Skylacer
  • Apr 23, 2012
Shangri-la paradise

I booked this last minute not really knowing what to expect and not knowing exactly how close it... See full review

  • shirlsails
  • Dec 3, 2011
Upscale Cairns hotel offers 5-star luxury where the city meets the sea
The Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns enjoys a premier location overlooking the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet, where the water meets rainforest-covered mountains. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Pier at the Marina, a popular mixed-use waterfront development that also serves as the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. Light, airy rooms and suites at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns combine chic style and at-home (or even-better-than-home) comforts such as free Internet access and super-soft towels and bathrobes.
Highlights
  • Waterfront dining at NORTH Food & Wine on the Marina Dining Promenade
  • Local hot spot Ba8 Lounge Bar
  • Outdoor swimming pool and children's pool
  • Fitness center and sauna
  • Complimentary Internet access
Location
Fantastic views, top-notch dining and on-site recreation provide lasting memories of any stay at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns -- but its location is what bubbles to the top of this hotel's packed amenities list. Directly adjacent to the Marlin Marina, the hotel is convenient for all types of water activities. The Great Barrier Reef is an absolute must-see -- the world's largest coral reef is an hour by boat from the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Rooms
Clean lines, fresh shades of white, champagne and green, and stunning views have earned the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns the Best Deluxe Accommodation award from the Queensland Hotels Association. All 255 guest rooms and suites feature private balconies where guests savor sea breezes while overlooking the city, tropical gardens, Trinity Inlet or Marlin Marina.
 
Free broadband Internet access, in-room movies and 200-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets are standard amenities. Horizon Club rooms include club lounge access with complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. For additional space and upgrades such as flat-panel TVs and marble bathrooms, select a suite at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Transportation
  • Cairns Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Cairns Railway Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Airport transportation available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Cairns Regional Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cairns Convention Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cairns Central shopping center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Cairns Civic Theatre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Skyrail Rainforest Cableway (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Videoconferencing facilities
  • Translation services
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 400 people
  • Boardrooms and meeting rooms available

Hotel Map

-16.9196 145.7804
Area served
Cairns, Cairns Beach's, Palm Cove, Port Douglas
Nearby airports
Cairns International Airport - CNS 11km away.
Area description
As the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef Cairns core attractions revolve around the Water activities. Daily Dive trips for the novice to the professionals leave from the Marina early morning. But for those land lovers a favorite attraction is the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway and the Kuranda Scenic Railway Where one can take their time to explore the bustling Kuranda Township. Favorite include a walk through the rainforest. Photo stop at the Barron Rover Gorge and make sure have plenty of time to stroll through the markets withe their myriad delights of local food, produce, art, crafts and clothing. Tour Operations are abundant as there are over 600 daily city and outbound activities daily. For those that like to get airborne, Seaplanes, Helicopters and Hot Air Ballooning are the way to go. World Class Golf courses are located only minutes from the hotel and the city center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. Rooms

Executive Suite
Shangri-La's Executive Suites overlook the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet. Executive Suite guests enjoy with our compliments breakfast and evening cocktails served in the exclusive Horizon Club.
Horizon Club Room
The more you travel, the more life's little luxuries become absolute necessities. Shangri-La has created an exclusive retreat, where you can experience a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of privileges and amenities. Free Broadband Internet Access
Supeiror Room
Comfort and elegance define Superior Rooms, which are decorated with modern touches and wood accents with Free Broadband Internet Access
Superior BayView Room
Breathtaking views of Trinity Bay and points beyond add to the room's exquisite comforts, making for a productive and peaceful stay. Free Broadband Internet Access
Deluxe Marina View
With commanding views of Marlin Marina, these rooms capture the ocean side lifestyle of Australia's Tropical North. Free Broadband Internet Access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens: 2.2 mi
  • Cazalys Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Trinity Inlet: 2.8 mi
  • Flying Doctor Service: 3.1 mi
  • Whitfield Conservation Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayview Heights Golf Course: 3.7 mi
  • Machans Beach: 5.2 mi
  • Undersea World: 5.9 mi
  • Holloways Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Tjapukai: 7.4 mi
  • Cairns Rainforest Cableway: 7.5 mi
  • Yorkeys Knob Beach: 8.6 mi
  • Aj Hackett Bungy: 9.3 mi
  • Kewarra Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Clifton Beach: 12.9 mi
  • Cairns Northern Beaches: 13 mi
  • Cairns Tropical Zoo: 13.6 mi
  • Ellis Beach: 15.4 mi
  • Hartleys Crocodile Adventures: 20.8 mi
  • Paronella Park: 52.2 mi

Dining

North Food & Wine
North Food & Wine is the welcoming point for diners and serves a generous selection of boutique wines, local and international beers and spirits, as will a long list of sensational cocktails, and a snack menu, From the bar, guests can move to the restaurant where the expertise of internationally accomplished chefs, fresh local produce and selection of affordable dining options are complemented by open kitchens and stylish decor. North is open for Breakfast and Dinner, every day. There are also vegetarian options on the menu, and special dietary requirements are catered for. Relax at North for the Sunday Family Brunch or select North as the venue for an upcoming event for function.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skylacer
Annapolis, MD, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't have been better placed, we simply dressed and walked 3 or 4 minutes to the dive boat on Pier E - the same on return to our room and hot shower. The staff was super friendly and probably the most helpful of anywhere we've stayed. I was also able to grab a last minute swim suit at the collocated shopping center. We had a balcony room which overlooked the ocean, the bath was large and clean, the bed super comfy, and the best restaurants in town all within a few minutes walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barnacle Bill's had great seafood, and the Asian markets nearby offered souvenirs at reduced prices.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon Lew
San Mato, CA
Dec 9, 2009

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns

My long lost ergonomic pillow.... When I checked out at 7am, I had forgotten my pillow. I returned late evening. The clerk who tried to help me had a tearful emotional breakdown. Another staff member assisted but was unsuccessful. I returned the next morning. The bellboy working the morning shift was extremely helpful. He notified housekeeping but everyone was in a staff meeting. He went out of his way to personally locate my pillow but no success. After waiting for an hour, I decided to return in the late afternoon. Finally, the manager at the front desk asked the housekeeping supervisor to assist. With the help of the bellboy and the housekeeping supervisor, my pillow was finally located. The pillow was still in the room where I had previously occupied (even after someone had checked in and out the night before). I'm writing to tell the staff I am extremely appreciative for their help. This pillow was specifically designed for my neck as it helps to relieve my back pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are scuba diving in the outer reef, I would STRONGLY recommend hiring a private divemaster and boat. You would receive far more time underwater, attention and quality for your time and money.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Nov 4, 2009

Cairns is not my favorite

The room was generous and the bed was very comfy... other than that the hotel was not very friendly. Poor signage ( this is true almost everywhere in Austrailia), all info about the hotel was on TV which was not user friendly and when finally decoded the info was worthless. Elevators did not always work well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cairns reminds be over Myrtle Beach SC, only even more tacky. If you are there for the Great Barrier Reef and the Rain Forest, try staying in Port Douglas instead.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Nov 4, 2009

Cairns is not my favorite

The room was generous and the bed was very comfy... other than that the hotel was not very friendly. Poor signage ( this is true almost everywhere in Austrailia), all info about the hotel was on TV which was not user friendly and when finally decoded the info was worthless. Elevators did not always work well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cairns reminds be over Myrtle Beach SC, only even more tacky. If you are there for the Great Barrier Reef and the Rain Forest, try staying in Port Douglas instead.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Oct 12, 2009

great location!

Book the Marina view 1br suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Oct 12, 2009

great location!

Book the Marina view 1br suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,Ma
Oct 4, 2009

shangrila

The hotel was OK- nothing great but it was clean with comfortable beds and a good location for catching boat out to the Great Barrier Reef. Palm Cove and Port Douglas seem like much nicer towns but Cairns is convenient to the airport and boats to the great Barrier Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Spirit cruises was a wonderful trip out to the great barrier reef.Rent a car for the drive up to Daintree.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,Ma
Oct 4, 2009

shangrila

The hotel was OK- nothing great but it was clean with comfortable beds and a good location for catching boat out to the Great Barrier Reef. Palm Cove and Port Douglas seem like much nicer towns but Cairns is convenient to the airport and boats to the great Barrier Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Spirit cruises was a wonderful trip out to the great barrier reef.Rent a car for the drive up to Daintree.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gig
Seattle, WA
Sep 26, 2009

Price, location and a view...

Only steps to excellent dining, to the dock to catch the boat for snorkeling/scuba and to the town center for an assortment of things to do. The view of the marina topped it off with a relaxing environment and friendly service staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 20 steps to the marina!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gig
Seattle, WA
Sep 26, 2009

Price, location and a view...

Only steps to excellent dining, to the dock to catch the boat for snorkeling/scuba and to the town center for an assortment of things to do. The view of the marina topped it off with a relaxing environment and friendly service staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 20 steps to the marina!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Sep 16, 2009

Great, But Freezing and Noisy Room

The Shangri-La was an amazing hotel. We stayed on the Horizon Club level (i think that was the name) and checking in couldn't be easier. Staying on this floor gains you access to free breakfest and afternoon appitizers and drinks. this was definately worth the extra money for the room. the room was great and very modern. nice large and comfy bed with an amazing view of the marina and bay. I had 2 large complaints that mostly dinged my score of the place, especially since we paid extra horizon club floor. We were there in August and the rooms were freezing cold. AC is on full time, and there was no way to turn it off. the staffs only recommendation was to keep the doors open or use an extra blanket on the bed. This plays right into my second complaint. the room was right above a bar with live bands and blazing music til late. So while trying to stay warm we not only let a bunch of bugs in, but we also had to endure the really loud bar noises. These two things made it hard to relax in the room and get a good nights rest. Overall the staff was really friendly and helpful. the free breakfest was nice. the room looked amazing. but if you go in the winter time, dont expect ot relax in the room without being dressed in pants and sweaters. and if you need to get to sleep early make sure you've got a good set of ear plugs or tossed back a couple of VB's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tusa Dive boat was an amazing way to see some of the spectacular outter reefs!

Back to menu Return to top