$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
131 reviews
xmas break

My girlfriends and I spent 1 night at Shangri La for our annual xmas celebration. We were offerred... See full review

  • Gabz77
  • Dec 24, 2013
Incredible views

Really helpful friendly staff. Great amenities. Very comfortable, large, clean rooms. Fantastic... See full review

  • Kittycat
  • Jul 2, 2013
Upscale Cairns hotel offers 5-star luxury where the city meets the sea
The Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns enjoys a premier location overlooking the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet, where the water meets rainforest-covered mountains. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Pier at the Marina, a popular mixed-use waterfront development that also serves as the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. Light, airy rooms and suites at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns combine chic style and at-home (or even-better-than-home) comforts such as free Internet access and super-soft towels and bathrobes.
Highlights
  • Waterfront dining at NORTH Food & Wine on the Marina Dining Promenade
  • Local hot spot Ba8 Lounge Bar
  • Outdoor swimming pool and children's pool
  • Fitness center and sauna
  • Complimentary Internet access
Location
Fantastic views, top-notch dining and on-site recreation provide lasting memories of any stay at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns -- but its location is what bubbles to the top of this hotel's packed amenities list. Directly adjacent to the Marlin Marina, the hotel is convenient for all types of water activities. The Great Barrier Reef is an absolute must-see -- the world's largest coral reef is an hour by boat from the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Rooms
Clean lines, fresh shades of white, champagne and green, and stunning views have earned the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns the Best Deluxe Accommodation award from the Queensland Hotels Association. All 255 guest rooms and suites feature private balconies where guests savor sea breezes while overlooking the city, tropical gardens, Trinity Inlet or Marlin Marina.
 
Free broadband Internet access, in-room movies and 200-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets are standard amenities. Horizon Club rooms include club lounge access with complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. For additional space and upgrades such as flat-panel TVs and marble bathrooms, select a suite at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Transportation
  • Cairns Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Cairns Railway Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Airport transportation available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Cairns Regional Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cairns Convention Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cairns Central shopping center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Cairns Civic Theatre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Skyrail Rainforest Cableway (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Videoconferencing facilities
  • Translation services
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 400 people
  • Boardrooms and meeting rooms available

Hotel Map

-16.9196 145.7804
Area served
Cairns, Cairns Beach's, Palm Cove, Port Douglas
Nearby airports
Cairns International Airport - CNS 11km away.
Area description
As the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef Cairns core attractions revolve around the Water activities. Daily Dive trips for the novice to the professionals leave from the Marina early morning. But for those land lovers a favorite attraction is the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway and the Kuranda Scenic Railway Where one can take their time to explore the bustling Kuranda Township. Favorite include a walk through the rainforest. Photo stop at the Barron Rover Gorge and make sure have plenty of time to stroll through the markets withe their myriad delights of local food, produce, art, crafts and clothing. Tour Operations are abundant as there are over 600 daily city and outbound activities daily. For those that like to get airborne, Seaplanes, Helicopters and Hot Air Ballooning are the way to go. World Class Golf courses are located only minutes from the hotel and the city center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. Rooms

Executive Suite
Shangri-La's Executive Suites overlook the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet. Executive Suite guests enjoy with our compliments breakfast and evening cocktails served in the exclusive Horizon Club.
Horizon Club Room
The more you travel, the more life's little luxuries become absolute necessities. Shangri-La has created an exclusive retreat, where you can experience a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of privileges and amenities. Free Broadband Internet Access
Supeiror Room
Comfort and elegance define Superior Rooms, which are decorated with modern touches and wood accents with Free Broadband Internet Access
Superior BayView Room
Breathtaking views of Trinity Bay and points beyond add to the room's exquisite comforts, making for a productive and peaceful stay. Free Broadband Internet Access
Deluxe Marina View
With commanding views of Marlin Marina, these rooms capture the ocean side lifestyle of Australia's Tropical North. Free Broadband Internet Access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens: 2.2 mi
  • Cazalys Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Trinity Inlet: 2.8 mi
  • Flying Doctor Service: 3.1 mi
  • Whitfield Conservation Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayview Heights Golf Course: 3.7 mi
  • Machans Beach: 5.2 mi
  • Undersea World: 5.9 mi
  • Holloways Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Tjapukai: 7.4 mi
  • Cairns Rainforest Cableway: 7.5 mi
  • Yorkeys Knob Beach: 8.6 mi
  • Aj Hackett Bungy: 9.3 mi
  • Kewarra Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Clifton Beach: 12.9 mi
  • Cairns Northern Beaches: 13 mi
  • Cairns Tropical Zoo: 13.6 mi
  • Ellis Beach: 15.4 mi
  • Hartleys Crocodile Adventures: 20.8 mi
  • Paronella Park: 52.2 mi

Dining

North Food & Wine
North Food & Wine is the welcoming point for diners and serves a generous selection of boutique wines, local and international beers and spirits, as will a long list of sensational cocktails, and a snack menu, From the bar, guests can move to the restaurant where the expertise of internationally accomplished chefs, fresh local produce and selection of affordable dining options are complemented by open kitchens and stylish decor. North is open for Breakfast and Dinner, every day. There are also vegetarian options on the menu, and special dietary requirements are catered for. Relax at North for the Sunday Family Brunch or select North as the venue for an upcoming event for function.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skylacer
Annapolis, MD, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't have been better placed, we simply dressed and walked 3 or 4 minutes to the dive boat on Pier E - the same on return to our room and hot shower. The staff was super friendly and probably the most helpful of anywhere we've stayed. I was also able to grab a last minute swim suit at the collocated shopping center. We had a balcony room which overlooked the ocean, the bath was large and clean, the bed super comfy, and the best restaurants in town all within a few minutes walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barnacle Bill's had great seafood, and the Asian markets nearby offered souvenirs at reduced prices.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 11, 2011

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina Cairns

Very nice room, extremely helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjtoncc
S.E. Massachusetts
Feb 27, 2011

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

There are a lot of nice hotels in Cairns and Shagri-La is certainly one of the better ones. Situated right on the harbor where there is direct access to a dozen restaurants. Rooms were spacious and the hotel had an upscale boutique feel. We usually stay at Marriotts and this hotel was certainly on par. Staff was superb. One morning they opened the bar just for me so I could watch a football game back in the States on the satellite TV. We got reliable information on restaurants and tours from both the bell captain and concierge. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from just about anywhere you would want to go including restaurants, shopping and the train to Kuranda. They also stored our luggage while we spent a couple of nights out on the reef.[...]Bad news is that they don't have hotels in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk. I don't remember the name, but just outside the hotel on the other side of the marina entrance there's a great Moroccan restaurant.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 14, 2011

Shangri-La Cairns

Location was great. We walked to shop, its across the street. Two blocks down there is a McDonalds and 4 doors from that is a "night Market" which opens every day of the year at 4:30 pm til 11 pm. They have lots of Souveniers and opals and anything you would want. There is also a food court there. The hotel itself needed to have the carpet replaced, it is a rainforest there, so there is a moldy smell. Also, when walking to the pool it has lots of mold and is very slippery! This was a weak after the Cyclone hit there, but not really any damage in this particular area, but the pool and whirlpool really needed to have maintence done, as there was debris in the them the entire stay, so I'm not sure if they have a pool person! Overall it was a nice place, the bed was great, but it is dark with not a lot of lighting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just on the other end of the Pier, there are restaraunts that are more "inexpensive". They have daily specials, but the two on the far end have (example) a Steak Sandwich, Fries and a glass of beer, wine or pop for $10. Great deal, as the food in Australia was very expensive!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jan 8, 2011

We arrived early and were unable

We arrived early and were unable to check in , so we were shown to the early arrivals lounge to wait. We were told we could shower there and have a cup of coffee. The early arrivals lounge is not up to standard. Not clean, not stocked, eg, the shower gel receptacle was empty, so was the hand wash gel receptacle. No milk for coffee or tea. It was dirty, and substandard. It was not comfortable enough to stay for even 5 minutes. The actual hotel rooms are ok but really , the impression one gets of a hotel starts from the beginning and the early arrivals lounge was terrible, it made us unsure of whether we bked the right hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kihei, HI
Dec 26, 2010

Great location, nice hotel

Staff was very nice. Hotel was clean and really liked the rooms. They also had free wi-fi which was great! The hotel was located right next to the marina where our Great Barrier Reef Snorkeling tour was so the location could not be any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Dec 22, 2010

WONDERUL SERVICE - BEAUTIFUL ROOMS

Great Location- fabulous staff and concierge was above and beyond. A strong 4 star hotel. Best hotel right in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To save lots of money ask a cab driver at the airport if he will take you touring on a private basis. You will save a tremendous amount of money and get to see Port Douglas as well as Daintree

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Dec 15, 2010

Great location with all the required

Great location with all the required amentities close by. Free car parking was a plus. Staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick
Not Provided
Nov 27, 2010

Excellent hotel, friendly staff,

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, great service. I look forward to my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gazza, Dad-in-law
Greensborough, Victoria
Nov 14, 2010

It was fantastic

It was excellant. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just relax and enjoy it, because it is a fabulous place

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harry
Not Provided
Nov 3, 2010

We were very unimpressed with

We were very unimpressed with this hotel and based on the room rate we paid there are a lot of other hotel options that are better value for money. Very nice location but is in need of a good refurbishment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search