Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
View map of 1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shirlsails
Washington, DC
Dec 3, 2011

Shangri-la paradise

I booked this last minute not really knowing what to expect and not knowing exactly how close it was to the water. Wow!!! The hotel is steps from the marina walkway and restaurants and trip bookings were literally at the hotel front door step. The staff were amazing, friendly and were from different parts of the world which i thought added to the charm and world experiences I was looking for. The rooms were spotless and even on days when i forgot to put a "please clean my room" card on the door, I came back to a clean and made up room. I would definitely book this hotel again if i came back to Cairns. The location and customer service was spot on. Definitely the location of this hotel gives you the sense of seeing the true waterfront area. Sipping lattes every morning while watching the sailboats in the marina was unmatched to any other hotel facing the marina for that price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in the hotel and within 2 mins walk of the hotel was all expensive, however all dining out in Cairns seemed expensive compared to the US and Canada. However, if you walk an extra 3 mins away from the main shopping and eating area, there are little "night markets" that offer food court options which were slightly lower priced. And if worse came to worse, there is always the local hamburger chain with economically priced meals.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Aug 15, 2009

Great Service, Location

Great anchoring point for exploring Cairns and the Reef - right next to the marina where boat tours leave from, and a ton of great restaurants right in the same complex. The pool was very nice/big/comfortable, except that the water was frigid - even cooler than the ocean! Service was fantastic. Specifically, front desk clerk Andre (only a trainee, but wonderful!) was very attentive and helpful both at check in and throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to get on one of the smaller boats if you're going out to the Reef - your snorkeling or diving experience will be much more fun when there are fewer people to bump into!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Jul 26, 2009

Cairns Hotel

The hotel overlooked the marina and was convenient to anyone taking a tour out of the marina building. There are lots of restaurants right below and the views are great. The staff was professional and helpful. The fans in the room should have been cleaned, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jul 18, 2009

Great place with great location

Great location on the Marina. Short walk to tour boats to Great Barrier Reef. Right down town with many restaurants in the shopping center at the base of the hotel, and many other restaurants and shops in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 12, 2009

Shangri La Cairns

Very good hotel, not a 5 star though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo,Japan
Jun 4, 2009

Fantastic Hotel!

There was big bathtab. There was balcony. There was sofa and table. I relly spent goot time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many restaurant with seeing ocean on the street.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J1mboz
Business
Chino Hills, CA
May 2, 2009

Perfect location, worth the money

The location at the marina was perfect. Our room overlooked the marina, and came with a large balcony that we enjoyed every evening, looking out at the marina and the lights glancing off the water. And the hotel's concierge, [...], was fabulous. He was always there with a friendly hello and always remembered us by our last names. The staff welcomes you like a family. We added the Horizon Club, that gave us a very well established breakfast buffet, outside at the marina, as well as a very impressive assortment of evening appetizers, that included all sorts of wines, beers and soft drinks. What's not to love? This hotel actually exceeded our expectations. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's just a very short walk (1-2 minutes) away from tour boats, and actually across the street from helicopters. No need to rent a car if you stay here. And downtown Cairns is also a peaceful walk right around the corner with lots of nice restaurants and shops along the way.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feedmethai
Business
Vegas
Apr 22, 2009

nice hotel, good location, great staff

I expected a more high end interior based on the brand. The staff was GREAT. Very good pool but thought (based on brand) the bar at the pool would be better stocked. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat the breakfast buffet off the lobby in the Ba8 bar. Very expensive. In the mall past the fitness center is a coffee shop with great stuff & good prices.

Back to menu Return to top