$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
View map of 1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon Lew
Business
San Mato, CA
Dec 9, 2009

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns

My long lost ergonomic pillow.... When I checked out at 7am, I had forgotten my pillow. I returned late evening. The clerk who tried to help me had a tearful emotional breakdown. Another staff member assisted but was unsuccessful. I returned the next morning. The bellboy working the morning shift was extremely helpful. He notified housekeeping but everyone was in a staff meeting. He went out of his way to personally locate my pillow but no success. After waiting for an hour, I decided to return in the late afternoon. Finally, the manager at the front desk asked the housekeeping supervisor to assist. With the help of the bellboy and the housekeeping supervisor, my pillow was finally located. The pillow was still in the room where I had previously occupied (even after someone had checked in and out the night before). I'm writing to tell the staff I am extremely appreciative for their help. This pillow was specifically designed for my neck as it helps to relieve my back pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are scuba diving in the outer reef, I would STRONGLY recommend hiring a private divemaster and boat. You would receive far more time underwater, attention and quality for your time and money.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 4, 2009

Cairns is not my favorite

The room was generous and the bed was very comfy... other than that the hotel was not very friendly. Poor signage ( this is true almost everywhere in Austrailia), all info about the hotel was on TV which was not user friendly and when finally decoded the info was worthless. Elevators did not always work well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cairns reminds be over Myrtle Beach SC, only even more tacky. If you are there for the Great Barrier Reef and the Rain Forest, try staying in Port Douglas instead.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Oct 12, 2009

great location!

Book the Marina view 1br suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,Ma
Oct 4, 2009

shangrila

The hotel was OK- nothing great but it was clean with comfortable beds and a good location for catching boat out to the Great Barrier Reef. Palm Cove and Port Douglas seem like much nicer towns but Cairns is convenient to the airport and boats to the great Barrier Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Spirit cruises was a wonderful trip out to the great barrier reef.Rent a car for the drive up to Daintree.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gig
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 26, 2009

Price, location and a view...

Only steps to excellent dining, to the dock to catch the boat for snorkeling/scuba and to the town center for an assortment of things to do. The view of the marina topped it off with a relaxing environment and friendly service staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 20 steps to the marina!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 16, 2009

Great, But Freezing and Noisy Room

The Shangri-La was an amazing hotel. We stayed on the Horizon Club level (i think that was the name) and checking in couldn't be easier. Staying on this floor gains you access to free breakfest and afternoon appitizers and drinks. this was definately worth the extra money for the room. the room was great and very modern. nice large and comfy bed with an amazing view of the marina and bay. I had 2 large complaints that mostly dinged my score of the place, especially since we paid extra horizon club floor. We were there in August and the rooms were freezing cold. AC is on full time, and there was no way to turn it off. the staffs only recommendation was to keep the doors open or use an extra blanket on the bed. This plays right into my second complaint. the room was right above a bar with live bands and blazing music til late. So while trying to stay warm we not only let a bunch of bugs in, but we also had to endure the really loud bar noises. These two things made it hard to relax in the room and get a good nights rest. Overall the staff was really friendly and helpful. the free breakfest was nice. the room looked amazing. but if you go in the winter time, dont expect ot relax in the room without being dressed in pants and sweaters. and if you need to get to sleep early make sure you've got a good set of ear plugs or tossed back a couple of VB's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tusa Dive boat was an amazing way to see some of the spectacular outter reefs!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unsatisfied Honeymooners
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 13, 2009

Not a 5 star hotel.

I have stayed at plenty of Shangri-La Hotels in the past and this one does not even come close to the others. The service here is horrible, pool is dirty and overall not a great experience. I can't believe they could call themselves a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankE
Business
Frankenmuth, MI
Sep 11, 2009

Great staff

This hotel has great staff, friendly, helpful. Also a great location for great barrier reef departure tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Join the free hotel program at check-in and the breakfast buffet is 50% off. If you like to eat a great breakfast this is it.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kate Allison T.
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Shangri-La, Cairns - 5 Star?

Hotel is not a 5-star property; needs to be updated badly. I've stayed at the Hilton next door and it's much better, room decor, lobby reception, restaurant choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
howlintom
Business
Austin, Tx
Aug 16, 2009

Great location, next to the dive boats

The Shangri-La was the perfect location for our trip to Cairns. We could easily walk to the wharf where the snorkeling and dive boats launched. Also, there was a small mall with several bars and restaurants on the ground floor. The service was very professional. Bathroom had separate tub which my travel partner really enjoyed. Balcony with chairs and table, large bedroom area. Our room was on the harbor side, which I would highly recommend for the view. I would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was that the pool wasn't heated in the winter. Too cold for me to stay in for long, and I am used to cold water. It was a shame, because it was a fabulous pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top