$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
View map of 1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Dec 22, 2010

WONDERUL SERVICE - BEAUTIFUL ROOMS

Great Location- fabulous staff and concierge was above and beyond. A strong 4 star hotel. Best hotel right in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To save lots of money ask a cab driver at the airport if he will take you touring on a private basis. You will save a tremendous amount of money and get to see Port Douglas as well as Daintree

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gazza, Dad-in-law
Business
Greensborough, Victoria
Nov 14, 2010

It was fantastic

It was excellant. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just relax and enjoy it, because it is a fabulous place

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, Ohio
Oct 12, 2010

Great hotel in beautiful surroundings

Because I had a 5 a.m. flight out the next morning, my daughter, her 1-year-old and I booked the room to be close to the airport. It was a lovely room and good walking distance of the Esplanade in Cairns. I was sorry we didn't have time to enjoy all the amenities offered. The hotel staff picked up my luggage in the room, brought the car out of the garage for my trip to the airport, then my daughter returned to get some more rest before checkout time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to Cairns airport

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awesome aussie experience
Business
Japan
Sep 29, 2010

great location

Had a great time, perfect location! No need for a car, almost everything was within walking distance and if it wasn't it usually included van transfers. Could get a little loud, especially on the weekends with the want to be club downstairs. Be careful of the over zealous cleaning ladies. They like to throw anything away if it is within three feet of the trash can (even if it is on the desk or table) So we lost some very important paper work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the information center! They are great with adventures ideas, bookings, and awesome dining information!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, fl
Jul 22, 2010

Great Hotel

Great staff, allowed us to even check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Luc
Business
Makati, Philippines
Apr 18, 2010

Great room and location, shame in a mall

Was at this hotel only 14 hours, between flights. The room was very nice, definitely a strong 4 star room (or lower 5 star), big comfortable bed, nice wood floors, big and stylish bathroom. Only problem is that TV was rather small, and in a sub-optimal position to be watched from the bed. The pool area look lovely and relaxing. The location was ideal for the jetty from which most boats leave for the Gt Barrier Reef. I even managed to do a half day to Green Island and make it with time to spare to my 15:20 flight. Another plus is that although I couldn't do a late check out at 14:00 hrs, I was able to use the "early check-in lounge" where I could shower and change. My main disappointment is that this hotel is part of shopping mall, and the lobby is very soul-less. More importantly, when I walked arount at 21:30 looking for a place to eat, restaurants were shut (unless I failed to find "North", supposedly the hotel's restaurant), and only bars were open. It was raining so I didn't feel like trying nearby hotels or restaurants. The room service menu was VERY limited and disappointing for a Shangri-La. So, if you know you can eat elsewhere in town, this is not a bad option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I failed to find a restaurant open at 9:30 pm in the mall in which the hotel is located, and room service menu was appallingly limited.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico, USA
Apr 7, 2010

Views, views, views

Views & convenience of balcony a plus. Withing walking distance of town & desirable restaurants. Fun watching the boardwalk in front of marina. In the middle of the action but still laid back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel sits on some swanky eateries, but a short walk away are a diverse selection of more cost effective and good restaurants catering to all tastes.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newanda
Business
USA
Mar 19, 2010

It's ok for the price

The hotel is in a nice location and the room is large enough. However, it could use some updates. The first room I got was on the 1st floor and it's older but decent. Not as nice and clean as I would have thought for a 5 stars. I had a hard time getting my internet to work and have to have someone come to help me get it working. The person who came to help was nice and friendly. After I have unpacked and checked out the town, I came back to the room and turned on the TV but it wasn't working. I had someone from the staff came to check and still didn't work. It's an older TV and isn't the new modern flat/wide screen TV for a 5 star hotel. We ended up having to move room to another room that was on a floor upstairs. It wasn't much better but at least this time the TV worked. The bathroom has a large tub but I don't really need it b/c I don't take baths at hotels anyway. The shower has marble tiles but older and has a lot of calcium build-ups.. I did use the gym one time during my stay and they do have a nice workout facility but I think it's also a local gym for other locals to use as well. For the price I paid, it was in a great location and liveable, but it's in need of a renovation and some updates to be a 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Cairns is better to me than it was in Melbourne. I bought some souvenirs in Melbourne and found them for a lot cheaper in Cairns. There were a lot of backpackers in Cairns and they're pretty friendly people. The locals are pretty friendly as well. I love the night markets. There were restaurants everywhere so it was hard to choose which one to eat at.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loafy
Business
Victoria, BC
Feb 11, 2010

Good Hotel

This hotel has a great location. We used the mini bar fridge to store groceries as the restaurants are quite expensive. Don't book your trips through the hotel as you can walk a block away and book them for cheaper at any travel agent on the esplanade. The air conditioner did have a bit of a musty smell but it is very humid in Cairns so its expected. The gym is fantastic and there is a small mall with internet access at the base of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savy Travelers
Business
Tampa, FL
Jan 3, 2010

Location! Location! Location!

Excellent Price, Service, Location, and Style. We weren't initially impressed with the hotels in Australia. Even expensive hotels located in Sydney and Melbourne. But, when we got to Cairns and stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel, we were happily surprised with the clean, modern, professional atmosphere at this hotel. We went to Cairns to dive the Great Barrier Reef. And, thankfully, the Shangri-La Hotel was overlooking the pier from which our dive boat left. We were delighted. It doesn't get much better than this place. When we needed any sort of service to our room, it was speedy (food came within 30 to 40 minutes and, at one point, we needed a telephone wire looked at, the serviceperson was there to help within 5 minutes . . . turned out, there was nothing wrong with the wire). Additionally, we had FREE internet service. It came with the room. We didn't find this anywhere else in Australia. Most hotels charged anywhere from $18.50 to $25.00/night. Thank you Shangri-La Hotel for excellent service. Note: the hotel was incredibly efficient at cleaning immediately after we left the room. We'd leave for an hour and the room was clean and tidy and replenished when we returned. There was never any delay and we stayed for a week. One note of caution, at check-in, we felt a little pushed to upgrade our hotel room. But, we were more than satisfied with the standard, supreme room that we had originally booked. Their cheapest seats were much less expensive and certainly nicer than the Marriott in Melbourne we stayed at. And, with Platinum membership we were upgraded to a higher level room at Marriott (with executive breakfast and all of the fancy amenities). We still felt the Shangri-La Hotel was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A walk from the hotel to the downtown area will take you about 3 minutes. Almost immediately across from the local McDonald's (yes, they have one), you will find a camera shop which rents out 12megapixel cameras for about $35.00/day or about $100.00 for 3 days. If you're going to do some diving, rent the camera. It also has video capabilities. This was the single most intelligent decision we made. Our pictures look incredibly professional. It takes a little effort to be patient and get a good shot, but, with a camera like that, it's not as difficult to find it. BTW: you're going to spend a lot on food no matter what you do. So, be prepared. If you want to save on that, find the "Cole's" supermarket at Central Station Shopping Center and stash some fruit and cold cuts in your fridge at the hotel. Also important to mention is that Kuronda is a terrible tourist trap. However, don't let that stop you from taking the Skyrail in and out of Kuronda. The train wasn't nearly as spectacular. If you're not afraid of heights, the skyrail over the rainforest is definitely a site to see. Just don't expect to stay in Kuronda more than 15 minutes to get off and get back on the skyrail.

Back to menu Return to top