$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
View map of 1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shirlsails
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 3, 2011

Shangri-la paradise

I booked this last minute not really knowing what to expect and not knowing exactly how close it was to the water. Wow!!! The hotel is steps from the marina walkway and restaurants and trip bookings were literally at the hotel front door step. The staff were amazing, friendly and were from different parts of the world which i thought added to the charm and world experiences I was looking for. The rooms were spotless and even on days when i forgot to put a "please clean my room" card on the door, I came back to a clean and made up room. I would definitely book this hotel again if i came back to Cairns. The location and customer service was spot on. Definitely the location of this hotel gives you the sense of seeing the true waterfront area. Sipping lattes every morning while watching the sailboats in the marina was unmatched to any other hotel facing the marina for that price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in the hotel and within 2 mins walk of the hotel was all expensive, however all dining out in Cairns seemed expensive compared to the US and Canada. However, if you walk an extra 3 mins away from the main shopping and eating area, there are little "night markets" that offer food court options which were slightly lower priced. And if worse came to worse, there is always the local hamburger chain with economically priced meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Subbu
Business
Chicago
Oct 11, 2011

Good hotel

Nice location, nice room and courteous staff. they have the tours on site so very helpful in that way. also the restaurants are close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMgl
Business
Chicago
Sep 21, 2011

Disappointment

The room was small with a stained (in several places) rug and in need of paint. Room service needed to be called twice in order to get ice delivered on at least three occassions. We were "upgraded" to a city view which is meaningless from the fourth floor overlooking the parking lot. Very long walk from elevators to our room - no kidding it was probably 1/4 mile. Stubbed my toe and hit my hip on furniture trying to get to bathroom during the night. Extremely narrow walkway not only hard for an adult to walk thru but had to maneuver suitcase through too. Restaurants were good but noisy and crowded until late on Saturday night so too loud to leave windows open. Staff was pleasant but even that could not overcome the disadvantages. Definitely would not recomment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sawadee Kup
Business
Hong Kong
Sep 12, 2011

Memorable moment

The hotel is definitely situated in the best location in Cairns, and I spend the most happiest moment there with the one I love, with never forget this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 9, 2011

Shangra-La

Hotel is well situated in Cairns. It is within walking distance to all the resturants and shops in the central area. Rooms are a bit plain for my taste. Lots of hard surfaces and white paint. Overall it is a nice hotel. The only complaint is that the corridors are way too long and the decor is a bit tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Jun 6, 2011

Great location

The location of this hotel was the best. Make sure to ask for a room with a view! The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Close proximity to all the cuise activities. Dinning was very easy. Stayed in 6 different hotels on my trip to Australia. This was our favorite for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Out side of room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 11, 2011

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina Cairns

Very nice room, extremely helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjtoncc
Business
S.E. Massachusetts
Feb 27, 2011

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

There are a lot of nice hotels in Cairns and Shagri-La is certainly one of the better ones. Situated right on the harbor where there is direct access to a dozen restaurants. Rooms were spacious and the hotel had an upscale boutique feel. We usually stay at Marriotts and this hotel was certainly on par. Staff was superb. One morning they opened the bar just for me so I could watch a football game back in the States on the satellite TV. We got reliable information on restaurants and tours from both the bell captain and concierge. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from just about anywhere you would want to go including restaurants, shopping and the train to Kuranda. They also stored our luggage while we spent a couple of nights out on the reef.[...]Bad news is that they don't have hotels in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk. I don't remember the name, but just outside the hotel on the other side of the marina entrance there's a great Moroccan restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 14, 2011

Shangri-La Cairns

Location was great. We walked to shop, its across the street. Two blocks down there is a McDonalds and 4 doors from that is a "night Market" which opens every day of the year at 4:30 pm til 11 pm. They have lots of Souveniers and opals and anything you would want. There is also a food court there. The hotel itself needed to have the carpet replaced, it is a rainforest there, so there is a moldy smell. Also, when walking to the pool it has lots of mold and is very slippery! This was a weak after the Cyclone hit there, but not really any damage in this particular area, but the pool and whirlpool really needed to have maintence done, as there was debris in the them the entire stay, so I'm not sure if they have a pool person! Overall it was a nice place, the bed was great, but it is dark with not a lot of lighting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just on the other end of the Pier, there are restaraunts that are more "inexpensive". They have daily specials, but the two on the far end have (example) a Steak Sandwich, Fries and a glass of beer, wine or pop for $10. Great deal, as the food in Australia was very expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kihei, HI
Dec 26, 2010

Great location, nice hotel

Staff was very nice. Hotel was clean and really liked the rooms. They also had free wi-fi which was great! The hotel was located right next to the marina where our Great Barrier Reef Snorkeling tour was so the location could not be any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top