$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

4 stars
View map of 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
34 reviews
Great location

After coming from a tiny room in Melbourne the rooms seemed huge. Great view and very easy walking... See full review

  • Killifish
  • Aug 8, 2014
Excellent value

The staff is very helpful. Located right on the esplanade just minutes from dining and shoing. See full review

  • naval veteran
  • Jun 26, 2014
Spa hotel overlooking the Coral Sea

Guests looking for a resort-like property find their needs fulfilled at Rydges Tradewinds. The spa hotel has stunning views of the Coral Sea, tropical gardens, sun lounges, a pool, and hot tub. The menu at the on-site Spa by the Sea offers a selection of facials and body treatments featuring Elemis products. Located on the Cairns Esplanade, guests need only walk out the front door of the hotel to jump into the city action or to be on their way to adventures on the Great Barrier Reef and other attractions.

Highlights
  • Spa with three treatment rooms, including a dual treatment room and Vichy shower
  • Many rooms have views of the Coral Sea
  • Tropical gardens
  • Centrally located on the Cairns Esplanade
  • Wi-Fi access in the lobby (fees apply)
Rooms

The 246 airy and spacious rooms and suites at Rydges Tradewinds tip toward the traditional when it comes to décor. The room colors are as soothing and comforting as a massage in the hotel spa. All rooms have private balconies overlooking the water or the hotel's tropical gardens. Some of the hotel's best views are from the ocean front rooms, with uninterrupted, 180-degree views of Trinity Bay and the Coral Sea. Rooms above the fourth floor come with wired Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Sea Level Food & Wine offers a relaxed atmosphere nestled beside lush tropical gardens where one can sit back, relax and take in the views around the resort style pool and across the Esplanade Boardwalk towards the Coral Sea. Enjoy your meal Alfresco or by the pool for a tropical dining experience. Open daily for breakfast from 6am until 10am and from 11am until 9pm.


Spa By The Sea, a spa retreat overlooking the Coral Sea. Elegant, personal & ambient where the simply decorated treatment rooms promote tranquillity and harmony.
Enjoy the sanctuary of our serenity room which offers amazing ocean views.


The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle for guests who want to explore downtown Cairns.The Hotel also features a resort style walk-in pool with spa and waterfall set amongst tropical landscaped gardens furnished with sun lounges.

Transportation
  • Cairns Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Cairns
Nearby attractions
  • Cairns Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Northern Beaches (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Fitzroy Island (18.6 mi/30 km)
  • Daintree Discovery Centre (71.6 mi/115 km)
Business
  • Eight conference rooms and outdoor settings accommodate up to 200 people
  • Internet kiosk
Policies and fees
  • Complimentary towels are available at the pool.
  • Valet parking available (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns Rooms

STANDARD ROOM
Spacious rooms with some featuring their own private balcony with tranquil views of the tropical resort pool or gardens. Each room features private facilities, writing desk, complimentary Wifi and a choice of bedding configuration. ($50 Extra person charge applies)
DELUXE WATERVIEW
Spacious and beautifully appointed with teak wood finishes, relax on your furnished private balcony with far reaching water views across the resort pool, gardens and Coral Sea. Room features complimentary Wifi. ($50 extra person charge applies)
OCEAN FRONT
Spacious and beautifully appointed, with a variety of bedding configurations to choose from. Boasting Sweeping uninterrupted 180 degree views over Trinity Bay and the Coral Sea. Room features complimentary Wifi.($50 Extra person charge applies)
EXECUTIVE SUITE
Spacious and beautifully appointed, with a variety of bedding configurations to choose from and complimentary Wifi. All Executive suites are located on the top floor of the hotel with views of the Coral Sea and Trinity Bay Inlet. ($50 extra person fee applies)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.6 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.7 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.9 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cominos House: 1.6 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.6 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.7 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.9 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cominos House: 1.6 mi
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Cazalys Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Flying Doctor Service: 2.5 mi
  • Trinity Inlet: 3.1 mi
  • Whitfield Conservation Park: 3.1 mi
  • Bayview Heights Golf Course: 3.6 mi
  • Machans Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Undersea World: 5.5 mi
  • Holloways Beach: 5.9 mi
  • Tjapukai: 6.9 mi
  • Cairns Rainforest Cableway: 7 mi
  • Yorkeys Knob Beach: 8.2 mi
  • Aj Hackett Bungy: 8.8 mi
  • Kewarra Beach: 10.7 mi
  • Clifton Beach: 12.4 mi
  • Cairns Northern Beaches: 12.7 mi
  • Cairns Tropical Zoo: 13.2 mi
  • Ellis Beach: 15 mi
  • Hartleys Crocodile Adventures: 20.3 mi
  • Paronella Park: 52.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
petersydney
Business
sydney
Nov 13, 2013

good place

there is in the town, good place. good value for stay in cairns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher Queen
Business
Chengdu, China
Dec 24, 2013

Almost ideal

Had a room facing the ocean, so terrific view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance to reef tours pier, great cafés, and night market. Nice pool. Room was clean, but hallways could have used attention. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Lagoon Vue" restaurant -- superb food at decent prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 1, 2009

Rydges trade winds hotel

Being in Australia for the first time, we had lots of questions. None were treated lightly. The location on the Esplanade was relaxing and centrl to restaurants, shopping and access to the Great Barrier reef. Splendid trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birdo
Business
Mulvane,Ks
Sep 16, 2011

Great view

We booked an oceanfront room and ended up on the 5th floor (532) with great views onto the bay. The room was comfortable enough that we caught ourselves hanging out in there a little too long when we should've been out on the verandah or strolling around town or on the esplanade. However our last night the toilet kept running so you had to unstick the mechanism and the following a.m. we had an early flight ,got up to take hot shower and there was none. Don't know what was going on with that because we had no problems the previous day. If we ever have occasion to go back I would definately stay here though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Most hotels in Cairns provide info and assistance in tour bookings. Use them! They know the area just give them an idea of what you want and they can find what you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 5, 2011

Fantastic in all categories

We were in Cairns for only three nights, would have liked to stay much longer so we could snorkel more. Wonderful hotel, location and city. Next time we will go after April and before November as this is their rainy season even though it is summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We booked our scuba and snorkeling online before but wish we would have waited until we got there. We had 2 great days out on the Reef but we could have talked to some of the locals first if we had waited to book our days. Cairns is a FANTASTIC place if you love warm water,a beautiful Reef experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
naval veteran
Business
Salt Lake City
Jun 26, 2014

Excellent value

The staff is very helpful. Located right on the esplanade just minutes from dining and shoing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many spots very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Killifish
Business
Boca Raton FL
Aug 8, 2014

Great location

After coming from a tiny room in Melbourne the rooms seemed huge. Great view and very easy walking distance to everywhere. We also took advantage of the spa and had a great hot stone massage. Lunch at the restaurant was also good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Certainly check out a trip to Danetree. We also found a number of good restaurants. And we used the Kangaroo Explorer to visit the Great Barrier Reef.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovn travel
Business
California
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect for our visit

Everything was very comfortable in our room, and any problems we had, the staff was cheerful (!) and helpful and took care of them. The pool was a bit disappointing, though, and the breakfast was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for the two for one discount on the breakfast - it make a good breakfast a good deal, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LHew
Business
California
Mar 30, 2014

Great location

My friends and I stayed here for three nights while visiting Cairns. Location was terrific. The pool was nice, too. I think we arrived right at the start of the off-season because things seemed quiet. We had a nice room with a balcony facing the sea. It was about a 10 minute walk to the boat terminal, where we caught our reef cruise. They have free wifi here and it was fairly decent. FYI the cab from the airport to the front door was $22. The third night we had a rental car and there is a lot of free parking all around the complex. Would stay here again for sure. tip: go to the grocery store and buy stuff to BBQ on the free grills along the esplanade's walkway, which runs right by the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gordy n Sac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 26, 2009

Rydges Tradewinds - Cairns, Australia

This hotel is older but well maintained. The lobby was clean and the building looked like it had been painted recently. The room size was nice and clean. The carpet had a few stains and there was a very weak odor near my nightstand. The bedspread was old school but clean. Don't freak, these were very minor and did not take away from the vacation. The deluxe rooms were nice because you had an angled but full view of the ocean. The balcony was sizeable and could comfortably accompany 5 to 7 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants and nightlife only three blocks away. Be advised, it's a bit pricey in Australia compared to the states but well worth it. I say again, well worth it! Plenty of dining options including Australian, Chinese, Indian, Italian, salads and good old burgers and fries. In Sydney be sure to go to Paddy's Market on the weekend. In Cairns go to the night market and the market near the Cairns central mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top