$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

4 stars
View map of 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birdo
Business
Mulvane,Ks
Sep 16, 2011

Great view

We booked an oceanfront room and ended up on the 5th floor (532) with great views onto the bay. The room was comfortable enough that we caught ourselves hanging out in there a little too long when we should've been out on the verandah or strolling around town or on the esplanade. However our last night the toilet kept running so you had to unstick the mechanism and the following a.m. we had an early flight ,got up to take hot shower and there was none. Don't know what was going on with that because we had no problems the previous day. If we ever have occasion to go back I would definately stay here though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Most hotels in Cairns provide info and assistance in tour bookings. Use them! They know the area just give them an idea of what you want and they can find what you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 5, 2011

Cairns weekend at Tradewinds

Hotel was a base for other things. Convenient location, clean, nice views of Coral Sea, very nice pool. Nice bar area overlooking the Esplanade. Breakfast bar was OK at best. Eat somewhere else. TV didn't work well but I wasn't there for that. Helpful staff, as I was going to the reef and to Karunda over the 2 day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkel trip to Green Island was great. Enjoyed that more than anything else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 5, 2011

Fantastic in all categories

We were in Cairns for only three nights, would have liked to stay much longer so we could snorkel more. Wonderful hotel, location and city. Next time we will go after April and before November as this is their rainy season even though it is summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We booked our scuba and snorkeling online before but wish we would have waited until we got there. We had 2 great days out on the Reef but we could have talked to some of the locals first if we had waited to book our days. Cairns is a FANTASTIC place if you love warm water,a beautiful Reef experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Feb 2, 2011

Wonderful hotel and staff

Loved the room. Spacious. I was traveling with my cousin and we got the 2 queen beds family room with water view. Beds were comfy and the room was clean. Balcony view was spectacular of the greeway, boardwalk, and ocean. This hotel is ideally located to area. We were able to walk everywhere. The staff were very helpful. Negatives - There should be free wifi or free access to computers in the business center. This would help people who need to print boarding passes, etc. There was a charge of $2.50 for a towel for the pool. Call the hotel about a transfer to and from the airport. They have a company that gives you a cheaper rate than the other shuttles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a company called Great Adventures for excursions to the Great Barrier Reef. They were exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carson, CA
Sep 4, 2010

2010 Australia Trip

The hotel was overall clean, from the reception to the lobby area, as well as the upstairs and outside in the swimming pool area. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the Night Market, it's a lot of fun and a lot of savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chuck cendak
Business
millbrae, ca
Oct 30, 2009

Rydges hotel, cairns

great breakfasts... staff not really knowledgeable (tour lady)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

decent restaurants were recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gordy n Sac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 26, 2009

Rydges Tradewinds - Cairns, Australia

This hotel is older but well maintained. The lobby was clean and the building looked like it had been painted recently. The room size was nice and clean. The carpet had a few stains and there was a very weak odor near my nightstand. The bedspread was old school but clean. Don't freak, these were very minor and did not take away from the vacation. The deluxe rooms were nice because you had an angled but full view of the ocean. The balcony was sizeable and could comfortably accompany 5 to 7 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants and nightlife only three blocks away. Be advised, it's a bit pricey in Australia compared to the states but well worth it. I say again, well worth it! Plenty of dining options including Australian, Chinese, Indian, Italian, salads and good old burgers and fries. In Sydney be sure to go to Paddy's Market on the weekend. In Cairns go to the night market and the market near the Cairns central mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 2, 2009

Nice, but with some flaws

It was a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and the location was great! The bedsheet had rips in it and the floor had stains. I liked the complimentary tea and coffee. Also when I rented the movie it kept flickering so they gave it to me for free. Not enough channels on the TV. There were only about 5 channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid eating at the Asian Restaurants in the mall. Once I went and they tried to short change me by $20 and both times I went they treated me with some social distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well earned time out
Business
Sydney Australia
Sep 7, 2009

Girls get together

Disappointed at the lack of a beach. Plenty to keep one occupied,essential to have access to rental car. Fantastic weather. Staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Hotel and Spa Cairns

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 1, 2009

Rydges trade winds hotel

Being in Australia for the first time, we had lots of questions. None were treated lightly. The location on the Esplanade was relaxing and centrl to restaurants, shopping and access to the Great Barrier reef. Splendid trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top