$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

4 stars
cnr Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Brisbane, QL 4000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
11 reviews
Great Place

This place was awesome. Very reasonably priced, very good location right in the center of town and... See full review

  • Pabst Man
  • May 13, 2014
Good hotel to stat

The location of the hotel is good. We are satisfied with the restaurant. The hotel staff was very... See full review

  • Erdem
  • Mar 20, 2014
Classic hotel overlooks Brisbane River and city gardens

Royal on the Park, near some of Brisbane's most beautiful attractions, is one of the city's first hotels. Both business and leisure travelers enjoy the location, neighboring the Brisbane Botanic Gardens and a few blocks from the banks of the Brisbane River. Royal on the Park is within easy walking distance of the city's business and shopping areas. The Walnut Restaurant and Lounge Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an elegant space, decorated in dark woods. Other on-site amenities include an outdoor pool and a fitness center. 

Highlights

  • Offers views of Botanic Gardens and Brisbane River
  • One of Brisbane's longest-running hotels
  • Some suites offer private spa baths
  • Eight function rooms seat up to 400

Rooms

Royal on the Park is home to 153 rooms and suites. Décor blends traditional elements with contemporary design. The décor comforts but never bores. Deluxe rooms are spacious and can accommodate families with up to two children. Guests who require extra space can choose from executive suites -- with a separate lounge area -- or spa suites. High-speed Internet access is available (fees may apply).

Features

The Walnut Restaurant's special events include a seafood buffet on Saturdays and a royal roast buffet on Sundays. Guests can order drinks and lighter fare in the historic Lounge Bar. The bar also serves coffee, tea, and snacks throughout the day.  

Transportation

  • Central Railway Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Brisbane International Airport (11.3 mi/18.3 km)
  • Brisbane Domestic Airport (12.8 mi/20.5 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Queensland Performing Arts Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Brisbane Cricket Ground (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Suncorp Stadium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)  
  • Kangaroo Point Cliffs (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Queensland Museum South Bank (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Brisbane Botanic Gardens (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary (8.7 mi/13.9 km)
  • Alma Park Zoo (22.8 mi/36.7 km)
  • Gold Coast (47.9 mi/77.1 km)
  • Sunshine Coast (65.3 mi/105 km)

Business

  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
  • Eight conference and meeting rooms
  • On-site technician provides assistance in function rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane Rooms

City View Twin Room
Recently refurbished, this classically designed Eco-Friendly room with new double glazed floor to ceiling windows showcases city views. Features 2x Queen Beds, 32" LCD, iPod dock, ergonomic desk with FREE UNLIMITED WiFi, newspaper, gym, pool & spa access.
City View King
Recently refurbished, this classically designed Eco-Friendly room with new double glazed floor to ceiling windows showcases city views. Features King Bed, 32" LCD, iPod dock, ergonomic desk with FREE UNLIMITED WiFi, newspaper, gym, pool & spa access.
Park View King
Recently refurbished, this classically designed Eco-Friendly room with new double glazed floor to ceiling windows showcases park views. Features King Bed, 32" LCD, iPod dock, ergonomic desk with FREE UNLIMITED WiFi, newspaper, gym, pool & spa access
Park View Twin
Recently refurbished, this classically designed Eco-Friendly room with new double glazed floor to ceiling windows showcases park views. Features 2x Queen Beds, 32" LCD, iPod dock, ergonomic desk with FREE UNLIMITED WiFi, newspaper, gym, pool & spa access.
Luxury Spa Suite
Refurbished 2012, Corner Spa Suites exude timeless luxury. Your bedroom boasts City views & your glass bathroom with Morrissey amenities overlooks the Gardens. UNLIMITED FREE WiFi, iPad (on request), Nespresso, iPod dock, 2x LCD, Robes & Slippers (60sqm)
Executive Spa Suite
Refurbished 2012, these Suites are the pinnacle of elegance. Featuring corner spa, powder room & Morrissey amenities and located on the top floor with panoramas of the gardens & river. UNLIMITED FREE WiFi, iPad, Nespresso, 2x iPod dock, 2x LCD (84sqm)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Augustines On George: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • City Botanic Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Old Government House: 0.3 mi
  • Eagle Street Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Markets: 0.3 mi
  • Commissariat Store Building: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Stephen: 0.3 mi
  • Treasury Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Queens Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • MacArthur Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Brisbane Arcade: 0.4 mi
  • Riverside Promenade: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Adelaide Building: 0.4 mi
  • Augustines On George: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • City Botanic Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Old Government House: 0.3 mi
  • Eagle Street Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Markets: 0.3 mi
  • Commissariat Store Building: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Stephen: 0.3 mi
  • Treasury Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Queens Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • MacArthur Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Brisbane Arcade: 0.4 mi
  • Riverside Promenade: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Adelaide Building: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Street: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Of Brisbane: 0.4 mi
  • Quilpie Opals: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • King George Square: 0.5 mi
  • Goodwill Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Anzac Square War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freemasons Ann Street Memorial Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.6 mi
  • Australian Indigenous Tribal Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • All Saints' Wickham Terrace: 0.6 mi
  • St Johns Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Captain Burke Park: 0.7 mi
  • Queensland Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Queensland Academy of Sport: 0.7 mi
  • State Library of Queensland: 0.7 mi
  • Story Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Queensland Police Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Enoggera: 0.9 mi
  • Roma Street Parkland: 0.9 mi
  • The Gabba: 0.9 mi
  • Victoria Barracks Museum: 1.1 mi
  • West End: 1.1 mi
  • Gambaro Restaurant: 1.2 mi
  • Brisbane Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Woolloongabba: 1.3 mi
  • XXXX Ale House: 1.4 mi
  • Suncorp Stadium: 1.4 mi

Dining

Walnut Restaurant & Lounge Bar
Modern yet traditional cuisine, The famous Walnut Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and Lunch Monday to Friday. The Lounge Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere, serving an array of beverages including coffee, wine, beer and cocktails. The Lounge Bar also serves a snack menu from 10am until late 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LWPW
Business
Norway
Oct 20, 2014

Not a 4 star hotel

The hotel has a perfect location and the beds are good. However, doing rebuilding work at 6 a.m. or at 11 p.m. onwards without letting their customers know or informing so on their website in order that clients can decide if this is so something they can live with at a hotel, is very disturbing. Room service sometimes poor, e.g. not refrehing the towels, i.e. one day there were no towels in our room. Advice: Do not stay on the first floor because of the proxomity to the housekeeping staff, they make a lot of noise in the morning. Be also aware that there is no sun after 2 p.m. by the swimming pool because of tall buildings surrounding it. Will not visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pabst Man
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 13, 2014

Great Place

This place was awesome. Very reasonably priced, very good location right in the center of town and very great staff. Will definitely be coming back here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erdem
Business
Istanbul
Mar 20, 2014

Good hotel to stat

The location of the hotel is good. We are satisfied with the restaurant. The hotel staff was very helpful. They arranged us an early bookşng without any expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy Hart
Business
Florida
May 20, 2013

over priced for older hotel in desperate need of renovations

We stayed at Royal on the park twice during our 2 week vacation to Australia. Both nights I booked through the O travel site. The first stay was for 1 night on a sunday and the room was on the 4th floor. I payed $180. This room was clean and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very small with a bathtub/shower that was strangely elevated 12 inches higher than the bathroom floor. Our second stay was for 2 nights (Wed-Thurs). I payed $275 each night. This room was on the first floor. Our reservations were for a king non-smoking room. To our disappointment we walked into a 2 twin room attached to the smoking patio. I immediately called the front desk and was told that this was on my reservation. I went down to the front desk with a copy of my king non-smoking reservation. The manager made a copy of my reservation but told me "all the rooms are filled." I repeated "all the rooms are filled, even your suites?" The manager then offered me 1 free breakfast. I said, "there are 2 people in the room and I would rather have a king bed or a discount off my bill. The manager informed me because I booked through a discount travel site he could not upgrade me or refund me. While I was talking with him I over heard another front desk worker saying "we had 2 cancelations for tonight." The manager then looked at me and said let me see what I can do. Surprise! a king room opened on the 1st floor however it was attached to the smoking patio. This bed was not comfortable, the carpet had multiple stains and the bathroom was moldy and was still very small with the elevated bathtub/shower. I wouldn't stay at Royal on the park again and strongly advise anyone not booking directly through the hotel to be cautious of their lack of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Omnitraveler
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 21, 2013

A beautiful getaway in the middle of Brisbane

The hotel itself is beautiful, quiet, and comfortable with a super helpful staff, but you can't top the location accross the street from the Botanical Garden and only minutes walking from the center of downtown with stores and restaurants. Don't miss the hot breakfast, its worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The botanical garden is worth every minute you can spare. It even,like the hotel, provides free internet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meladey
Business
Canberra
Sep 9, 2012

Great Location Only

Only good thing, room was huge.. Found false eye lash on hand towel,,, gross. Cleaning staff took a bra and panties from the closet folded with other clothes. Worst thing,,, no wake up call !! Ordered one the night before and the call never came. Checked out and mentioned it and staff was rude about it to me. Staff needs work... No one smiled either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was close to great night life and wonderful dinning and shopping places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sailor Jerry
Business
Seminole, FL
Jan 1, 2012

Great opportunity to see Brisbane

This was a lovely hotel in a good location with friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joysim
Business
Australia
Jun 9, 2011

Location, plus

Arrived later in the day and met with very friendly reception staff. The porter took our luggage directly to our room as we signed in. Our king size room was huge and cleaning staff were just so happy to meet each day. The hotel is walking distance to just about everything in Brisbane including some fantastic cafes/restaurants if you want to eat out. We would recommend this hotel for long or short stays as it has character and class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Shuttle bus from the airport if you want to save a few dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 6, 2010

great hotel in wonderful location

This was a very comfortable hotel which felt safe and welcoming to a solo female traveler. There were laundry facilities available as well as a restaurant and bar on site. It's also centrally located to downtown Brisbane and you can easily walk to most places in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located right across the street from the Brisbane Botanic Gardens, a large park that includes a boardwalk along the Brisbane River. The park is home to many species of birds and plants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redmond, WA
May 18, 2010

Royal on the Park

Wonderful. It was a lovely spot and a very nice, clean and modern room. The staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice shopping mall just a few blocks away and it includes a food court. There are also lots of nice restaurants within walking distance. Everything is more expensive than in the US, though, so just plan on that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top