$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

3 stars
193 Wickham Terrace, Spring Hill Brisbane, Brisbane, QL 4740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
161 reviews
Home away from Home

The location was perfect for us for where ever we needed to go and the staff were very helpful with... See full review

  • maggimac
  • Jul 14, 2013
location location location

great price great location parking not free and 9 bucks a night to quoted price See full review

  • frosty
  • Jan 21, 2014
Hotel with outdoor swimming pool
Astor Metropole Hotel is a Best Western property. The Astor Tower is the hotel’s original building and has traditional guest rooms. The sister property, Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments, offers apartment-style accommodations. An outdoor pool and sundeck provide guests with a place to relax in the Brisbane sunshine. Astor is conveniently located a short walk from Brisbane’s city center and the restaurants, shops, and entertainment options at Queen Street Mall. The nearby King Edward Park and sculpture garden is a pleasant place to explore.
Highlights
  • Traditional guest rooms near the city center
  • Close to public transportation
  • Outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
  • Business office and conference facilities on the property
Rooms
Guest rooms in the Astor Tower provide the basic comforts of home. Balcony rooms are available. Some offer views of Brisbane, the Brisbane River, area parks, or the suburbs.
Features
The hotel has an Internet café in the foyer. Guests who do not have their own computer may check email on the hotel’s public computer.

The Astor Metropole has a restaurant with indoor and courtyard seating. Guests have the option of bringing their own wine to meals or ordering from the restaurant’s wine list.

The hotel is in walking distance to the Queen Street Mall entertainment district. Queen Street’s restaurants and shops appeal to all ages. The Roma Street Parklands are a short stroll away as well. Other area attractions include a casino and the South Bank beach. All of Brisbane is easily accessible from the nearby Central Railway Station.
Transportation
  • Central Railway Station (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Brisbane International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Brisbane Domestic Airport (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Queensland Performing Arts Centre (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Queensland Museum South Bank (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Kangaroo Point Cliffs (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • The Brisbane Cricket Ground (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Brisbane Botanic Gardens (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Boondall Wetlands Reserve (13.3 mi/21.5 km)
  • Alma Park Zoo (20.8 mi/33.5 km)
  • Gold Coast (48.7mi/78.4 km)
  • Sunshine Coast (63.3 mi/102 km)
Business
  • Business office
  • Public computer and fax available
  • Conference space accommodates up to 30 people

Hotel Map

-27.4648 153.024
Area served
Brisbane.
Nearby airports
Brisbane Airport International.
Area description
The Astor Best Western Hotel is one of Brisbane's charming and intimate hotels, tastefully decorated in style that reflects the old world charm of the original building. This prime elevated location is a short walk to both the city centre and adjacent entertainment precincts with a superb aspect across the city skyline and the northern suburbs. An entrance to Central Station is diagonally opposite. The complex offers a wide choice from intimate Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Rooms to Astor Suites with very competitive tariffs. Some features include a street terrace bar & restaurant, individual non-ducted air-conditioning, private balconies (most), kitchens, secure covered (limited) parking etc

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane Rooms

Hotel Balcony Room 3.5 Star
Room offers a Queen bed and a twin bed with tea & coffee making facilities, ensuite, air con, TV & FREE in house movies.
Hotel Kitchen Room 3.5 Star
Room offers a Queen bed and two twin beds with tea & coffee making facilities, ensuite, air con, TV & FREE in house movies.
Hotel Standard Room 3 star B&B
Room offers a Queen bed and a twin bed with tea & coffee making facilities, ensuite, air con, TV & FREE in house movies.
Hotel Balcony Room 3.5 star B&B
Room offers a Queen bed and a twin bed with tea & coffee making facilities, ensuite, air con, TV & FREE in house movies.
Hotel Kitchen Room 3.5 star B&B
Room offers a Queen bed and two twin beds with tea & coffee making facilities, ensuite, air con, TV & FREE in house movies.
Hotel Standard Room 3 Star
Room offers a Queen bed and a twin bed with tea & coffee making facilities, ensuite, air con, TV & FREE in house movies.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Anzac Square War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • King George Square: 0.2 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Freemasons Ann Street Memorial Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Indigenous Tribal Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • All Saints' Wickham Terrace: 0.3 mi
  • Enoggera: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Street: 0.3 mi
  • Quilpie Opals: 0.3 mi
  • Brisbane Arcade: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Of Brisbane: 0.3 mi
  • MacArthur Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Street Parkland: 0.3 mi
  • St Johns Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Anzac Square War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • King George Square: 0.2 mi
  • City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Freemasons Ann Street Memorial Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Indigenous Tribal Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • All Saints' Wickham Terrace: 0.3 mi
  • Enoggera: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Street: 0.3 mi
  • Quilpie Opals: 0.3 mi
  • Brisbane Arcade: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Of Brisbane: 0.3 mi
  • MacArthur Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Street Parkland: 0.3 mi
  • St Johns Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Street Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Adelaide Building: 0.4 mi
  • Queens Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Queensland Police Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Stephen: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Riverside Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Eagle Street Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Craft Markets: 0.5 mi
  • Treasury Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Commissariat Store Building: 0.6 mi
  • Victoria Barracks Museum: 0.6 mi
  • State Library of Queensland: 0.6 mi
  • Gallery of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Captain Burke Park: 0.7 mi
  • Gambaro Restaurant: 0.7 mi
  • Augustines On George: 0.7 mi
  • Story Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Old Government House: 0.9 mi
  • City Botanic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Herston Golf Course: 0.9 mi
  • Brisbane Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Suncorp Stadium: 1 mi
  • XXXX Ale House: 1 mi
  • Brisbane Exhibition Grounds: 1.1 mi
  • RNA Showgrounds: 1.1 mi
  • Goodwill Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Queensland Maritime Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Queensland Academy of Sport: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
andrew
Not Provided
Feb 21, 2010

we were put in room 29 it was

we were put in room 29 it was smelly dirty and the bathroom had holes in the tiles the drain in floor was not covered and scummy water could be seen in it. The Tv had no remote. The bedsprings were coming up in the bed. It was noisy as outside were all the working of hotel. All the ceiling in the corridor the rain was coming in and we had to step over puddles of water on floor. I would not put a dog in that room. My husband hit the ceiling and got on to management. Afterwards we were transfered to a room in the tower which should have been the price we paid. ratings I would give none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
siddles01
moranbah queensland
Nov 29, 2010

gr8 trip bad hotel

arrived and str8 up got asked for passport credit card and id left passport at home (wasnt leaving state lol) only took cash with me more than enough for trip had i known i needed my cc would have taken it with me but as i paid with my cc it was already on file like it is when i travel to other hotels in aust so i had too giv $200 bond never done that before EVER. had no wireless internet when cable they supplied did not work sent me down to int cafe when i got back noticed there was inhouse pc other various things but when i wanted a taxi to train to get to airport told "i should walk its close enough" the straw that broke the camels back will never use them again ive been to sum fine hotels even ones where us presidents hav stayed this hotel needs to b taken off the advert list. just a foot note there was a broken glass out front of entrance i was there for 3 days so was the glass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

dont check in

Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edmonton, Canada
Dec 5, 2010

Not a good place for quality and value

FOr the price of the hotel room the quality was quite poor. The toilet had a sanitized and sealed strip and there was fecal matter in the bottom of the bowl. The shower had no curtain to enclose it so the whole bathroom was soaked. We couldn't get extra towels when we needed them. The "double" room was two twin beds pushed together. The room provided a kitchenette but the occupant was charged five dollars extra if you didn't do your own dishes. The hotel was under construction as well. If I would have been notified about it I wouldn't have booked the room. Too expensive and very unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Let the bed bug bite
Business
Melbourne
Mar 25, 2012

Bed Bugs, Avoid at all costs

I had 2 bed bugs on me when I woke up, full feed with body blow up like a balloon. I also find another one on the pillow. Will never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hatman
Moree NSW 2400, Australia
Apr 7, 2012

Overnight Stay

We were expecting a family room as we have 6mnth old & the room was not big enough. The floors, mirrors & shower were not clean. There was minimal hot water & no water pressure in the shower. We were unable to bath the baby as the switch to change the shower to the bath was broken. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Apr 17, 2009

Best Western should seriously

Best Western should seriously consider taking its name off this property - it's dirty, old, unpleasant, and felt quite unsafe. The price seemed good given the CBD adjacent location, but this was no bargain given the exceptionally poor quality of the property. I suggest looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Dec 23, 2009

We accepted a room knowing it

We accepted a room knowing it was not in the new part of the hotel - what we were not told is that the room was directly above an enormous roaring airconditionong set up. The noise as it kicked over was horrible - also the noise that came from other guests made you feel like you were sharing a room with them. There were absolutely no tissues in the bathroom. We stayed 2 nights the beds were not freshly made the second night and teacups were not washed. An unpleasant experience all round. The only bright side was the pleasant and prompt attention by the parking attendants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 23, 2009

Very different to how it appears

Very different to how it appears on the net. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Oct 7, 2009

Terrible

Terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Astor Metropole Hotel Brisbane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kim
Not Provided
Aug 5, 2009

Shower fell off was badly damage

Shower fell off was badly damage already No hot water on Saturday night Room size way to small Hotel staff hard to understand no communication didnt speak very good english especially being an english speaking country Location is near major car park noise level unexceptable presentation & hygiene of restaurant leaves a lot to be desired

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search