$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

3 stars
View map of 70 Murray Street, Darling Harbour, Sydney, NS 2009

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
11 reviews
Perfect location

I was feeling ill after arriving from the US, as soon as we walked in, ALL the staff was so... See full review

  • Kacgrl
  • Dec 8, 2014
A nice layover before flight out

My husband and I had a layover after our trip to New Zealand. We arrived in the evening and got up... See full review

  • Nancyloves to travel
  • Jun 23, 2015
  • Sydney Convention Center (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (1.3 mi/2.0 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
  • Manly Beach (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
General

Helpful staff work throughout the evening, offering assistance for transport, dining and sightseeing. The Ibis signature iBistro serves a large buffet breakfast in a sunlit dining room. To unwind after a long day, guests gather at the iBar to sample fanciful cocktails. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi and indoor parking (fees apply).

Location

For convention-goers wanting to roll out of a comfortable bed steps from the Convention Centre, the Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour hotel is ideal. The bright lobby, restaurant and guest quarters enliven an otherwise sparely decorated property. Many neutral-colored rooms offer perfectly stationed work desks with Darling Harbour vistas. Guests have easy access to the Monorail and Lightrail, plus a bar and bistro serving breakfast. Your stay near the Convention Centre couldn't be easier.

Dining
  • Convention Monorail Stop (1 block)
  • Central Station (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Kingsford Smith Airport (6.8 mi/11.0 km)
Rooms

The hotel's 256 rooms promise views of the city or harbor from large windows conveniently adorned with black out blinds. Guests can request a queen or two single beds. All rooms offer LCD TV, air conditioning, tea and coffee station, a work desk with outdoor view and Wi-Fi (fees apply).  

Property features

Helpful staff work throughout the evening, offering assistance for transport, dining and sightseeing. The Ibis signature iBistro serves a large buffet breakfast in a sunlit dining room. To unwind after a long day, guests gather at the iBar to sample fanciful cocktails. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi and indoor parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Easy access to Monorail and Lightrail services
  • Views of Darling Harbour from some rooms
  • A short stroll to the Convention Centre
Nearby attractions
  • Easy access to Monorail and Lightrail services
  • Views of Darling Harbour from some rooms
  • A short stroll to the Convention Centre
Business

  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • Meeting facilities
Transportation
Stylish Sydney Convention Centre accommodation

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ibis Sydney Darling Harbour also booked these hotels.

★★★
$82
3.8 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$138
4.5 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$106
4.0 / 5 79 reviews
★★★★
$65
2.8 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$123
4.3 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$106
3.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★
$54
4.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★★★
$84
3.9 / 5 11 reviews

ibis Sydney Darling Harbour Rooms

1 Qn bed Std
Standard Room 1 Queen Bed Pyrmont View. Equipped with the new Sweet Bed by ibis bedding, the room with great views of Pyrmont, offers everything you need for a comfortable stay: cozy bed, internet, LCD TV and total blackout blinds. Up to 2 adults.
1 Qn bed Sup
Superior Room 1 Queen Bed Darling Harbour View. Equipped with the new Sweet Bed by ibis bedding, the room with spectacular views of Darling Harbour and Sydney city, offers everything you need for a comfortable stay: cozy bed, internet, LCD TV and total bl
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room 2 Single Beds Pyrmont View. Equipped with the new Sweet Bed by ibis bedding, the Standard Room with great views of Pyrmont, offers everything you need for a comfortable stay: 2 cozy beds, internet, LCD TV and total blackout blinds. Up to 2 a
2 Sg beds Sup
Superior Room 2 Single Beds Darling Harbour View. Equipped with the new Sweet Bed by ibis bedding, the room with spectacular views of Darling Harbour and Sydney city, offers everything you need for a comfortable stay: 2 cozy beds, internet, LCD TV and tot

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Childcare Service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.6 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.6 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.6 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.9 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.9 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.7 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

IBISTRO
iBistro's international breakfast buffet features a variety of delicious options to cater for all tastes. For dinner, iBistro offers classic favourites at a great price along with Monday - Friday daily dinner specials.
IBAR
A friendly place to get together over a drink at any time of the day, providing access to an outdoor terrace overlooking Darling Harbour and the stunning Sydney city skyline.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
2.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancyloves to travel
Couples
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

A nice layover before flight out

My husband and I had a layover after our trip to New Zealand. We arrived in the evening and got up early morning and because of the great location of the hotel we were able to walk to the Habour and see the bridge and the Opera House. We even had time to stroll through the Botanical Gardens before our afternoon flight. It was a very clean, reasonably affordable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Narendra G.
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

service

We had booked a twin room for 3 nights We were given a family room - with 1 double bed and 2 single bed , There was no space to even move We requested to change the room, But were told the hotel is fully booked - which was not true A bit dissappointed as we pay a lot of money for a room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kacgrl
Family
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 8, 2014

Perfect location

I was feeling ill after arriving from the US, as soon as we walked in, ALL the staff was so helpful, friendly and accommodating, I have never been treated so well I any hotel!!! The location is super and we had a lovely time in Sydney...it is one of my new favorite cities in the WORLD!!! the accommodations were sparse, but we only needed a place to sleep for a few days and at such a great price and awesome location, it fit our needs perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meganpd
Couples
NJ
Oct 22, 2012

Best Location!

Fantastic location, close to everything and very clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great mall right next door with cheap stores and good restaurants!

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocknsky
Family
Santa Fe, NM
Jun 18, 2012

Positive stay

The location and harbor side view were exceptional. Rooms were slightly small for the money. Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Avner
Business
Tel Aviv, Israel
Aug 21, 2011

Expensive but not worth it

This hotel is not a good choice. It has an old and ugly decor. Overall, this is not good value for the money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann arbor, Michigan
Feb 6, 2011

Ibis hotel review

We ordered a guest room with breakfast and was told that the breakfast was not on our hotel reservation received by the hotel. The hotel manager finally agreed to add brk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kilauea, HI
Oct 14, 2010

Great Location for the Price!

The first night was a bit difficult because a wedding party on our floor made plenty of noise all night long - lots of door slamming. The front desk staff the next morning (and thereafter) bent over backwards to assist us and found us a much quieter room on another floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants in and around the hotel were quite expensive but we found a great coffee shop- Rob's around the corner on Pyrmont Road. The Italian place accross from Rob's had great pizza too. There is a grocery store at the end on the block (Pyrmont), a little hard to find because it is down stairs. You can get a whole bar-b-que chicken for 1/2 the price of a meal anywhere else.

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sandoval.diego88
Couples
Fort Lewis
Aug 12, 2010

Small but convenient to everything

The room was to small for the price, room was about kid size with a bath and a queen size bed in it. The location was perfect. Service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 8, 2010

Doubt I will go back

I travel to Sydney quite often and due to a convention in town I had to settle for the Ibis Hotel. I doubt I would go back. Other than a great location the hotel has little to offer. The internet (it was quite expensive) did not work well. I could not receive phone calls. I complained about both and the hotel staff did not care. I asked for a refund but the staff did not understand English very well. The room was very small, it was quite noisy and dirty. I attempted to eat in the small eating area and after not being waited on for 15 mintues left the restaurant. All in all, a lousy 4 nights were spent at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top