$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

3 stars
5-11 WENTWORTH AVENUE, SYDNEY, Sydney, NS 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
27 reviews
Enjoyable Gateaway

Clean. Near - walking distance to Hyde Park, St. Mary of the Cross Cathedral , Queen Victoria and... See full review

  • Didin
  • Jun 5, 2014
Great location, good price

Clean room, great location, good rate. I would stay here again. See full review

  • cheapertravel
  • Oct 19, 2014
Providing a perfect park side location just opposite to the Hyde Park and Oxford Street, the Y Hotel with its splendid accommodation units as well as excellent service creates an oasis for those in search of tranquillity and relaxation. Location: Ideally situated at 5-11 Wentworth venue, the Y Hotel Hyde Park is surrounded by everything you could want, including great shops, cafes, cheap eats, bars, olympic pool, gym, jogging track, parks, gardens and galleries. Offsite car parking is available (at a charge).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney Rooms

Traditional Rooms & Dorms
These rooms have shared facilities
Deluxe Rooms
These rooms have ensuite facilites
Economy Rooms
Economy Room with 4 single beds complete with linen and towels. Shared bathroom facilities located outside the room. Price includes light breakfast for two. Please note that this room does not have a television, fridge or tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Room
Television with cable

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Government House: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 27
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Well traveled lady
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Room was good but too expensive for the rest of the hotel issues.

The entry to the hotel was confusing. The staff behind the desk were dressed as if they work in a high class hotel however if you turn around the decor is old furniture and YMCA youth hostel looking. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged because of another tenant. We were then quickly checked in and went up to the room assigned only to find someone in it. There are no security locks on the doors so we walked right in on her. I waited while my dau. went down to work that out. Again I felt like I was in an inexpensive youth hostel with old dingy furniture. Apparently the section with the elevators is a cheaper section where the tenants share a bathroom in the hall as several walked thru while I waited. Eventually we made our way to a newer section where our room was very modern looking and impecably made up. No extras but all the necessities. The room was extremely small so that you could hardly get around the twin beds. Had to crawl over the bed or a suitcase to get to the window shades. I liked the patio doors that made up the outside wall and made the room bright. The patio doors were in bad need of cleaning. They also did not fit tight as one night there was a hard wind and the wind made a loud noise blowing through them. Also we were on an alley side but close to the street and the street noises were very very loud. Many sirens, street cleaning trucks, other vehicles made a lot of noise through the night. For some reason there were also people frequently being loud and one night waking me up with yelling and arguing. Keep in mind we were on the 7th floor. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martylcg
Business
Northern Ireland
Jun 29, 2013

Basic Room for Fab price

Upon arrival staff where friendly and very helpful providing maps / directions for we're we needed to go Room was basic 4 single beds very uncomfortable to sleep in Kettle was available but had to plug it in under the table as lead would not reach Our bathroom was outside bedroom and shared but that wasn't a problem as only ever saw one other person using them Overall basic but low price for a family of four it was manageable for 2 nights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDF from Nebraska
Business
Nebraska, USA
Jul 7, 2013

great value and location in Sydney

The Y Hotel Hyde Park is in a very good location. It is close to Hyde Park, a train stop and is within walking distance to the Sydney Opera House, botanical gardens and many other great Sydney attractions. The staff was helpful and the continental breakfast that consisted of toast, juice, and cereal was plentiful and tasty. My room had three twin beds, a private bath, refrigerator, and teapot. This hotel is perfect for guests who want to explore Sydney on foot and want a hotel for a bed, a hot shower, and a breakfast that is included in the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs LJ
Business
Stafford, UK
Jan 30, 2012

Fantastic base for Sydney

Excellent helpful friendly staff, clean and comfortable room (we had a twin delux), good free breakfast, and a great location for site seeing around Sydney as train station and bus stops are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Didin
Business
Plano, Texas
Jun 5, 2014

Enjoyable Gateaway

Clean. Near - walking distance to Hyde Park, St. Mary of the Cross Cathedral , Queen Victoria and West Field Malls. Most of the staff are very friendly especially the Filipino staff !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Queen Victoria Shopping Mall West Field Shopping Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top