Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

3 stars
5-11 WENTWORTH AVENUE, SYDNEY, Sydney, NS 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Enjoyable Gateaway

Clean. Near - walking distance to Hyde Park, St. Mary of the Cross Cathedral , Queen Victoria and... See full review

  • Didin
  • Jun 5, 2014
Good value, good location

Stayed 4 nights, room was comfortable and clean, location very near a station but we walked... See full review

  • Villa
  • Apr 18, 2014
A perfect home base to explore Sydney’s attractions

The Y Hyde Park Sydney hotel stands close to Hyde Park and Oxford Streets and gives guests both a beautiful setting and one that is convenient. Visitors take advantage of secure luggage storage and guest laundry as well as a 24-hour front desk with excellent service. Undercover parking and a free continental breakfast are also available to guests. The Y Hyde Park Sydney puts the very best of Sydney at your doorstep, including restaurants, bars, cafés, parks, gardens and more. Popular tourist draws such as the Chinese Garden of Friendship and the Australian Museum are both near the Y Hyde Park Sydney, as is St. Mary's Cathedral, which lays claim to being one of the largest churches in the world.

Reasons to stay
  • Good value and centrally located
  • Within walking distance of Chinatown, the Opera House and the Rocks
  • Transport networks nearby including a train line and bus routes
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel Sydney rooms
The Y Hyde Park Sydney hotel has a wide choice of rooms for guests. All of the rooms are modern and comfortable, ensuring visitors on all types of budgets enjoy their stay. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and designed, and standard amenities are featured in most rooms, such as a refrigerator, telephone, air conditioning, in-room safe, hairdryer, toiletries, clock radio, tea and coffee making facilities and wireless Internet access (fees apply). Studio rooms have a queen-sized bed and private bathrooms, and deluxe rooms have queen or single beds and private bathrooms. Standard rooms, traditional rooms and dormitory rooms are also available at a lower price point. Several rooms have shared bathrooms. Offsite car parking spaces are available if required (fees apply).
Things to do nearby
  • Sydney Exhibition Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sydney Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pyrmont Bay Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The Rocks (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Chinatown (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney Rooms

Budget Rooms & Dorms
These rooms have shared facilities
Deluxe Rooms
These rooms have ensuite facilites
Economy Rooms
Economy Room with 4 single beds complete with linen and towels. Shared bathroom facilities located outside the room. Price includes light breakfast for two. Please note that this room does not have a television, fridge or tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Map

-33.8772 151.2117
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Y Hotel Hyde Park is a great value bed and breakfast hotel ideally located in the CBD opposite Hyde Park and Oxford Street. The Hotel is surrounded by everything you could want including great shops, restaurants, Olympic Pool, Gym, Parks, Museum's and Galleries. You can also walk to Darling Harbour, Chinatown, City Shops, The Opera House and Rocks. The Hotel is also ideally located on bus routes, with Museum train station being only a short 5-minute walk away.

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Government House: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Well traveled lady
Kansas City, MO, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Room was good but too expensive for the rest of the hotel issues.

The entry to the hotel was confusing. The staff behind the desk were dressed as if they work in a high class hotel however if you turn around the decor is old furniture and YMCA youth hostel looking. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged because of another tenant. We were then quickly checked in and went up to the room assigned only to find someone in it. There are no security locks on the doors so we walked right in on her. I waited while my dau. went down to work that out. Again I felt like I was in an inexpensive youth hostel with old dingy furniture. Apparently the section with the elevators is a cheaper section where the tenants share a bathroom in the hall as several walked thru while I waited. Eventually we made our way to a newer section where our room was very modern looking and impecably made up. No extras but all the necessities. The room was extremely small so that you could hardly get around the twin beds. Had to crawl over the bed or a suitcase to get to the window shades. I liked the patio doors that made up the outside wall and made the room bright. The patio doors were in bad need of cleaning. They also did not fit tight as one night there was a hard wind and the wind made a loud noise blowing through them. Also we were on an alley side but close to the street and the street noises were very very loud. Many sirens, street cleaning trucks, other vehicles made a lot of noise through the night. For some reason there were also people frequently being loud and one night waking me up with yelling and arguing. Keep in mind we were on the 7th floor. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
midwifeau
Bellingen NSW 2454, Australia
Sep 25, 2011

good position

The facility is clean and comfortable...the only compliant I have is the cost of the needed upgrade. I booked into a 4 bed room but found a person already in the bed that was allocated to me..no help from the staff..I was told the hotel was full and I would have to pay another $80 a night for the only room left.. single room accommodation...very disappointed and a money I did not budget for I would think twice about staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanDaTravelingMan
Long Beach, California
Feb 1, 2014

Good Value Sydney Accommodation

Excellent location. Close to Metro station and all tourist points of interest. My only complain is the hotel hallway does not smell very nice. But the room itself is clean. It's a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray young
New York
May 26, 2013

Decent hotel for the city explorers

The Hotel Is Very Affordable For It's Location. Everything Is Within A Twenty Minute Walk And They Have A great Complimentary breakfast For you To Start The Day. The Rooms However Are Small And You Have To Pay Extra For A Room With A Bathroom But It's More Than Adequate For People That Spend The Day out Of The Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

They Would Be Happy To Hold Your Luggage After You Check Out. This Would Be Great If Your Plane Leaves Late In The Day. You Could Have Another Day Of Activities And Take A Shower In their Shared Bathroom Before Heading To The Airport.

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late twenties traveler
Boston MA
Jun 19, 2014

Standard for the price

No flares but a clean room. 15-20 min walk to the opera house. Good for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
midwifeau
Bellingen NSW 2454, Australia
Sep 25, 2011

good position

The facility is clean and comfortable...the only compliant I have is the cost of the needed upgrade. I booked into a 4 bed room but found a person already in the bed that was allocated to me..no help from the staff..I was told the hotel was full and I would have to pay another $80 a night for the only room left.. single room accommodation...very disappointed and a money I did not budget for I would think twice about staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cgritz
Business
Atlanta GA USA
Feb 11, 2011

Week 2 Feb to 10 Feb 2011

Today with tight travel budgets the Y at Hyde Park is a very good value plus it is in a perfect location. Easy access to the CBD and trains, let's you travel easily to business appointments. I will stay there again in the furture. The hotel is very clean with all needs being met with cheap realiable broadband for $10 per day that costs $23 at the "5 star" hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food court at Meyers Department on Pitt & King street has good value and choice of foods.

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Arthur
Zurich, Switzerland
Dec 30, 2013

Good location

Simple hotel near city centre. Clean rooms & amenities. Friendy & helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDF from Nebraska
Nebraska, USA
Jul 7, 2013

great value and location in Sydney

The Y Hotel Hyde Park is in a very good location. It is close to Hyde Park, a train stop and is within walking distance to the Sydney Opera House, botanical gardens and many other great Sydney attractions. The staff was helpful and the continental breakfast that consisted of toast, juice, and cereal was plentiful and tasty. My room had three twin beds, a private bath, refrigerator, and teapot. This hotel is perfect for guests who want to explore Sydney on foot and want a hotel for a bed, a hot shower, and a breakfast that is included in the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BTAG
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great Budget Hotel

My wife and I were there for 3 nights, the room was simple, bed, tv, fridge, tea station, closet, and towels. For a budget place, we feel like we got our monies worth. We stayed on the top floor (8th) and my only complaint was the water pressure in the shower was a bit on the low side. I tried taking a shower early (04:30) as well to see if it was simply a volume issue and had barely adequate pressure even then. Good deal, breakfast included, easy location (we walked to everything), and friendly and helpful staff. We'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All attractions in and around the Sydney harbor area are within a 2 mile walk. You can even get to the other side of the Harbor Bridge in ~2.5 mi. Lots of tours available by walking. Definitely visit Darling Harbor and the touring agencies there (also within walking distance).

Back to menu Return to top