$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

3 stars
5-11 WENTWORTH AVENUE, SYDNEY, Sydney, NS 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
27 reviews
Enjoyable Gateaway

Clean. Near - walking distance to Hyde Park, St. Mary of the Cross Cathedral , Queen Victoria and... See full review

  • Didin
  • Jun 5, 2014
Great location, good price

Clean room, great location, good rate. I would stay here again. See full review

  • cheapertravel
  • Oct 19, 2014
Providing a perfect park side location just opposite to the Hyde Park and Oxford Street, the Y Hotel with its splendid accommodation units as well as excellent service creates an oasis for those in search of tranquillity and relaxation. Location: Ideally situated at 5-11 Wentworth venue, the Y Hotel Hyde Park is surrounded by everything you could want, including great shops, cafes, cheap eats, bars, olympic pool, gym, jogging track, parks, gardens and galleries. Offsite car parking is available (at a charge).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney Rooms

Traditional Rooms & Dorms
These rooms have shared facilities
Deluxe Rooms
These rooms have ensuite facilites
Economy Rooms
Economy Room with 4 single beds complete with linen and towels. Shared bathroom facilities located outside the room. Price includes light breakfast for two. Please note that this room does not have a television, fridge or tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Room
Television with cable

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Government House: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Well traveled lady
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Room was good but too expensive for the rest of the hotel issues.

The entry to the hotel was confusing. The staff behind the desk were dressed as if they work in a high class hotel however if you turn around the decor is old furniture and YMCA youth hostel looking. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged because of another tenant. We were then quickly checked in and went up to the room assigned only to find someone in it. There are no security locks on the doors so we walked right in on her. I waited while my dau. went down to work that out. Again I felt like I was in an inexpensive youth hostel with old dingy furniture. Apparently the section with the elevators is a cheaper section where the tenants share a bathroom in the hall as several walked thru while I waited. Eventually we made our way to a newer section where our room was very modern looking and impecably made up. No extras but all the necessities. The room was extremely small so that you could hardly get around the twin beds. Had to crawl over the bed or a suitcase to get to the window shades. I liked the patio doors that made up the outside wall and made the room bright. The patio doors were in bad need of cleaning. They also did not fit tight as one night there was a hard wind and the wind made a loud noise blowing through them. Also we were on an alley side but close to the street and the street noises were very very loud. Many sirens, street cleaning trucks, other vehicles made a lot of noise through the night. For some reason there were also people frequently being loud and one night waking me up with yelling and arguing. Keep in mind we were on the 7th floor. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray young
Business
New York
May 26, 2013

Decent hotel for the city explorers

The Hotel Is Very Affordable For It's Location. Everything Is Within A Twenty Minute Walk And They Have A great Complimentary breakfast For you To Start The Day. The Rooms However Are Small And You Have To Pay Extra For A Room With A Bathroom But It's More Than Adequate For People That Spend The Day out Of The Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

They Would Be Happy To Hold Your Luggage After You Check Out. This Would Be Great If Your Plane Leaves Late In The Day. You Could Have Another Day Of Activities And Take A Shower In their Shared Bathroom Before Heading To The Airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanDaTravelingMan
Business
Long Beach, California
Feb 1, 2014

Good Value Sydney Accommodation

Excellent location. Close to Metro station and all tourist points of interest. My only complain is the hotel hallway does not smell very nice. But the room itself is clean. It's a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
midwifeau
Business
Bellingen NSW 2454, Australia
Sep 25, 2011

good position

The facility is clean and comfortable...the only compliant I have is the cost of the needed upgrade. I booked into a 4 bed room but found a person already in the bed that was allocated to me..no help from the staff..I was told the hotel was full and I would have to pay another $80 a night for the only room left.. single room accommodation...very disappointed and a money I did not budget for I would think twice about staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late twenties traveler
Business
Boston MA
Jun 19, 2014

Standard for the price

No flares but a clean room. 15-20 min walk to the opera house. Good for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sydney2014
Business
Santus lugares
Jul 26, 2014

Great place to stay

Grest location! The room was a bit cool . The heater did not work .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hungry jacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hongliang
Business
China
May 14, 2014

best location near hyde park

first I have to say this hotel's location is very good, its near the hyde park, very close to the airport cityline station (though its very expensive compare other transport). You can walk to the every where you will be interested in the downtown. Then the room, very small and half have no washing room include, also the room is clean, but small and just ok for stay. Breakfast , basic but enough price, compare the other choice in sydney or nearby, its good ! totally, this hotel good for the people who want save money and short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

don't forget the location, really good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sydney2014
Business
Santus lugares
Aug 11, 2014

Great place

A niece celan hotel that offered friendly service at a very good price . The rooms were of adequate size and the beds were soft .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cgritz
Business
Atlanta GA USA
Feb 11, 2011

Week 2 Feb to 10 Feb 2011

Today with tight travel budgets the Y at Hyde Park is a very good value plus it is in a perfect location. Easy access to the CBD and trains, let's you travel easily to business appointments. I will stay there again in the furture. The hotel is very clean with all needs being met with cheap realiable broadband for $10 per day that costs $23 at the "5 star" hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food court at Meyers Department on Pitt & King street has good value and choice of foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rjoel
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

exciting vacation

very convenient, nice and clean. If I will ever come back to Sydney, I would like to stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top