$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

3 stars
View map of 5-11 WENTWORTH AVENUE, SYDNEY, Sydney, NS 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmigoBen
Couples
Delaware
Jun 13, 2012

Clean, low expense hotel

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the cost was low, room included breakfast (cereal and toast and coffee), pc's with internet access were available for a small hourly fee. Overall, a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiwi Wanderer
Friends
London
Jun 11, 2012

Definitely recommended

Great location and spotlessly clean with good facilities - very good value for a Sydney hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney underground station 'Museum' is almost opposite the hotel and the train runs direct to Sydney Airport at approx AUD15 one way. There are stairs though - for stair-free access board/alight at 'Town Hall' Station and take a short taxi ride.

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaNa
Friends
Switzerland
May 15, 2012

Fantastic Hotel

The Hotel was very clean. The Breakfast was awesome with Keloggs Special K`s :-D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Hermit
Single
Waikele, HI
May 14, 2012

Excellent location in the CBD

This was my second stay here so I must have liked it the first time around. The shared restroom was never an issue and the room was clean. The bed was not very comfortable but for the price, I'm not complaining. Located on the corner of Wentworth and Liverpool Streets, the location is perfect. Near the Museum train station so convenient access to/from the airport as well as everywhere else the subways can get you. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Well traveled lady
Family
Kansas City, MO, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Room was good but too expensive for the rest of the hotel issues.

The entry to the hotel was confusing. The staff behind the desk were dressed as if they work in a high class hotel however if you turn around the decor is old furniture and YMCA youth hostel looking. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged because of another tenant. We were then quickly checked in and went up to the room assigned only to find someone in it. There are no security locks on the doors so we walked right in on her. I waited while my dau. went down to work that out. Again I felt like I was in an inexpensive youth hostel with old dingy furniture. Apparently the section with the elevators is a cheaper section where the tenants share a bathroom in the hall as several walked thru while I waited. Eventually we made our way to a newer section where our room was very modern looking and impecably made up. No extras but all the necessities. The room was extremely small so that you could hardly get around the twin beds. Had to crawl over the bed or a suitcase to get to the window shades. I liked the patio doors that made up the outside wall and made the room bright. The patio doors were in bad need of cleaning. They also did not fit tight as one night there was a hard wind and the wind made a loud noise blowing through them. Also we were on an alley side but close to the street and the street noises were very very loud. Many sirens, street cleaning trucks, other vehicles made a lot of noise through the night. For some reason there were also people frequently being loud and one night waking me up with yelling and arguing. Keep in mind we were on the 7th floor. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs LJ
Family
Stafford, UK
Jan 30, 2012

Fantastic base for Sydney

Excellent helpful friendly staff, clean and comfortable room (we had a twin delux), good free breakfast, and a great location for site seeing around Sydney as train station and bus stops are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
midwifeau
Single
Bellingen NSW 2454, Australia
Sep 25, 2011

good position

The facility is clean and comfortable...the only compliant I have is the cost of the needed upgrade. I booked into a 4 bed room but found a person already in the bed that was allocated to me..no help from the staff..I was told the hotel was full and I would have to pay another $80 a night for the only room left.. single room accommodation...very disappointed and a money I did not budget for I would think twice about staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rjoel
Single
New York, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

exciting vacation

very convenient, nice and clean. If I will ever come back to Sydney, I would like to stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rjoel
Single
New York, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

exciting vacation

very convenient, nice and clean. If I will ever come back to Sydney, I would like to stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BTAG
Couples
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great Budget Hotel

My wife and I were there for 3 nights, the room was simple, bed, tv, fridge, tea station, closet, and towels. For a budget place, we feel like we got our monies worth. We stayed on the top floor (8th) and my only complaint was the water pressure in the shower was a bit on the low side. I tried taking a shower early (04:30) as well to see if it was simply a volume issue and had barely adequate pressure even then. Good deal, breakfast included, easy location (we walked to everything), and friendly and helpful staff. We'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All attractions in and around the Sydney harbor area are within a 2 mile walk. You can even get to the other side of the Harbor Bridge in ~2.5 mi. Lots of tours available by walking. Definitely visit Darling Harbor and the touring agencies there (also within walking distance).

Back to menu Return to top