$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

3 stars
5-11 WENTWORTH AVENUE, SYDNEY, Sydney, NS 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
224 reviews
Great location for great price in Sydney

Our family had a lovely time enjoying the very helpful staff, convenient room and reasonable rates... See full review

  • Mom and kids
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great location ,Price and service

My third stay over the past 10 years -a great location The rooms are clean and so is all of the... See full review

  • crazmus
  • Jun 19, 2014
A perfect home base to explore Sydney’s attractions

The Y Hyde Park Sydney hotel stands close to Hyde Park and Oxford Streets and gives guests both a beautiful setting and one that is convenient. Visitors take advantage of secure luggage storage and guest laundry as well as a 24-hour front desk with excellent service. Undercover parking and a free continental breakfast are also available to guests. The Y Hyde Park Sydney puts the very best of Sydney at your doorstep, including restaurants, bars, cafés, parks, gardens and more. Popular tourist draws such as the Chinese Garden of Friendship and the Australian Museum are both near the Y Hyde Park Sydney, as is St. Mary's Cathedral, which lays claim to being one of the largest churches in the world.

Reasons to stay
  • Good value and centrally located
  • Within walking distance of Chinatown, the Opera House and the Rocks
  • Transport networks nearby including a train line and bus routes
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel Sydney rooms
The Y Hyde Park Sydney hotel has a wide choice of rooms for guests. All of the rooms are modern and comfortable, ensuring visitors on all types of budgets enjoy their stay. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and designed, and standard amenities are featured in most rooms, such as a refrigerator, telephone, air conditioning, in-room safe, hairdryer, toiletries, clock radio, tea and coffee making facilities and wireless Internet access (fees apply). Studio rooms have a queen-sized bed and private bathrooms, and deluxe rooms have queen or single beds and private bathrooms. Standard rooms, traditional rooms and dormitory rooms are also available at a lower price point. Several rooms have shared bathrooms. Offsite car parking spaces are available if required (fees apply).
Things to do nearby
  • Sydney Exhibition Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sydney Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pyrmont Bay Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The Rocks (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Chinatown (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Hotel Map

-33.8772 151.2117
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Y Hotel Hyde Park is a great value bed and breakfast hotel ideally located in the CBD opposite Hyde Park and Oxford Street. The Hotel is surrounded by everything you could want including great shops, restaurants, Olympic Pool, Gym, Parks, Museum's and Galleries. You can also walk to Darling Harbour, Chinatown, City Shops, The Opera House and Rocks. The Hotel is also ideally located on bus routes, with Museum train station being only a short 5-minute walk away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney Rooms

Budget Rooms & Dorms
These rooms have shared facilities
Deluxe Rooms
These rooms have ensuite facilites
Economy Rooms
Economy Room with 4 single beds complete with linen and towels. Shared bathroom facilities located outside the room. Price includes light breakfast for two. Please note that this room does not have a television, fridge or tea & coffee making facilities

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Room
Television with cable

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Government House: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 15, 2010

The best budget hotel in Sydney,

The best budget hotel in Sydney, clean, friendly service, good breakfast and good price. I always stay here when I am in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geoff
Not Provided
May 21, 2010

Good location for inner city a

Good location for inner city activities. Close to train and bus routes. Breakfast and newspaper included which is a plus. Airconditioning controls could be better and was noisy from return air vent when trying to reduce temperature of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffry
Not Provided
May 20, 2010

This is the second time I have

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. As I drive down from Queensland to Sydney it is not always easy to identify my exact arrival times, but they have graciously allowed me to have a "flexible" check in time, which is top class. The only thing that is unfortunate is that they only serve breakfast. They have the catering & kitchen facilities available, so why not have a standard set of pre-defined meals which can be avialable for purchase? At the moment their package includes bed & a continental breakfast. They could increase their occupancy rate and their income by including an additional package of "Dinner, bed & breakfast" with pre-defined advertised meals. I for one would be interested in this type of package, which is used by a package motel motel here in Brisbane. Finally, there are no other hotels by this chain like this around Australia. Why not???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurence
Not Provided
Apr 29, 2010

The Only Criticism i have concerns

The Only Criticism i have concerns the showers, I know that water saving is a priority I have a water saver myself. but the shower in my room was ridiculous i could not rinse my hair , an absolute trickle ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nehalkumar
Not Provided
Apr 19, 2010

Nice location in the city centre

Nice location in the city centre and not far from tourist attractions. Guest kitchen, internet +call was a good help. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shawa
Not Provided
Apr 4, 2010

great if you are a foreign backpacker

great if you are a foreign backpacker on a budget with friends. Yucky for others. Staff didn't know about parking (promising their rate was better than if I just parked there - not true.) Also locked me out of the laundry room at 8pm saying it was too late to do laundry when the sign said open til 10 and were rude about letting me in to finish my load already in the wash machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wency
Not Provided
Mar 27, 2010

Good budget hotel quality, exactly

Good budget hotel quality, exactly as expected. Extremely convenient location with clean bathroom and beds. Bed covers in our room were a bit dated, but were clean. TV was a bit old, but who watches tv on holiday?(= Good pricing for location and quality. Got the free brekky with our room - simple range of cereals with toast and juices, so a quick and cheap alternative to finding breakfast at any cafe in the city area. Will probably stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Mar 22, 2010

Pleasant feel to the hotel, clean,

Pleasant feel to the hotel, clean, comfortable and efficient. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James
Not Provided
Mar 22, 2010

You get what you pay for in this

You get what you pay for in this instance. The hotel is not great, but you can't beat the price and the location. Also, it smells like mildew everywhere in the hotel. Also it comes with a decent breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P.L.
Not Provided
Mar 20, 2010

The Y Hotel was great to stay

The Y Hotel was great to stay at. Using the shared bathrooms was easy, as there was lots of room (there were 2 separate bathrooms just across the hall from us), and meant we were able to enjoy a lower rate (giving us more to spend on fun things to do in the city). Having continental breakfast included was great, too, as food costs in Sydney are generally pretty high. Service at the front desk was excellent, we were able to store our suitcases for several hours both before and after our stay, and the excellent location gave us good access to the CBD and tourist attractions right in the heart of the city, yet ours was a nice quiet room overlooking the serenity of the central courtyard. Small and pretty basic, it was still really good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search