$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

3 stars
View map of 5-11 WENTWORTH AVENUE, SYDNEY, Sydney, NS 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
34 reviews
Enjoyable Gateaway

Clean. Near - walking distance to Hyde Park, St. Mary of the Cross Cathedral , Queen Victoria and... See full review

  • Didin
  • Jun 5, 2014
Good Sydney Stay

I thought the Y Hotel was great value for the money. It is rather far from the harbour, but has bus... See full review

  • UStoNZ
  • Apr 27, 2015
A perfect home base to explore Sydney’s attractions

The Y Hyde Park Sydney hotel stands close to Hyde Park and Oxford Streets and gives guests both a beautiful setting and one that is convenient. Visitors take advantage of secure luggage storage and guest laundry as well as a 24-hour front desk with excellent service. Undercover parking and a free continental breakfast are also available to guests. The Y Hyde Park Sydney puts the very best of Sydney at your doorstep, including restaurants, bars, cafés, parks, gardens and more. Popular tourist draws such as the Chinese Garden of Friendship and the Australian Museum are both near the Y Hyde Park Sydney, as is St. Mary's Cathedral, which lays claim to being one of the largest churches in the world.

Reasons to stay
  • Good value and centrally located
  • Within walking distance of Chinatown, the Opera House and the Rocks
  • Transport networks nearby including a train line and bus routes
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel Sydney rooms
The Y Hyde Park Sydney hotel has a wide choice of rooms for guests. All of the rooms are modern and comfortable, ensuring visitors on all types of budgets enjoy their stay. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and designed, and standard amenities are featured in most rooms, such as a refrigerator, telephone, air conditioning, in-room safe, hairdryer, toiletries, clock radio, tea and coffee making facilities and wireless Internet access (fees apply). Studio rooms have a queen-sized bed and private bathrooms, and deluxe rooms have queen or single beds and private bathrooms. Standard rooms, traditional rooms and dormitory rooms are also available at a lower price point. Several rooms have shared bathrooms. Offsite car parking spaces are available if required (fees apply).
Things to do nearby
  • Sydney Exhibition Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sydney Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pyrmont Bay Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The Rocks (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Chinatown (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney Rooms

Single with Shared Bathroom
Compact 10 square metre room 1 x Single Bed, share bathroom facilities, LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air-conditioning. A security deposit & photo ID will be requested on arrival. Some rooms do not have a desk if required please specify at time of booking.
Twin with Shared Bathroom
12 square metre room with 2 x long single beds and share bathroom facilities. LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air conditioning. ID & Security Deposit will be requested on arrival.
Triple with Shared Bathroom
15 square metre room with 3 x long single beds and share bathroom facilities. LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air conditioning. ID & Security Deposit will be requested on arrival.
Single with Private bathroom
Compact 13 square metre room 1, x Single Bed, en-suite bathroom, LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air-conditioning. A security deposit & photo ID will be requested on arrival. Some rooms do not have a desk if required please specify at time of booking.
Twin with Private bathroom
16 square metre room, 2 x Long Single Beds, en-suite bathroom, LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air-conditioning. A security deposit & photo ID will be requested on arrival.
Double with Private bathroom
16 square metre room, 1 x Double Bed, en-suite bathroom, LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air-conditioning. A security deposit & photo ID will be requested on arrival.
Studio Room
24 square metre room, 1 x King Bed or 2 Single Beds (please request on booking), en-suite bathroom, sink, crockery & cutlery, LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air-conditioning. A security deposit & photo ID will be requested on arrival.
Triple Room
20 square metre room, 3 x Long Single Beds, en-suite bathroom, LCD television, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and air-conditioning. A security deposit & photo ID will be requested on arrival.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Room
Television with cable

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Government House: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.5 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Well traveled lady
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Room was good but too expensive for the rest of the hotel issues.

The entry to the hotel was confusing. The staff behind the desk were dressed as if they work in a high class hotel however if you turn around the decor is old furniture and YMCA youth hostel looking. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged because of another tenant. We were then quickly checked in and went up to the room assigned only to find someone in it. There are no security locks on the doors so we walked right in on her. I waited while my dau. went down to work that out. Again I felt like I was in an inexpensive youth hostel with old dingy furniture. Apparently the section with the elevators is a cheaper section where the tenants share a bathroom in the hall as several walked thru while I waited. Eventually we made our way to a newer section where our room was very modern looking and impecably made up. No extras but all the necessities. The room was extremely small so that you could hardly get around the twin beds. Had to crawl over the bed or a suitcase to get to the window shades. I liked the patio doors that made up the outside wall and made the room bright. The patio doors were in bad need of cleaning. They also did not fit tight as one night there was a hard wind and the wind made a loud noise blowing through them. Also we were on an alley side but close to the street and the street noises were very very loud. Many sirens, street cleaning trucks, other vehicles made a lot of noise through the night. For some reason there were also people frequently being loud and one night waking me up with yelling and arguing. Keep in mind we were on the 7th floor. The beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charles
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 3, 2015

Not quite what expected

At least it's (relatively) cheap for the area. I just stayed one night, a good thing, as I didn't realize this is an old Y that is named the Y Hotel (too bad I didn't make the connection!). I was given a barren room with four single beds, at least it was spacious and had a window. Shared bathroom was not the cleanest and it was noisy with other guests and young kids in the hallway. I'll gladly spend a few bucks more to avoid this place in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanDaTravelingMan
Business
Long Beach, California
Feb 1, 2014

Good Value Sydney Accommodation

Excellent location. Close to Metro station and all tourist points of interest. My only complain is the hotel hallway does not smell very nice. But the room itself is clean. It's a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray young
Business
New York
May 26, 2013

Decent hotel for the city explorers

The Hotel Is Very Affordable For It's Location. Everything Is Within A Twenty Minute Walk And They Have A great Complimentary breakfast For you To Start The Day. The Rooms However Are Small And You Have To Pay Extra For A Room With A Bathroom But It's More Than Adequate For People That Spend The Day out Of The Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

They Would Be Happy To Hold Your Luggage After You Check Out. This Would Be Great If Your Plane Leaves Late In The Day. You Could Have Another Day Of Activities And Take A Shower In their Shared Bathroom Before Heading To The Airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
midwifeau
Business
Bellingen NSW 2454, Australia
Sep 25, 2011

good position

The facility is clean and comfortable...the only compliant I have is the cost of the needed upgrade. I booked into a 4 bed room but found a person already in the bed that was allocated to me..no help from the staff..I was told the hotel was full and I would have to pay another $80 a night for the only room left.. single room accommodation...very disappointed and a money I did not budget for I would think twice about staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late twenties traveler
Business
Boston MA
Jun 19, 2014

Standard for the price

No flares but a clean room. 15-20 min walk to the opera house. Good for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sydney2014
Business
Santus lugares
Jul 26, 2014

Great place to stay

Grest location! The room was a bit cool . The heater did not work .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hungry jacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hongliang
Business
China
May 14, 2014

best location near hyde park

first I have to say this hotel's location is very good, its near the hyde park, very close to the airport cityline station (though its very expensive compare other transport). You can walk to the every where you will be interested in the downtown. Then the room, very small and half have no washing room include, also the room is clean, but small and just ok for stay. Breakfast , basic but enough price, compare the other choice in sydney or nearby, its good ! totally, this hotel good for the people who want save money and short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

don't forget the location, really good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sydney2014
Business
Santus lugares
Aug 11, 2014

Great place

A niece celan hotel that offered friendly service at a very good price . The rooms were of adequate size and the beds were soft .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacey
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

below average experience

over all our stay was ok, room was fine for what we needed although could have been cleaner. 3 days in a row dirty towels were not removed from room by the maid despite clean ones being provided. shared bathrooms were not clean despite aparently being cleaned regularly. build up of grime in the shower cubicles was evidence that they didn't get a thorough clean. soap dispenser by the sinks and body wash dispenser in the showers were empty during our 4 night stay. staff on reception were a mix some helpful some not. when I passed on my concerns about the shared bathrooms the staff member was dismissive and uninterested. on our arrival at the hotel we had asked if there was somewhere nearby that we would be able to watch the final of the Australian open that night, that response we got was that "tennis isn't popular in Australia, no one watches it here and that we wouldn't find it being shown in any pubs or bars". fortunately we didn't listen to this and found somewhere along the street to watch it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top