$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Y Hotel City South

3 stars
179 Cleveland Street, Redfern, Sydney, NS 2016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Budget

You pay for what you get in terms of room size, but the proximity to Central station is just perfect. See full review

  • Master Jedi
  • Jul 8, 2014
Good budget accommodation

Room was small, but that is expected given the low cost. Five minutes walk to Redfern station. WiFi... See full review

  • Ammar
  • Jun 23, 2014
Y Hotel City South Sydney offers friendly service and comfortable accommodation at Sydney's CBD. Powerhouse Museum, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre and Chinese Garden Of Friendship are some of the city's famous attractions that guests can visit.

Location
Situated on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets, Y Hotel City South is within a kilometer from ANZAC War Memorial and University of Sydney.This Sydney hotel features 63 comfortable guest rooms.

Hotel Map

-33.889 151.201
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith International Airport.
Area description
Y Hotel City South is a great value "3 Star" Hotel on the edge of the city, close to Prince Alfred Park, Sydney University, Central Station and Broadway, and is an ideal base to explore the inner city. Transport is easily accessible in the city center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel City South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Y Hotel City South Rooms

Family Room
Family Room offers a double bed and two single beds with basic amenities.
Single Room
Single Room offers a single bed with basic amenities.
Double Room
Double Room offers a double bed with basic amenities.
Twin Room
Twin Room offers two twin beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.4 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1.6 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 1.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Customs House: 1.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.1 mi
  • Government House: 2.2 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel City South

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 59
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Master Jedi
Perth
Jul 8, 2014

Budget

You pay for what you get in terms of room size, but the proximity to Central station is just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Paddy's market is just a short walk away. Also check out kura kura casual Japanese dining

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marina ExCrew
Bangkok, Thailand
Sep 1, 2013

Girl Escapade

I went visiting Sydney solo for the first time and opted for this hotel because it seemed to be clean, safe and in a good location. I wasn't disappointed about that. The room was smallish, just enough to fit the double bed, a bedside table, a closet and a fridge. For me alone, the space was okay. All the necessary amenities were present and more. I liked that there were an extra pillow, tea and coffee, an iron and a full mirror! The room was cleaned but I'm quite sure the sheets were not changed, which I don't mind anyway. Hot shower, air conditioning worked properly. The hotel also offers adapters for the stay. Various kind of clients stayed there, I saw backpackers, elderly couples, families... but no children! Hooray! It was positively quiet even though some noise could be heard from the hallway. The complimentary breakfast consisted of hot beverage, juices, milk, cereals and toasts. Quite basic but fills the belly nonetheless. About the safety, you'll need a key card to access the lobby. The whereabouts: nothing exceptional. I bought stuff and ate in the city center (15 mins by train) so I'm not sure if there are grocery shops or restaurants nearby. The closest train station (Redfern) is a few minutes by walk. Otherwise, if you don't mind some exercise (lots of ups and downs), some attractions are considerably close. In conclusion, I had a fantastic (4 nights) stay and if I have the chance to visit Sydney again, Y Hotel City South will be on the top of my list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gloria Walker
Redfern
Jul 15, 2013

Not great

Room was very tiny. Hotel was NOT maintained for my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Food was very good.

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JK2427
Harrington, Australia
Jul 6, 2013

Convenient location

Fine with helpful staff and good room although some outdated appliances/equipment and some damage in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Moore Park - Allianz/SCG/Hordern

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ravs
Adelaide, Australia
Mar 27, 2013

Business

Satisfactory Helpful staff. Nice simple breakfast. Enjoyed the stay. Close to trains and the city Bit dodgy at night, stay on the main roads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globalG
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 24, 2013

You Do Not Get What You Pay For

On my first 2 days I thought that the room was decent for the amount that I pay. Since it's my first time in Sydney I thought that given t's location, very close to Red Fern Station and Central Station, it was decent. But I booked other Hotels in Australia that were cheaper and location wise very convenient. Don't get me wrong, this place is also conveniently located. When you do decide to stay, there is free breakfast every morning. it's just cereal, bread, juice, milk, and coffee. But hey it's cheap. But if you decide that you need a little meat in you diet. Once you get out of the hotel, turn left and make a right at Abercrombie St. Keep going and you hit Broadway Ave. This is one of the best places close by that has all kinds of great food. It's close to University of Notre Dame (Australia, that's right Irish fans) and University of Technology. So all the food are very affordable and surprisingly good! The room was somewhat clean. Although I kept the room at Private and not allow anyone to clean it until the 3rd day because I needed new towels. They didn't even made an effort to make my bed. They didn't even fold my towels or give me a new one. The room was very small. Again I thought this was the normal hotel room in a 3 star hotel in Sydney but afterwards, it's just too small. And I've been to different hotels and motels, like New York which is expensive. Staff are friendly, I'll give them that. Overall, I think it' decent, but not worth the price. I recommend it for a solo traveler who wants to have his own room and spend little money. By the way I even save money because it's a special. Only stay because it's the cheapest you can get and need a conveniently located area. But it's definitely not for a party of two or more. Just pay extra $25 for a decent bigger space hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway Ave

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beks
Brisbane
Dec 11, 2011

Great Base for Sydney Exploring

Lovely clean cool room. Great location close to public transport. Friendly helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buddy77
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

2 days in sydney

close to main train station, and short 15 min walk to the cbd. the room was clean and breakfast was what you expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

start early to beat the heat.

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt R...
Honolulu, HI
Oct 11, 2011

Great Cheap place in good location

Positives: Great location near shopping, very central, in a great neighorhod, there is actually a Lamborghini dealership nearby. Negs: Shared bathroom and bunck bed that is not comfortable if you are a big guy. Overall: I just needed a cheap place to stay and it footed the bill. If you are into luxury accomidations, i would pass. Breakfast was cereal and toast. Free wifi. The shared bathroom wasn't that big of a deal as there are enough to where I didn't have a problem using them at all times. Somewhat loud with a good amount of people around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search