Y Hotel City South ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$83
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 14, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016
3.6 /5
Overall score
78%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Double Ensuite Min 3 Nights
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Family Room
  • Size: 161 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Double Ensuite Min 5 Nights
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Advance Purchase Double
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Single Room
  • Size: 96 sqft
  • Occupancy: 1
Show Prices Advance Purchase Twin
  • Size: 129 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Twin Room
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Double Room
  • Size: 118 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Y Hotel City South Sydney offers friendly service and comfortable accommodation at Sydney's CBD. Powerhouse Museum, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre and Chinese Garden Of Friendship are some of the city's famous attractions that guests can visit.

Location
Situated on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets, Y Hotel City South is within a kilometer from ANZAC War Memorial and University of Sydney.This Sydney hotel features 63 comfortable guest rooms.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.8 / 5
$57
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$83
Guest score 2.8 / 5
$83
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$61
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$78
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$102

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi

Services

  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Parking

Reviews

3.6 /5 Overall score

78% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.6/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.9/5
  • Comfort: 3.1/5
  • Location: 3.5/5
  • Value: 3.8/5

vacation

Would recommend Wed, Oct 7, 2015
I thought the room was a good value for the price I paid the only thing I noticed that could have been better was the shower could have been a little cleaner. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

| N/A Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

noisy trains!!

Would not recommend Thu, Sep 19, 2013
ear plugs didnt help! i would not stay there again!

| Lusk, Ireland Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Not great

Would not recommend Mon, Jul 15, 2013
Room was very tiny. Hotel was NOT maintained for my room.

Dining

Food was very good.

| Redfern Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Business

Would recommend Wed, Mar 27, 2013
Satisfactory Helpful staff. Nice simple breakfast. Enjoyed the stay. Close to trains and the city Bit dodgy at night, stay on the main roads.

| Adelaide, Australia Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

You Do Not Get What You Pay For

Would not recommend Sun, Mar 24, 2013
On my first 2 days I thought that the room was decent for the amount that I pay. Since it's my first time in Sydney I thought that given t's location, very close to Red Fern Station and Central Station, it was decent. But I booked other Hotels in Australia that were cheaper and location wise very convenient. Don't get me wrong, this place is also conveniently located. When you do decide to stay, there is free breakfast every morning. it's just cereal, bread, juice, milk, and coffee. But hey it's cheap. But if you decide that you need a little meat in you diet. Once you get out of the hotel, turn left and make a right at Abercrombie St. Keep going and you hit Broadway Ave. This is one of the best places close by that has all kinds of great food. It's close to University of Notre Dame (Australia, that's right Irish fans) and University of Technology. So all the food are very affordable and surprisingly good! The room was somewhat clean. Although I kept the room at Private and not allow anyone to clean it until the 3rd day because I needed new towels. They didn't even made an effort to make my bed. They didn't even fold my towels or give me a new one. The room was very small. Again I thought this was the normal hotel room in a 3 star hotel in Sydney but afterwards, it's just too small. And I've been to different hotels and motels, like New York which is expensive. Staff are friendly, I'll give them that. Overall, I think it' decent, but not worth the price. I recommend it for a solo traveler who wants to have his own room and spend little money. By the way I even save money because it's a special. Only stay because it's the cheapest you can get and need a conveniently located area. But it's definitely not for a party of two or more. Just pay extra $25 for a decent bigger space hotel.

Dining

Broadway Ave

| Los Angeles, CA Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

City Centre Stopover

Would not recommend Sat, Mar 3, 2012
We arrived after a long day of travelling and so first impressions weren't good. We had a double room but this very small and the walls were marked . One thing that was hard to deal with was the hotel backing onto a main railway line and so there was little peace from trains passing from very early till late. The continental breakfast is very basic and staff needed reminding to refill the drinks machine , supply fresh bread. It was a roof over our head, a good location and you get what you pay for but nothing extra .

Dining

You will need to pick up a meal nearer the City centre as there is very little nearby unless you go to the cafe next to the garage the cabbies use!!

| England , UK Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

2nd Time Stay - Could be better..

Would recommend Tue, Feb 28, 2012
Everything fine, slept like a log, price was fantastic, location good for keen walkers like me, brekkie was basic but ok... Customer Service needs working on as the staff seem not to have personalities..no interaction with guests..not friendly enough. The Breakfast gets packed up 5 minutes before the time it should..Desperate to clear it way..NOT GOOD!..

Money saver

Only pick this hotel if you like a good 20 minute walk into the main area and don't worry, the area is safe, just because it looks run down, IT IS OK!!!..:)..Don't knock its position!!

| Bournemouth, UK Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

This Hotel Worked for Us!

Would recommend Mon, Dec 19, 2011
I was concerned about our stay here based on the wide range of reviews it had received on various sites. However, it worked for us - especially with the expensive alternatives for accommodation in Sydney. We had booked a double en suite for 4 nights, so perhaps that helped with the room quality (as opposed to shared baths). Sure, it was very small, but it was clean and on the third floor we enjoyed the elevator in the building. We didn't feel claustrophobic each evening as we watched TV after a full day in Sydney. As for noise, true, the hotel is right on the train tracks. I can imagine how loud it must be for those staying in rooms on the tracks-side of the hotel. Our room was on the non-tracks side, and we heard the trains, but that only sounded like passing thunder in a thunder storm, so it wasn't bad at all for us. If we didn't get the non-tracks side, then I don't know if I would have appreciated the hotel as much. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our requests (baggage storage, info, etc). The breakfast each morning was completely suitable - all you can eat, too. They had cereal (5 varieties), toast (2 varieties of bread, peanut butter and 5 types of jam), apple or orange juice, tea or coffee. Fill up on this and you can cruise until lunch with no snacking. The location is convenient - we read another reviewer's assessment and chose Redfern station, as it was closer than Central station. However, if coming in from the Airport (trains do not go to Redfern), then Central was still fine. Also, near to Redfern is a more blue-collar commercial street with less expensive restaurants, a Post Office, a Woolworths, etc. If you can get a room on the non-tracks side, then this hotel is a terrific deal for what you get (room, service, etc) and the location.

Attractions

Take the "I'm Free" tour of Sydney, each day at 10:30 and 2:30 outside of Town Hall. It's free (they rely solely on tips) and soooo worth the 3 hrs!! If you do this as the first thing when you get to Sydney, you'll be well-oriented for your remaining touring of Sydney City.

| Washington DC Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Handy to double decker tour bus!

Would recommend Thu, Dec 15, 2011
Small room, tight, noisy-next to train tracks. Served our needs-low price, good free breakfast, some (not all) good employees. One forgot to write down the early morning taxi reservation. But, when my wife and I returned from the Gold Coast (wow!) to stay the night to catch our early morning flight back home, we stayed at the Y Hotel.

Attractions

We spent one week on the double deck tourist bus. Get on-get off. Ride the circuit, decide what you want to see or do, get off and do it, get back on. Sydney is an outstanding, wonderful visit. Outstanding places and friendly people. Great trip!

| Palmdale CA., USA Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Short Stay Value

Would recommend Wed, Dec 7, 2011
Clean, secure, friendly small hotel. Very small but well-equipped and well-lighted rooms. Run-down area of town without any nearby restaurants or stores. Train station into town and to airport one long block away. Rest of transport and some restaurants about three blocks away. Included continental-type breakfast well presented with plenty of toast, coffee, juice, and cereal selection. We stayed three days - longer would have been tedious because of location.

Money saver

Free Sydney CBD Shuttle Bus about four blocks away. Gives good access to rest of city.

| Seattle, WA, USA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

University of Technology 0.4 mi
Belmore Park 0.7 mi
Powerhouse Museum 0.7 mi
Capitol Theatre 0.7 mi
Sydney Entertainment Centre 0.7 mi
University of Sydney 0.8 mi
Chinese Garden of Friendship 0.9 mi
Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre 0.9 mi
IMAX Theater 1 mi
ANZAC War Memorial 1.1 mi
Town Hall 1.1 mi
Australian Museum 1.2 mi
Great Synagogue 1.2 mi
Queen Victoria Building 1.2 mi
Pyrmont Bridge 1.3 mi
Pitt Street Mall 1.3 mi
Sydney Cricket Ground 1.4 mi
Sydney Tower 1.4 mi
Sydney Fish Market 1.4 mi
Sydney Aquarium 1.4 mi
Australian National Maritime Museum 1.4 mi
Sydney Football Stadium 1.4 mi
El Alamein Fountain 1.4 mi
St Mary's Cathedral 1.4 mi
Wentworth Park 1.4 mi
Star City Casino 1.5 mi
Hyde Park Barracks 1.5 mi
General Post Office 1.5 mi
Sydney Mint 1.5 mi
Sydney Wildlife World 1.6 mi
Sydney Hospital 1.6 mi
Fox Studios Australia 1.6 mi
Parliament House 1.6 mi
Art Gallery of New South Wales 1.7 mi
State Library of New South Wales 1.7 mi
Museum of Sydney 1.9 mi
Customs House 1.9 mi
Elizabeth Bay House 2 mi
Royal Botanic Gardens 2 mi
Sydney Observatory 2 mi
Museum of Contemporary Art 2.1 mi
Government House 2.2 mi
Randwick Racecourse 2.2 mi
Sydney Opera House 2.3 mi
Harbour Bridge 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$83
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016