$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Y Hotel City South

3 stars
179 Cleveland Street, Redfern, Sydney, NS 2016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
17 reviews
2nd Time Stay - Could be better..

Everything fine, slept like a log, price was fantastic, location good for keen walkers like me,... See full review

  • Mikey36
  • Feb 28, 2012
This Hotel Worked for Us!

I was concerned about our stay here based on the wide range of reviews it had received on various... See full review

  • preisner
  • Dec 19, 2011
Y Hotel City South Sydney offers friendly service and comfortable accommodation at Sydney's CBD. Powerhouse Museum, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre and Chinese Garden Of Friendship are some of the city's famous attractions that guests can visit.

Location
Situated on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets, Y Hotel City South is within a kilometer from ANZAC War Memorial and University of Sydney.This Sydney hotel features 63 comfortable guest rooms.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel City South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Y Hotel City South Rooms

Family Room
Family Room offers a double bed and two single beds with basic amenities.
Single Room
Single Room offers a single bed with basic amenities.
Double Room
Double Room offers a double bed with basic amenities.
Twin Room
Twin Room offers two twin beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.4 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1.6 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 1.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Customs House: 1.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.1 mi
  • Government House: 2.2 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel City South

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 17
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SMN1
Business
Sarasota, FL, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Don't do it

This hotel was probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. it was smaller than a college dorm room. my husband and I couldn't even pass eachother in the hall way at the same time. The train passes right under the hotel, therefore keeping you up most of the night. The bed was small and uncomfortable.... Not worth the $100 I spent. It is in a bad part of town so we didn't even try to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scabby
Business
Dallas Texas
Dec 7, 2011

Needs some work

Everything in Syndey is expensve so compartivey the price was okay. The room was small, old, and needed to be cleaned. The staff was friendly and it was nice to receive a free continental breakfast, apparently this is rare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Slim Jim
Business
Palmdale CA., USA
Dec 15, 2011

Handy to double decker tour bus!

Small room, tight, noisy-next to train tracks. Served our needs-low price, good free breakfast, some (not all) good employees. One forgot to write down the early morning taxi reservation. But, when my wife and I returned from the Gold Coast (wow!) to stay the night to catch our early morning flight back home, we stayed at the Y Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We spent one week on the double deck tourist bus. Get on-get off. Ride the circuit, decide what you want to see or do, get off and do it, get back on. Sydney is an outstanding, wonderful visit. Outstanding places and friendly people. Great trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hatter
Business
England , UK
Mar 3, 2012

City Centre Stopover

We arrived after a long day of travelling and so first impressions weren't good. We had a double room but this very small and the walls were marked . One thing that was hard to deal with was the hotel backing onto a main railway line and so there was little peace from trains passing from very early till late. The continental breakfast is very basic and staff needed reminding to refill the drinks machine , supply fresh bread. It was a roof over our head, a good location and you get what you pay for but nothing extra .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

You will need to pick up a meal nearer the City centre as there is very little nearby unless you go to the cafe next to the garage the cabbies use!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Joe
Business
Gilbert, AZ, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Hotel in Sydney

It is too far from the city center and major transportation center. The hotel room is very small. A double bed just fits into this narrow space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seattle Jim
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Short Stay Value

Clean, secure, friendly small hotel. Very small but well-equipped and well-lighted rooms. Run-down area of town without any nearby restaurants or stores. Train station into town and to airport one long block away. Rest of transport and some restaurants about three blocks away. Included continental-type breakfast well presented with plenty of toast, coffee, juice, and cereal selection. We stayed three days - longer would have been tedious because of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Sydney CBD Shuttle Bus about four blocks away. Gives good access to rest of city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
preisner
Business
Washington DC
Dec 19, 2011

This Hotel Worked for Us!

I was concerned about our stay here based on the wide range of reviews it had received on various sites. However, it worked for us - especially with the expensive alternatives for accommodation in Sydney. We had booked a double en suite for 4 nights, so perhaps that helped with the room quality (as opposed to shared baths). Sure, it was very small, but it was clean and on the third floor we enjoyed the elevator in the building. We didn't feel claustrophobic each evening as we watched TV after a full day in Sydney. As for noise, true, the hotel is right on the train tracks. I can imagine how loud it must be for those staying in rooms on the tracks-side of the hotel. Our room was on the non-tracks side, and we heard the trains, but that only sounded like passing thunder in a thunder storm, so it wasn't bad at all for us. If we didn't get the non-tracks side, then I don't know if I would have appreciated the hotel as much. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our requests (baggage storage, info, etc). The breakfast each morning was completely suitable - all you can eat, too. They had cereal (5 varieties), toast (2 varieties of bread, peanut butter and 5 types of jam), apple or orange juice, tea or coffee. Fill up on this and you can cruise until lunch with no snacking. The location is convenient - we read another reviewer's assessment and chose Redfern station, as it was closer than Central station. However, if coming in from the Airport (trains do not go to Redfern), then Central was still fine. Also, near to Redfern is a more blue-collar commercial street with less expensive restaurants, a Post Office, a Woolworths, etc. If you can get a room on the non-tracks side, then this hotel is a terrific deal for what you get (room, service, etc) and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the "I'm Free" tour of Sydney, each day at 10:30 and 2:30 outside of Town Hall. It's free (they rely solely on tips) and soooo worth the 3 hrs!! If you do this as the first thing when you get to Sydney, you'll be well-oriented for your remaining touring of Sydney City.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centralia, WA, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Good location for the price

The gentleman on the desk during the day was most courteous and helpful. He helped us to arrange to be picked up for a tour to the Blue Mountains the next morning. He told us how to get tickets for the Sydney City Tour, and the Harbor Lunch Cruise. He stopped by our table every morning as we had the complimentary breakfast to see how we were doing, and asked what he could do to help us. He even called a cab for us the night before we checked out, and had it there to pick us up before he came on duty that morning. He made our stay most enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teacup2
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

teacup2

Staff was superb, very helpful and courteous. Location easy, accesible to tourist attraction, trains, buses, ferry, all were easy to use. My first time using trains, buses, ferry. I felt like a local. Very economical for the budget, however if it's two persons you may need moore space. Enjoyed the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Always take comfortable shoes. You do lots of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top