Y Hotel City South

3 stars
179 Cleveland Street, Redfern, Sydney, NS 2016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
20 reviews
2nd Time Stay - Could be better..

Everything fine, slept like a log, price was fantastic, location good for keen walkers like me,... See full review

  • Mikey36
  • Feb 28, 2012
This Hotel Worked for Us!

I was concerned about our stay here based on the wide range of reviews it had received on various... See full review

  • preisner
  • Dec 19, 2011
Y Hotel City South Sydney offers friendly service and comfortable accommodation at Sydney's CBD. Powerhouse Museum, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre and Chinese Garden Of Friendship are some of the city's famous attractions that guests can visit.

Location
Situated on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets, Y Hotel City South is within a kilometer from ANZAC War Memorial and University of Sydney.This Sydney hotel features 63 comfortable guest rooms.

Y Hotel City South Rooms

Family Room
Family Room offers a double bed and two single beds with basic amenities.
Single Room
Single Room offers a single bed with basic amenities.
Double Room
Double Room offers a double bed with basic amenities.
Twin Room
Twin Room offers two twin beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

-33.889 151.201
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith International Airport.
Area description
Y Hotel City South is a great value "3 Star" Hotel on the edge of the city, close to Prince Alfred Park, Sydney University, Central Station and Broadway, and is an ideal base to explore the inner city. Transport is easily accessible in the city center.

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.4 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1.6 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 1.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Customs House: 1.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.1 mi
  • Government House: 2.2 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel City South

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SMN1
Sarasota, FL, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Don't do it

This hotel was probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. it was smaller than a college dorm room. my husband and I couldn't even pass eachother in the hall way at the same time. The train passes right under the hotel, therefore keeping you up most of the night. The bed was small and uncomfortable.... Not worth the $100 I spent. It is in a bad part of town so we didn't even try to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gloria Walker
Redfern
Jul 15, 2013

Not great

Room was very tiny. Hotel was NOT maintained for my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Food was very good.

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Slim Jim
Palmdale CA., USA
Dec 15, 2011

Handy to double decker tour bus!

Small room, tight, noisy-next to train tracks. Served our needs-low price, good free breakfast, some (not all) good employees. One forgot to write down the early morning taxi reservation. But, when my wife and I returned from the Gold Coast (wow!) to stay the night to catch our early morning flight back home, we stayed at the Y Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We spent one week on the double deck tourist bus. Get on-get off. Ride the circuit, decide what you want to see or do, get off and do it, get back on. Sydney is an outstanding, wonderful visit. Outstanding places and friendly people. Great trip!

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aillag
Lusk, Ireland
Sep 19, 2013

noisy trains!!

ear plugs didnt help! i would not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hatter
England , UK
Mar 3, 2012

City Centre Stopover

We arrived after a long day of travelling and so first impressions weren't good. We had a double room but this very small and the walls were marked . One thing that was hard to deal with was the hotel backing onto a main railway line and so there was little peace from trains passing from very early till late. The continental breakfast is very basic and staff needed reminding to refill the drinks machine , supply fresh bread. It was a roof over our head, a good location and you get what you pay for but nothing extra .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

You will need to pick up a meal nearer the City centre as there is very little nearby unless you go to the cafe next to the garage the cabbies use!!

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scabby
Dallas Texas
Dec 7, 2011

Needs some work

Everything in Syndey is expensve so compartivey the price was okay. The room was small, old, and needed to be cleaned. The staff was friendly and it was nice to receive a free continental breakfast, apparently this is rare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Joe
Gilbert, AZ, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Hotel in Sydney

It is too far from the city center and major transportation center. The hotel room is very small. A double bed just fits into this narrow space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globalG
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 24, 2013

You Do Not Get What You Pay For

On my first 2 days I thought that the room was decent for the amount that I pay. Since it's my first time in Sydney I thought that given t's location, very close to Red Fern Station and Central Station, it was decent. But I booked other Hotels in Australia that were cheaper and location wise very convenient. Don't get me wrong, this place is also conveniently located. When you do decide to stay, there is free breakfast every morning. it's just cereal, bread, juice, milk, and coffee. But hey it's cheap. But if you decide that you need a little meat in you diet. Once you get out of the hotel, turn left and make a right at Abercrombie St. Keep going and you hit Broadway Ave. This is one of the best places close by that has all kinds of great food. It's close to University of Notre Dame (Australia, that's right Irish fans) and University of Technology. So all the food are very affordable and surprisingly good! The room was somewhat clean. Although I kept the room at Private and not allow anyone to clean it until the 3rd day because I needed new towels. They didn't even made an effort to make my bed. They didn't even fold my towels or give me a new one. The room was very small. Again I thought this was the normal hotel room in a 3 star hotel in Sydney but afterwards, it's just too small. And I've been to different hotels and motels, like New York which is expensive. Staff are friendly, I'll give them that. Overall, I think it' decent, but not worth the price. I recommend it for a solo traveler who wants to have his own room and spend little money. By the way I even save money because it's a special. Only stay because it's the cheapest you can get and need a conveniently located area. But it's definitely not for a party of two or more. Just pay extra $25 for a decent bigger space hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway Ave

Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ravs
Adelaide, Australia
Mar 27, 2013

Business

Satisfactory Helpful staff. Nice simple breakfast. Enjoyed the stay. Close to trains and the city Bit dodgy at night, stay on the main roads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, Canada
May 21, 2011

Affordable

We visited Sydney for 3 nights. The hotel is walking distance from all the attractions. For the price, it is a good stay if your plan is to be out the whole day and the hotel is only a place to get some shut eyes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You will not need to buy a multipass if you plan to stay for 3-4 nights.

Back to menu Return to top