$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Y Hotel City South

3 stars
179 Cleveland Street, Redfern, Sydney, NS 2016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
17 reviews
2nd Time Stay - Could be better..

Everything fine, slept like a log, price was fantastic, location good for keen walkers like me,... See full review

  • Mikey36
  • Feb 28, 2012
This Hotel Worked for Us!

I was concerned about our stay here based on the wide range of reviews it had received on various... See full review

  • preisner
  • Dec 19, 2011
Y Hotel City South Sydney offers friendly service and comfortable accommodation at Sydney's CBD. Powerhouse Museum, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre and Chinese Garden Of Friendship are some of the city's famous attractions that guests can visit.

Location
Situated on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets, Y Hotel City South is within a kilometer from ANZAC War Memorial and University of Sydney.This Sydney hotel features 63 comfortable guest rooms.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel City South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Y Hotel City South Rooms

Family Room
Family Room offers a double bed and two single beds with basic amenities.
Single Room
Single Room offers a single bed with basic amenities.
Double Room
Double Room offers a double bed with basic amenities.
Twin Room
Twin Room offers two twin beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.4 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1.6 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 1.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Customs House: 1.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.1 mi
  • Government House: 2.2 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel City South

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 17
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gloria Walker
Business
Redfern
Jul 15, 2013

Not great

Room was very tiny. Hotel was NOT maintained for my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Food was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ravs
Business
Adelaide, Australia
Mar 27, 2013

Business

Satisfactory Helpful staff. Nice simple breakfast. Enjoyed the stay. Close to trains and the city Bit dodgy at night, stay on the main roads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globalG
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 24, 2013

You Do Not Get What You Pay For

On my first 2 days I thought that the room was decent for the amount that I pay. Since it's my first time in Sydney I thought that given t's location, very close to Red Fern Station and Central Station, it was decent. But I booked other Hotels in Australia that were cheaper and location wise very convenient. Don't get me wrong, this place is also conveniently located. When you do decide to stay, there is free breakfast every morning. it's just cereal, bread, juice, milk, and coffee. But hey it's cheap. But if you decide that you need a little meat in you diet. Once you get out of the hotel, turn left and make a right at Abercrombie St. Keep going and you hit Broadway Ave. This is one of the best places close by that has all kinds of great food. It's close to University of Notre Dame (Australia, that's right Irish fans) and University of Technology. So all the food are very affordable and surprisingly good! The room was somewhat clean. Although I kept the room at Private and not allow anyone to clean it until the 3rd day because I needed new towels. They didn't even made an effort to make my bed. They didn't even fold my towels or give me a new one. The room was very small. Again I thought this was the normal hotel room in a 3 star hotel in Sydney but afterwards, it's just too small. And I've been to different hotels and motels, like New York which is expensive. Staff are friendly, I'll give them that. Overall, I think it' decent, but not worth the price. I recommend it for a solo traveler who wants to have his own room and spend little money. By the way I even save money because it's a special. Only stay because it's the cheapest you can get and need a conveniently located area. But it's definitely not for a party of two or more. Just pay extra $25 for a decent bigger space hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway Ave

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buddy77
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

2 days in sydney

close to main train station, and short 15 min walk to the cbd. the room was clean and breakfast was what you expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

start early to beat the heat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt R...
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 11, 2011

Great Cheap place in good location

Positives: Great location near shopping, very central, in a great neighorhod, there is actually a Lamborghini dealership nearby. Negs: Shared bathroom and bunck bed that is not comfortable if you are a big guy. Overall: I just needed a cheap place to stay and it footed the bill. If you are into luxury accomidations, i would pass. Breakfast was cereal and toast. Free wifi. The shared bathroom wasn't that big of a deal as there are enough to where I didn't have a problem using them at all times. Somewhat loud with a good amount of people around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top