$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Y Hotel City South

3 stars
179 Cleveland Street, Redfern, Sydney, NS 2016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
17 reviews
2nd Time Stay - Could be better..

Everything fine, slept like a log, price was fantastic, location good for keen walkers like me,... See full review

  • Mikey36
  • Feb 28, 2012
This Hotel Worked for Us!

I was concerned about our stay here based on the wide range of reviews it had received on various... See full review

  • preisner
  • Dec 19, 2011
Y Hotel City South Sydney offers friendly service and comfortable accommodation at Sydney's CBD. Powerhouse Museum, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre and Chinese Garden Of Friendship are some of the city's famous attractions that guests can visit.

Location
Situated on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets, Y Hotel City South is within a kilometer from ANZAC War Memorial and University of Sydney.This Sydney hotel features 63 comfortable guest rooms.

Hotel Map

-33.889 151.201
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith International Airport.
Area description
Y Hotel City South is a great value "3 Star" Hotel on the edge of the city, close to Prince Alfred Park, Sydney University, Central Station and Broadway, and is an ideal base to explore the inner city. Transport is easily accessible in the city center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Y Hotel City South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Y Hotel City South Rooms

Family Room
Family Room offers a double bed and two single beds with basic amenities.
Single Room
Single Room offers a single bed with basic amenities.
Double Room
Double Room offers a double bed with basic amenities.
Twin Room
Twin Room offers two twin beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 1.2 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 1.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.4 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1.6 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 1.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Customs House: 1.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.1 mi
  • Government House: 2.2 mi
  • Randwick Racecourse: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 2.3 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Y Hotel City South

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buddy77
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

2 days in sydney

close to main train station, and short 15 min walk to the cbd. the room was clean and breakfast was what you expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

start early to beat the heat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teacup2
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

teacup2

Staff was superb, very helpful and courteous. Location easy, accesible to tourist attraction, trains, buses, ferry, all were easy to use. My first time using trains, buses, ferry. I felt like a local. Very economical for the budget, however if it's two persons you may need moore space. Enjoyed the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Always take comfortable shoes. You do lots of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Centralia, WA, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Good location for the price

The gentleman on the desk during the day was most courteous and helpful. He helped us to arrange to be picked up for a tour to the Blue Mountains the next morning. He told us how to get tickets for the Sydney City Tour, and the Harbor Lunch Cruise. He stopped by our table every morning as we had the complimentary breakfast to see how we were doing, and asked what he could do to help us. He even called a cab for us the night before we checked out, and had it there to pick us up before he came on duty that morning. He made our stay most enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey36
Bournemouth, UK
Feb 28, 2012

2nd Time Stay - Could be better..

Everything fine, slept like a log, price was fantastic, location good for keen walkers like me, brekkie was basic but ok... Customer Service needs working on as the staff seem not to have personalities..no interaction with guests..not friendly enough. The Breakfast gets packed up 5 minutes before the time it should..Desperate to clear it way..NOT GOOD!..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Only pick this hotel if you like a good 20 minute walk into the main area and don't worry, the area is safe, just because it looks run down, IT IS OK!!!..:)..Don't knock its position!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
preisner
Washington DC
Dec 19, 2011

This Hotel Worked for Us!

I was concerned about our stay here based on the wide range of reviews it had received on various sites. However, it worked for us - especially with the expensive alternatives for accommodation in Sydney. We had booked a double en suite for 4 nights, so perhaps that helped with the room quality (as opposed to shared baths). Sure, it was very small, but it was clean and on the third floor we enjoyed the elevator in the building. We didn't feel claustrophobic each evening as we watched TV after a full day in Sydney. As for noise, true, the hotel is right on the train tracks. I can imagine how loud it must be for those staying in rooms on the tracks-side of the hotel. Our room was on the non-tracks side, and we heard the trains, but that only sounded like passing thunder in a thunder storm, so it wasn't bad at all for us. If we didn't get the non-tracks side, then I don't know if I would have appreciated the hotel as much. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our requests (baggage storage, info, etc). The breakfast each morning was completely suitable - all you can eat, too. They had cereal (5 varieties), toast (2 varieties of bread, peanut butter and 5 types of jam), apple or orange juice, tea or coffee. Fill up on this and you can cruise until lunch with no snacking. The location is convenient - we read another reviewer's assessment and chose Redfern station, as it was closer than Central station. However, if coming in from the Airport (trains do not go to Redfern), then Central was still fine. Also, near to Redfern is a more blue-collar commercial street with less expensive restaurants, a Post Office, a Woolworths, etc. If you can get a room on the non-tracks side, then this hotel is a terrific deal for what you get (room, service, etc) and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the "I'm Free" tour of Sydney, each day at 10:30 and 2:30 outside of Town Hall. It's free (they rely solely on tips) and soooo worth the 3 hrs!! If you do this as the first thing when you get to Sydney, you'll be well-oriented for your remaining touring of Sydney City.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Joe
Gilbert, AZ, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Hotel in Sydney

It is too far from the city center and major transportation center. The hotel room is very small. A double bed just fits into this narrow space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globalG
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 24, 2013

You Do Not Get What You Pay For

On my first 2 days I thought that the room was decent for the amount that I pay. Since it's my first time in Sydney I thought that given t's location, very close to Red Fern Station and Central Station, it was decent. But I booked other Hotels in Australia that were cheaper and location wise very convenient. Don't get me wrong, this place is also conveniently located. When you do decide to stay, there is free breakfast every morning. it's just cereal, bread, juice, milk, and coffee. But hey it's cheap. But if you decide that you need a little meat in you diet. Once you get out of the hotel, turn left and make a right at Abercrombie St. Keep going and you hit Broadway Ave. This is one of the best places close by that has all kinds of great food. It's close to University of Notre Dame (Australia, that's right Irish fans) and University of Technology. So all the food are very affordable and surprisingly good! The room was somewhat clean. Although I kept the room at Private and not allow anyone to clean it until the 3rd day because I needed new towels. They didn't even made an effort to make my bed. They didn't even fold my towels or give me a new one. The room was very small. Again I thought this was the normal hotel room in a 3 star hotel in Sydney but afterwards, it's just too small. And I've been to different hotels and motels, like New York which is expensive. Staff are friendly, I'll give them that. Overall, I think it' decent, but not worth the price. I recommend it for a solo traveler who wants to have his own room and spend little money. By the way I even save money because it's a special. Only stay because it's the cheapest you can get and need a conveniently located area. But it's definitely not for a party of two or more. Just pay extra $25 for a decent bigger space hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway Ave

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ravs
Adelaide, Australia
Mar 27, 2013

Business

Satisfactory Helpful staff. Nice simple breakfast. Enjoyed the stay. Close to trains and the city Bit dodgy at night, stay on the main roads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, Canada
May 21, 2011

Affordable

We visited Sydney for 3 nights. The hotel is walking distance from all the attractions. For the price, it is a good stay if your plan is to be out the whole day and the hotel is only a place to get some shut eyes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You will not need to buy a multipass if you plan to stay for 3-4 nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Y Hotel City South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt R...
Honolulu, HI
Oct 11, 2011

Great Cheap place in good location

Positives: Great location near shopping, very central, in a great neighorhod, there is actually a Lamborghini dealership nearby. Negs: Shared bathroom and bunck bed that is not comfortable if you are a big guy. Overall: I just needed a cheap place to stay and it footed the bill. If you are into luxury accomidations, i would pass. Breakfast was cereal and toast. Free wifi. The shared bathroom wasn't that big of a deal as there are enough to where I didn't have a problem using them at all times. Somewhat loud with a good amount of people around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search